St Roch's F.C. 2017-2018

ScottMcCorry

Tbh kinky Imo I believe your assessment is completely wrong I was there as the referee walked off just behind our gaffer and he was booed nothing else nothing more and in fact a couple of the Rossvale walking off behind him came over and shook the hands of some candy fans .

I think giving credence to this nonsense does nothing more than play to the gallery and continues the myth that the candy fans are unruly and out of control which could not be any further from the truth

It's my belief that when you referee a game with the sole intention of being the centre of attention then it's a bit rich then complaining about you getting booed at full time since that completes your day of being the centre of attention rather than the 26 players who burst a gut for 90mins.

• Replies 942

I was there in the shed (behind the wall where we all should have been but weren’t) and saw it Chris and why would I lie? I have no desire to bad mouth the Candy fans... if you report what they did and that condemns them then the issue is the behaviour not the reporting of it. It doesn’t give credence to anything by reporting a fact and the measures we put in place after the Kilwinning debacle are not enough as they didn’t work yesterday.. fact. There were people within easy touching distance of the ref and that shouldn’t be the case.

I didn’t see the whole game and so can’t comment on your point about him trying to be centre of attention and then complaining about things. I didn’t think it was him complaining about it, I thought it was a Rossvale guy?? Anyway, if every fan was behind the new whitewashed walls as they should have been, leaving that whole area empty, then this doesn’t happen and we are sorted. That wasn’t the case yesterday and it could have escalated as the guy rightly said. As it happens it was just right in your face abuse and didn’t look good, balanced, justifiable or fair in my eyes. I am not sure if you were there how you can disagree?? Do you think it was ok or that “he deserved it”? Abuse and verbals is to be accepted but this wasn’t simply that in my eyes. Anyway, usual talking about pish referees and hard luck stories is fine.. that can’t escalate or the game’s done.

MTC![emoji172][emoji460]️[emoji106]

19 hours ago, JALD said:

Dry your eyes ,best team won on the day. Candy lucky to have 11 players on the park. Keeper should have been sent off at end of match for violent conduct threatening old Rossvale pensioners and support. Wanting a square go and having to be restraint by candy management. Disgraceful scenes as referee was abused and threatened by gang of thugs at the changing rooms if this was in the street they would be lifted. SJFA need to stamp out this behaviour ITS JUST NOT ONemoji107.pngemoji849.png

Kinky - on this occassion you are wrong 

Gang of "thugs"  is a complete misrepresentation and you do nt get lifted on the street for booing. That was all the guys did 

JALD has had a pop at us before - you can back him if you want but I was there when ref came off the park and tjere is no way he felt threatened 

Big Starkie had a go at a Rossvale fan who had attempted to enter the field of play and then gave him abuse with insults that I would not even repeat

Remember this is the team whos manager volleyed one of our players the last time they visited JMP so sorry Kinky I wont accept an untruth from someone who should be looking at his own fans and staff instead of  having a go at ours 

I suspected I might get some stick but it is fine. I am saying what I saw and what I thought. You are entitled to think what you want. What they did has no effect on what I said and what this JALD said or did previously is his opinion and doesn’t cloud mine. What I said was what I saw in relation to his claim. I said “a gang of thugs” was a bit harsh but could see why he said it. No one apart from the ref can say if he was intimidated. I never said I knew and neither can you say he wasn’t. What was a fact is that despite the walls at the side being built and the procedure being that this area is cleared to allow players and officials to walk off, this didn’t happen yesterday and it looked ugly. That’s it. Debate the rights or wrongs of that. The joy of football is that it stokes the fires of opinion, we are allowed to argue and disagree.

How a referee performed or what someone else said or how other team’s officials behaved in a dug out have got nothing to do with anything IMO. It might enflame but it doesn’t justify. You can’t just deflect things that we do wrong (ie not following the procedure we ourselves put in place) by saying “aye well but what about what you lot did?” That doesn’t wash with me and trying to offer a justification for our own bad actions is a dereliction of responsibility in my opinion.

“Your honour, ah know ahm guilty but gonnae let me aff cos he did it anaw?”... “That’s nae excuse laddie...take him down...” [Ref:Burke & Hare trial, Christmas Day, 1828]

What is it you think we are guilty of ma lord?

