Premier League 2017-2018

• Replies 6.4k

The games keep coming thick and fast today it's the Merseyside Derby and a chance for Liverpool to move 3rd.

Liverpool unbeaten since 2010 and at home since 1999. I missed the Nicky Barmby one in 2000 but been to them all at Anfield since. 

You would tend to think the run would have to end at some point but would be a big  surprise if it came today. 

1 hour ago, Bairnardo said:

Just putting it out there.... Hibs v Celtic is a much more attractive proposition to me than anything the EPL has to offer today. This season I am finding the EPL more and more of a turn off.

Fair enough mate shows how we see things differently.  Watching the static is a more attractive proposition to me than the Hibs v Celtic game. Scottish football is bad enough watching my own team :lol:

Completely agree d_f_l. To be honest, I’m not buying the claims in the post you’re responding to one bit, and it seems more a ‘fishing for likes’ type of post IMO. Other than both Hibs and Celtic fans, I can’t fathom how anyone else would rather watch what’s most likely to be a routine Celtic win, in a scrappy one-sided match, in a league that’s been a foregone conclusion since August. Don’t get me wrong, I know the EPL serves up some overhyped dross at times, but there’s at least the potential for some good matches and some genuinely class players worth watching today.

Just putting it out there.... Hibs v Celtic is a much more attractive proposition to me than anything the EPL has to offer today. This season I am finding the EPL more and more of a turn off.

So obviously at the wind up[emoji3] Do try again.

Fishing for likes to say I would rather watch Scottish footballs offering today? Seriously?
I watch plenty of EPL football, I will do my best to catch some of the English games too. It's probably the primary driver for me paying for Sky sports, but the conversation I had with an English lad at work yesterday went along the lines of how much of a turn off I am finding the EPL this season as they really seem to have ramped up the commercialism and the money side of the game. It is simply not doing it for me these days, and I have placed a tenner on Hibs as I think today might be the day the semivincibles get derailed. That's the reason why I find it a more intriguing offering than seeing if City can break down a highly predictable Mourinho shitfest, or Liverpool scrubbing an utterly dross Everton side.
But aye, fishing for likes.

Fair enough and good for you then. A Hibs win certainly isn’t going to result in the ‘semivincibles’ getting ‘derailed’ though. Should it happen (doubtful) most folk will just see it as a minor delay on their way to winning the league at a canter.

No, and you'll notice in the original post and in my explanation following 8Miles rather tired and clichéd assertion that I was fishing for greenies, that I haven't at any point slagged the league off as some like to do. I also said that I do and likely will continue to watch a fair bit of EPL, all I was saying was that I feel there has been a change in the product that I don't particularly like and it's happily pushing me back towards the game in this country, which is more deserving of my support anyway.
Of course, when the fanboys try this hard to defend the league against any criticism at all, it doesn't do it any favours.

I hope you win that bet[emoji106]

Me too. Probably because it's a league my clubs involved in though and it feels more "real", I struggle to care about EPL games unless I've a bet on, so generally just lose interest after twenty minutes or so. Only non-Scottish games I enjoy watching are Valencia games and most Serie A games, proper end to end stuff all the time.

I'm watching Hibs v Celtic now and I'll probably watch some of the English fitba later. I don't support any of the teams playing today.

Mind you, being an ageing VL with nae pals or burd, I have a lot of time on my hands.