Good Scottish bands

Miguel Sanchez

9 hours ago, Sixtyten said:

Sumshapes from Glasgow are my favourite Scottish band around at the moment. They had an album launch at The Old Hairdressers last Friday and it was the fucking business. The three of them have the kind of musical chemistry my own band can only dream of.

https://sumshapes.bandcamp.com/releases

My mate is the drummer! 

On 20/06/2017 at 16:23, Boghead ranter said:

I'm lucky enough to have a ticket to see them in their triumphant return to the Glen Pavilion a week on Friday.

I was just too young to be able to go and see them in their prime, but I'm more than a little excited about seeing them next week.

Pretty sure I saw The Skids first in that place in Edinburgh that was on a few levels at the top of Victoria Street, late 1977 probably. Also pretty sure I saw them in October 1978 supporting The Stranglers at The Kinema in Dunfermline. 

On 29/06/2017 at 13:27, Savage Henry said:

Jackie Leven was the greatest songwriter Scotland has ever produced, and it isn't even close. The only trouble with his records is that some of the production has dated terribly. Lyrically he's up there with the best of them. 

I'd have to get a shout in for Eric Bogle there...

nobody's mentioned Mike Scott yet. Junior Campbell. The Marmalade. Hughie Nicholson & Blue. 

Edited by The Mantis

I'd have to get a shout in for Eric Bogle there...
nobody's mentioned Mike Scott yet. Junior Campbell. The Marmalade. Hughie Nicholson & Blue. 

You remember Blue..I thought I was the only person who did that. One good album of pop rock then disappeared

9 minutes ago, bob the tank said:

You remember Blue..I thought I was the only person who did that. One good album of pop rock then disappeared

I'm an auld c**t. Was driving around Ayrshire in my company Ford Escort, generally feeling quite chuffed with my young self, listening to that stuff on the radio in 77.

On 03/07/2017 at 00:34, Johnny Däpp said:

See folk have mentioned the Proclaimers?? f**k off, can't stand them at all. My Tartan Army days has made me hate them that much that if 500 miles comes on, I'd walk 500 more to get away from it!

Runrig are class, preferably the Donnie Munro days. Edge of the World, Skye and Greatest Flame (my first dance) are all class songs. 

I'm guessing you're too young to remember The Proclaimers touring their first two or three albums when they really were something new. By the same token, the stadium version of Runrig can gtf. They were better when they were PE teachers and the like.

Mind you, I once saw Donnie Munro's wife in a swimsuit at Newbattle Pool. Raven haired goddess.

1 hour ago, The Mantis said:

Pretty sure I saw The Skids first in that place in Edinburgh that was on a few levels at the top of Victoria Street, late 1977 probably. Also pretty sure I saw them in October 1978 supporting The Stranglers at The Kinema in Dunfermline. 

They certainly supported The Stranglers on a few occasions around that time.

The recent gig was a triumph, I've got my ticket for the Feb18 gig at the same venue already.

16 minutes ago, Boghead ranter said:

They certainly supported The Stranglers on a few occasions around that time.

The recent gig was a triumph, I've got my ticket for the Feb18 gig at the same venue already.

I recently got sent a couple of photos somebody took at the gig. Just the Stranglers though, they look like young boys :lol:

I'm guessing you're too young to remember The Proclaimers touring their first two or three albums when they really were something new. By the same token, the stadium version of Runrig can gtf. They were better when they were PE teachers and the like.
Mind you, I once saw Donnie Munro's wife in a swimsuit at Newbattle Pool. Raven haired goddess.

I bumped into Pete wishart in TK maxx in Glasgow the other day and got a good chat about runrig with him, a chance you don't get all too often

Guest Pampered Adolescent

In almost chronological order:

The Sensational Alex Harvey Band

The Skids

The Rezillos

Fingerprintz

Another Pretty Face

Orange Juice

The Delgados

Urusei Yatsura

Arab Strap

Bis

Mogwai

Early Simple Minds, and early Idlewild are also decent. 

In general, anyone signed to Postcard or Chemikal Underground is worth a quick swatch on YouTube.

Cheers

PA

2 hours ago, Sauzee#4 said:

Stuart Adamson era Big Country would be hard to beat when we're talking Scottish bands. Gutted I never got to see them live.

They were indeed, I saw them a few times.

This is my ticket from the first time I saw them, at the much-loved Apollo.  Gutted that I couldn't get a ticket for the stalls.

Capture3.JPG

I was also at this gig one Hogmanay at the Barrowlands.  We were all so tightly packed that when the crowd was bouncing, you could feel the air getting sucked in underneath through small gaps on the way up, then getting blown back up on the way down.  Seems strange now when you think that there was a wee bit of room round the sides of the hall, but it happened all the same.

I've also seen them a lot over the last few years, they were very good when The Alarm's Mike Peters fronted them for a while.  The guy that's replaced him sounds most like Adamson vocals-wise that they've ever had.  Though, more and more, with only 2 originals left, I feel like I'm watching a tribute act, rather than the real thing.

Edited by Boghead ranter

There used to be a fantastic unsigned band called John Wean, they were on the scene about five years ago.

They hailed from Uddingston. I never had the opportunity to see them, something that I regret.

I remember an unsigned band called Full Picture used to do a lot of gigs in the Falkirk/Stirling area and a few beyond. Don't think they ever released any singles or albums as such but they were really good. Not sure if they're still around.