Also I know the referee was not intimidated because I asked him. I only commented on what JALD said because his comments about us is where this all came from 

To be honest I could not give a toss what he thinks  - the procedures that we have in place - that you cite as our failure yesterda - in my opinion are over the top but we deal with it - hence the Steward at every home game in that area. I am still to witness any other club that has these measures, 

You too are entitled to your opinion but mine is that the accusations and your fefence of them are wrong but that is only my opinion 

As I said, I have no problem with alternative opinions or alternative reporting of the facts. I am not sure that reporting what you see is an accusation??? I am a candy fan but that doesn’t mean to say black is white or fact is fiction. The JALD guy made an observation (I don’t think he caused it) and I said I could see why he said that. I didn’t start this or volunteer it.. someone else saw it and if it didn’t happen then it would be easily dismissed. It is just a statement and my take on events. We have a procedure that wasn’t followed, end of, it’s not an argument. Remove StRoch’s from this for a second ......I just think that a referee walking off a pitch at any game with any fans in touching distance at any level be it Premier league or juniors is an invitation to trouble and leaves the home club at risk. We don’t need or want risk. If the players get in his face (as a couple did) then the ref can deal with that via his report and they will be dealt with quite rightly. If we have a procedure in place for our enclosure and the tunnel at full time (you may think it it OTT but I don’t) then we should follow it. I’m not sure what part of that you can disagree with? Of course someone could jump the wall or do something stupid but then we can hold our hands up and say we were doing all we could. As for the events yesterday I can accept that my threshold of acceptability may be higher than some and less than others. That’s fine. We can disagree on what is acceptable or not. I just find it strange that anyone who saw that didn’t feel the tension at the time. Why did Stevie go to escort the ref off?? Just as well he did in my opinion.

St Roch’s as a club took a telling off last year, took a fine and put our hands up as a genuine good intention inspired mistake caused an incident. The club are trying to do the right thing. We put in place measures to avoid this and procedures to stop this happening again. If it was a problem then, it is a problem now. We can’t abandon it just because it is too tricky to implement or we decide that it doesn’t matter. If we can’t manage that then we need to draft and implement another procedure. That was my point. We either do it right or we do it wrong. It is easier and better for all concerned if we do it right. No one wants to see anything happen that could slight our fans right lily or wrongly, or negatively impacts our club and the good work and progress we are making, me as much as anyone else. I think the procedure we have is good and can work and protects the fans and the club as well as the players and officials. It just didn’t happen yesterday. Just my opinions.

Anyway, we should be talking about some good performances (well the last 20 mins I saw) and the encouraging to the eye work rate and skill on show. Definitely a bit better looking to me than at some points earlier in the season. Can we end in a high? More likely a sigh...[emoji850]

MTC![emoji172][emoji460]️[emoji106]

The facts are plain and simple

There fan tried to enter the field of play and there fan tried to square up to our keeper after giving him a torrent of abuse at full time and the fact is the candy support did not react to either potentially volatile situation.

What seems to be getting discussed is hypertheaticals

The ref could have been attacked

The candy fans could have gotten out of control but the fact remains neither happened nor was there ever any chance of it happening .in fact you could say hypertheatically that the referee could have been attacked at any junior game yesterday where the fans booed his performance but of course that would be ridiculous.

I agree to a certain extent that Steven was left isolated and that needs reviewed but I also agree that why is this measure only in place at our club and if the referee's safety is paramount then should this measure not be mantaory at every ground?

There is rights and wrongs through out this whole discussion but what I believe has upset us is the comments from this jald character who also claimed that after the previous meeting we broke down a turnstile/fence and entered the ground without paying which was confirmed on here as a lie by a member of the Rossvale committee.

Are the candy faithful angels of course not but there not the big bad wolf either and since last season I would say our behaviour has been impeccable and I refuse to let folk come on here and slander them or tarish the good behaviour they have shown in the last year with lies .

No bother 

My question remains ....what did we do wrong?

