Musselburgh Athletic 2017/18

Benny The Fish

15 minutes ago, PatP said:

Did all 400 walk at once? 

Ha ha, yip on masse. Can remember if that is Tranent’s average crowd, as so much rubbish has been spouted from our neighbours up by, in recent weeks. Bet the players felt good at the end of the match when the only Tranent supporters left at Olivebank were committee members!

• Replies 573
29 minutes ago, Belter1 said:

U got an own goal and a mistake with 5mins to go. Tranent were the better team in my opinion. Your keeper made a couple of good saves 1 on 1. Other than that use are no that great.

What a belter of a result that was! You are getting funnier with each post you put on here.

But I agree that we are no that great!

Played 16 league matches, of which - 13 wins, 2 draws and 1 defeat. These statistics are awful!

Played 16 league matches; top of the league, and are 10 points clear of 2nd placed Haddington, who have a game in hand. At this stage of the season, that is so poor!

Played 16 league matches and have got the best goal difference of all 16 teams in the league. How bad is that!

I am going to have to stop there, as I am too upset, and hate that Musselburgh are no that great!

8 hours ago, Belter1 said:

How do u know the 3 new players will be paid? Just hope it doesn’t get to the players cause weather there paid £5-£100 a week they will all be talking about the fact the club might be struggling. That’s what players do. Getting beat by Kirriemuir might be the start of it. The wages some guys will be on will cover there payments on a car or that so to say some are no doing it for money could be wrong. The money certainly helps some guys. Others just play for the fun of the game of course.

Getting by Kirriemuir might be the start of what? You do talk or write some keek Belter.

We hammered Kirriemuir in the way we played a fortnight ago, but just couldn’t get a goal. I think Kirriemuir had two shots on target, one which went in, and one which hit the post. A bad day at the office, but what a better way to redeem ourselves by playing Tranent in our next league match, knowing that if we played half as well as we did at Kirriemuir, then we had the beating of ‘use’. 

To be fair to Kirriemuir, they gave us a harder match than today.

Getting by Kirriemuir might be the start of what? You do talk or write some keek Belter.
We hammered Kirriemuir in the way we played a fortnight ago, but just couldn’t get a goal. I think Kirriemuir had two shots on target, one which went in, and one which hit the post. A bad day at the office, but what a better way to redeem ourselves by playing Tranent in our next league match, knowing that if we played half as well as we did at Kirriemuir, then we had the beating of ‘use’. 
To be fair to Kirriemuir, they gave us a harder match than today.

[emoji23][emoji23] Sinbad the Slavour

1 hour ago, Belter1 said:

U got an own goal and a mistake with 5mins to go. Tranent were the better team in my opinion. Your keeper made a couple of good saves 1 on 1. Other than that use are no that great.

Musselburgh are no that great. Teams that beat Musselburgh in the league this season.

1.  Kirriemuir 

2.  ? There will probably be another but at the moment, team unknown.

Teams that beat Tranent in the league this season.

1.  Dalkeith

2.  Tayport

3. Thornton

4.  Fauldhouse

5.  Glenrothes

6. Musselburgh

7.  Haddington

8.  Dalkeith

9.  Dunbar

10.  Musselburgh

So, genuine question Belter. If we are no that great, how do you rate Tranent?

Gary Cherrie was the supporters club player of the match. Can’t argue with that as Gary had another good game.

Another player from the Musselburgh team  who deserves a mention is Tranent’s own Chris Gray. The boy wanted to win that game more than the Tranent team put together. Maybe when he hangs up his boots for Musselburgh, after picking up his third different league title, and having another chance at showing the Super league what a good player he is, I am sure in his twilight playing years, if he wants, he could walk into the Tranent team.

2 minutes ago, brycey said:

the league is the burras awreddy by the time the hoose pitch is actually playable yous will be outa sight tbh 

Reveal hidden contents

nae doot tranents 300 support wid swell the gate money today lol

Match 16 of the Premier League season, saw the return fixture between Musselburgh and Tranent.

On 21 October, Musselburgh travelled to Foresters Park and came away with a 1-0 victory, with Stephen MacDonald scoring the winner.

From our last match a fortnight ago, there’s were two changes with the young Ryan McGurk replacing Asher Tufail in goal and new signing Ryan Gay starting in place of Matti Lynch.

The first 25 minutes was shared between both sides, each of which had attempts to score, but nothing much happened between the posts.

First big chance fell to Tranent. On 28 minutes. from half way inside the Musselburgh half, Tranent had a free kick, which travelled across the pitch and fell to Hawkins. He had a clear view of the goals, but his shot missed the left hand post.