If all we did was to create tension and the "flawed" procedures saw a Steward escort the ref from the pitch ( what the procedure says he should) then guilty as charged 

I know my thresholds of accountability and they are not lower than yours or anyone elses

I am sick of people coming on here and having a pop at our fans - people were angry with the ref yesterday ....... as you would say .. end off

We played well  last half hour yrsterday but were honking in the first half - my thresholds of accountability means that i am responsible for improving our performance - if that does not happen soon i will be accountable 

We all agree then on pretty much everything[emoji460]️[emoji106]
Nothing wrong with creating a hostile home atmosphere and I read once about a few Christians cursing their luck they got an away draw against the lions. They were always going to be up against it...

Guilty as charged is probably fair but a little harsh too. We have people who want to chuck muck at us so we put in place things to avoid that. When we don’t follow them we leave ourself open. It really was as simple as that.

Enough already. I suspect that we will have this sorted for the next game.

MTC! [emoji172][emoji460]️[emoji106]

22 minutes ago, Kinky Afro said:

We all agree then on pretty much everythingemoji460.pngemoji106.png
Nothing wrong with creating a hostile home atmosphere and I read once about a few Christians cursing their luck they got an away draw against the lions. They were always going to be up against it...

Guilty as charged is probably fair but a little harsh too. We have people who want to chuck muck at us so we put in place things to avoid that. When we don’t follow them we leave ourself open. It really was as simple as that.

Enough already. I suspect that we will have this sorted for the next game.

MTC! emoji172.pngemoji460.pngemoji106.png

"No one likes us we don't care"

The past two years I have supported the ethos behind the Candy on numerous occasions both on here and in the boozers. However, sometimes you get it wrong maybe yesterday was one of them. 

54 minutes ago, griffiti on the wall said:

Anyway to go off track
A question for glenconner and any of the slightly more vintage candy fans hahaha only joking
I was asked yesterday by poster and regular at the candy JP
How did the name glasgow perthshire come about ?
I have no idea tbh

I've read that they came out of a charity in the 19th century that provided funds for people from  Perthshire to attend further education in  Glasgow. I don't know if it was the charity itself who founded them or a group of guys who had benefited from them. 

Anyone else throw any light on it.??

The “threatening gang of thugs” quote regarding the full time whistle walk back to the dressing room by the referee may be harsh but I can see why the guy said it. It wasn’t great and despite big Stevie, the high vis jacketed steward, leading the way and basically escorting the ref into the changing room it was ugly to say the least and as that lad described at worst. He has a point in my view and I was there watching some right bad and uncalled for behaviour. We have had incidents before and the lad is right in flagging this up as a problem as believe me, all it needed was one guy to go a bit further and the club would have been in serious serious trouble.
Whether the ref had a bad game or not is immaterial to the facts. No one is going to criticise any junior fan for giving the ref dog’s abuse. I’ve heard some great put downs come from the mouths of red cheeked and smoking eared fans who if they were under a rocket could launch it into space. To those of us who get a little less animated it can be funny at times and although probably “not right” I suspect most refs know it is coming. The unique set up of the St Roch’s changing area lends itself to this potential threat and the club made changes after an incident last season which have helped and I know there are further changes planned to remove this threat altogether. The changes we made would have made the “right in your face” confrontation impossible... I’m not convinced it worked yesterday. There are simple improvements that could be made (maybe not improvements, more like enforcement) and I’m going to suggest them to the club. The guy has a point and just because the ref had a poor game by all accounts doesn’t mean that his walk off the park shouldn’t be as safe as possible. Fans will be fans and fans and players who overstep the mark are just simply fans and players who overstep the mark. The fact they are St Rochs fans and players doesn’t lessen the fact or make it untrue. It wasn’t great so let’s stop kidding ourselves. Standards lads, standards.

Maybe I was to harsh with thugs but you see what I see and its frightening. No one wants to see the candy suffer due to over excitement , drink and disappointment. There has been big steps forward in the last 3 years around the ground, clubhouse and league position. Its just sad one or two take it to the extreme to win at all costs. I do think slating the referee will do more harm to the candy on the Park were all human and don’t like being abused. Good luck the rest of the season [emoji517][emoji106]

9 hours ago, Viewparker said:

I've read that they came out of a charity in the 19th century that provided funds for people from  Perthshire to attend further education in  Glasgow. I don't know if it was the charity itself who founded them or a group of guys who had benefited from them. 

Anyone else throw any light on it.??

Can only go by what i've seen online. Glasgow Perthshire came out the above society in 1890, though Glasgow Perthshire Shinty and Curling teams seemed to have been around further back in time. Interesting the charity side of things founded in 1835 is still on the go. Wonder if the charity even knows the team exists. Sure the team wouldn't mind a few pennies from the Glasgow Perthshire Charitable Society.

Best not mention "our B" scoring  two goals for Shire on Saturday. Charity begins at home me thinks.

10 hours ago, griffiti on the wall said:

Anyway to go off track
A question for glenconner and any of the slightly more vintage candy fans hahaha only joking
I was asked yesterday by poster and regular at the candy JP
How did the name glasgow perthshire come about ?
I have no idea tbh

History is a funny old subject and Junior football is even more bizarre. For instance Rossvale ain't the first Junior club to come out of Bishopbriggs or should i say, Auchinairn. My old man played a few games back in 1939 for a Junior team called Springfield Athletic who's ground seemed to be the other end of the present day sports centre!!!

Records for the 1925 Scottish Junior Cup show not only the Candy but two other local Junior teams taking part, Provan Gas Works and Blochairn Iron Works. Now i was under the impression the present day Jimmy McGrory Park/Provanmill Park was owned way back by the railways. The Candy moving up to Provanmill  from Millburn Park in 1935, thing is, had football already been played up there before we arrived?

1 hour ago, Glenconner said:

History is a funny old subject and Junior football is even more bizarre. For instance Rossvale ain't the first Junior club to come out of Bishopbriggs or should i say, Auchinairn. My old man played a few games back in 1939 for a Junior team called Springfield Athletic who's ground seemed to be the other end of the present day sports centre!!!

Records for the 1925 Scottish Junior Cup show not only the Candy but two other local Junior teams taking part, Provan Gas Works and Blochairn Iron Works. Now i was under the impression the present day Jimmy McGrory Park/Provanmill Park was owned way back by the railways. The Candy moving up to Provanmill  from Millburn Park in 1935, thing is, had football already been played up there before we arrived?

I was brought up on Royston Road and was under the impression that Millburn Park was on the site of the old black ash (next to the cage) in Glenconnar Park am I right ?  Hope so as I told everyone who would listen that I matched McGrory's total of goals in 10/21ers. 

2 hours ago, Glenconner said:

Can only go by what i've seen online. Glasgow Perthshire came out the above society in 1890, though Glasgow Perthshire Shinty and Curling teams seemed to have been around further back in time. Interesting the charity side of things founded in 1835 is still on the go. Wonder if the charity even knows the team exists. Sure the team wouldn't mind a few pennies from the Glasgow Perthshire Charitable Society.

Best not mention "our B" scoring  two goals for Shire on Saturday. Charity begins at home me thinks.

There appear to have been a lot of them back when - basically mutual support networks for recent arrivals in the city from the areas involved that mutated into charitable foundations.

The only other sporting survival I'm aware of is a shinty team called Glasgow Mid Argyll, but from what I gather the site of the Shire's first park still survives never having being built on...that weird wee undeveloped bit between Kelbourne St and Clouston St just off Queen Margaret Drive that's now called North Kelvin Meadow.

2 hours ago, Hillonearth said:

There appear to have been a lot of them back when - basically mutual support networks for recent arrivals in the city from the areas involved that mutated into charitable foundations.

The only other sporting survival I'm aware of is a shinty team called Glasgow Mid Argyll, but from what I gather the site of the Shire's first park still survives never having being built on...that weird wee undeveloped bit between Kelbourne St and Clouston St just off Queen Margaret Drive that's now called North Kelvin Meadow.

When did the Shire move into Keppoch Park?

3 hours ago, Viewparker said:

I was brought up on Royston Road and was under the impression that Millburn Park was on the site of the old black ash (next to the cage) in Glenconnar Park am I right ?  Hope so as I told everyone who would listen that I matched McGrory's total of goals in 10/21ers. 

Millburn Park was at the back of chapel. The Candy move out to Provanmill in 1935 when the city used the Blochairn land for housing. Glenconner Park (the coup, the cage) is another story altogether. It was gifted to the city by the owners of Tennants Chemical Works after they milked the place dry, i'm being polite here. Don't ever look up the chemical works online. These guys make present day Amazon etc look like amateurs on the how to make a zillion quid stakes and pay nothing back.