A couple of minutes later, Ben Miller took a corner which was cleared our of the 6 yard area by Stephen MacDonald.  Ryan Gay got the first yellow card of the match, for holding onto a Tranent player. From the free kick, a good ball was played into the amusselburgh penalty area, but no takers. Musselburgh then took the ball up the right hand side, with Conor Thomson having a shot which was blocked for a corner. When the kick was taken, it was cleared ff the line by a Tranent defender.

On 40 minute mark, Tranent had a free kick, which was met by Tranent’s new signing, Ryan McCallum. Ryan tried to chip the ball from the 18 yard line, but all this did was to float the ball into McGurk’s hands.

Nothing further to add, and a scrappy first half ended 0-0.

On 49 minutes, Musselburgh had a corner, taken by Thomson. The goalkeeper let the ball go over him, and one of the Tranent defenders had to clear the ball away. A minute later and MacDonald took a long throw in from the far away touchline. It was met by Mathu King, who had a shot which went across the Tranent goal area. Thomson was there and his shot was blocked by the keeper Horne.

On  52 minutes, Musselburgh were awarded a free kick in the Tranent half. Gay took a sweeping free kick from the right hand side of pitch over to the left hand side of the Tranent goal line, and the unfortunate left back, Todd, put the ball in the net for an own goal. 1-0 to Musselburgh. A few minutes later, McGurk made a great saving block to keep Musselburgh ahead.

In 67 minutes, Tranent had the ball in the Burgh goal area, when the ball fell to Chris Gray. Quick moving play saw the ball up the other end and put out for a Musselburgh corner. Thomson took the kick, and eventually the ball came to MacDonald who had his back to goals. Stephen turned, but took a weak shot going straight to the keeper.

In 69 minutes, Bradley Whyte made way for Ewen Ralton, a substitution that was to become pivotal as to how the match ended. In 71minutes, there was great drama in the Tranent goal area, with Horne appearing to make four saves in quick succession from Thomson, MacDonald and King, saving Tranent from going further behind.

On 78 minutes, Ryan Gay made way for another new Musselburgh player, Kai Wilson.  This was quickly followed by Kane Paterson being substituted by Tranent with John Ferguson coming on.

Wilson’s first touch of ball came in 82 minute when he had a shot blocked by Horne. Could have been a great start to Kai’s Musselburgh career! Then in 85 minutes, a cross from Ben Miller was met by a header from Jamie Devlin, but the ball veared passed the post.

In 87 minutes, the Musselburgh captain, King was replaced by Matti Lynch.

Then, as the match approached 90 minutes, Tranent were awarded  corner. When it came over, it was headed out, with Lloyd Fiddler first to the ball. Ralton was quickly there and managed to disposess the ball from the Tranent player. From his own half, Ralts ran towards the goal and from 18 yard box, coolly slotted the ball inside the right hand side of the post for a deserved 2nd goal for Musselburgh.

A few minutes of injury time ensued by match ended 2-0 to Musselburgh, and so a double win this season over our near East Lothian neighbours.

For me, best players for Musselburgh were Cherrie ( supporters club man of match), Gray, and the young sub goalie McGurk, who blocked a few shots from Tranent. Special mention for Ewen Ralton, who is generally a sub, but always plays his part when he comes on. Fast running player, and scored a peach of a goal today. 

For Tranent, I though Ben Miller and Guy Kerr were their two best players.

Gary Cherrie was the supporters club player of the match. Can’t argue with that as Gary had another good game.
Another player from the Musselburgh team  who deserves a mention is Tranent’s own Chris Gray. The boy wanted to win that game more than the Tranent team put together. Maybe when he hangs up his boots for Musselburgh, after picking up his third different league title, and having another chance at showing the Super league what a good player he is, I am sure in his twilight playing years, if he wants, he could walk into the Tranent team.

His erse is that hungry it’s snapping at the grass.

3 hours ago, 8MileBU said:

Can’t believe you bunch of Mussy pies aren’t taking the pish out of Tranent for signing Ian Black without ensuring he can even play for them!emoji1.png

Benny did comment on Ian Black a couple of pages back. 

I think Tranent took more pish out of themselves when their top man said they were in the top 5 Junior sides in the East. They are a sad reflection of that, and are on their way back down to the South League come season 2018-19.

Think that is two defeats in a row for the new management dream team. That is 7 defeats out of their last 8 League games, and 10 deafeats out of 17 league games over all this season.

Tranent will play six derby matches against East Lothian opposition this season. Already there have been 4 defeats with two matches left.

No, I think Tranent are doing enough damage on their own, this season, without raising the issue too much of Ian Black into this debacle!

the signs r defo nae guid fir tranent the noo efter winnin twae cups last seeson n a woodve put them fir a mid table finish at the very least this seeson its jist no happenin fir them the noo lets hope awebuddy poos the gither n preserves there premier league status cos droppin back doon intae the south wid b a disaster