Junior football, what is the future?

Burnie_man

2 hours ago, Isabel Goudie said:

My moustachioed icon doon Tannadice way, you appear to be gaining momentum in your frenzy. Your post clearly illustrates two things, that you are speculating in the extreme and are yearning, like a 1970s male adolescent at an ABBA concert, for it to be true. The game is far from done, and even if clubs do jump in hoping to get a head start, have we not been there already? Did that not result in the disparity ridden set up that now claims to be a pyramid?

Och my wee mediocre pal, if only you'd wake up and smell the heather. 

There's no Money, Money, Money in the Juniors anymore, so when the East of Scotland League comes calling asking clubs to Take a Chance on Me, they dinnae have much hesitation. It's the Name of the Game these days, and if you don't follow suit it will eventually be your Waterloo.

1 hour ago, Goalie Hamish said:

Och my wee mediocre pal, if only you'd wake up and smell the heather. 

There's no Money, Money, Money in the Juniors anymore, so when the East of Scotland League comes calling asking clubs to Take a Chance on Me, they dinnae have much hesitation. It's the Name of the Game these days, and if you don't follow suit it will eventually be your Waterloo.

If the divide between the juniors and joining the seniors pyramid doesnt get sorted itll be knowing me, knowing you a-ha Souper trouper, sorry i mean't Goalie Hamish:-)

Ive always beeen in favour of a pyramid system for football below the SPFL and being involved with a highland league club that wants to go as far as is possible, will always support the concept. However i have always felt that the SFA have not thought through the structure of the pyramid below league 2 with all the interested parties - EOSFL, SOSFL HL and the juniors. Scottish football should have followed the structure of scottish rugby and created a west, east and North/midlands league on equal parity with the north champions playing off with the midlands champions to then move forward to a semi finals with the west league winners, east league winners and SPFL bottom club for a place in the top draw the next season. 4 non leagues on equal parity with each top division licenced or near licenced. Eligibility to scottish cup at level 5 eligibility to junior cup at level 6 and below regardless of current senior junior or amateur status.

20 minutes ago, dwl123 said:

Ive always beeen in favour of a pyramid system for football below the SPFL and being involved with a highland league club that wants to go as far as is possible, will always support the concept. However i have always felt that the SFA have not thought through the structure of the pyramid below league 2 with all the interested parties - EOSFL, SOSFL HL and the juniors. Scottish football should have followed the structure of scottish rugby and created a west, east and North/midlands league on equal parity with the north champions playing off with the midlands champions to then move forward to a semi finals with the west league winners, east league winners and SPFL bottom club for a place in the top draw the next season. 4 non leagues on equal parity with each top division licenced or near licenced. Eligibility to scottish cup at level 5 eligibility to junior cup at level 6 and below regardless of current senior junior or amateur status.

Are the juniors an interested party? 

38 minutes ago, BS7 said:

Are the juniors an interested party? 

If the SFA had engaged with them at the right time then i think they would have come on board. After all theres more to be gained within the pyramid than outwith. I just feel the SFA have gone about this in the wrong way.

1 hour ago, dwl123 said:

If the divide between the juniors and joining the seniors pyramid doesnt get sorted itll be knowing me, knowing you a-ha Souper trouper, sorry i mean't Goalie Hamish:-)

Well they do say the Winner Takes It All, will it be the East of Scotland League?

Kello Rovers are hinting a South of Scotland move.

Completely made up.

Quite a lot of random accounts saying this team are going and that team are going to East of Scotland / South of Scotland leagues so hard for people to get true picture of what is happening and clubs opinions on future.

13 hours ago, dwl123 said:

The SJFA wasn't interested when the pyramid was being created, and its too late now to be an "interested party". However the pyramid has improved, and will continue to evolve, maybe with 4 senior/tier 6 leagues each covering East, West, 'Midlands' and North of Scotland regions, and feeding directly into the Highland and Lowland Leagues.

Best wishes for Cove Rangers, I hope you make it into the SPFL for next season. 

On ‎19‎/‎03‎/‎2018 at 22:43, Bluenortherner said:

Kello Rovers are hinting a South of Scotland move.

You must've been eating too much cheese auld boy, joining the South league has never been mentioned by anyone at Kello.  Better luck with your next exclusive.:lol:

1 hour ago, Robert James said:

The SJFA wasn't interested when the pyramid was being created, and its too late now to be an "interested party". However the pyramid has improved, and will continue to evolve, maybe with 4 senior/tier 6 leagues each covering East, West, 'Midlands' and North of Scotland regions, and feeding directly into the Highland and Lowland Leagues.

Best wishes for Cove Rangers, I hope you make it into the SPFL for next season. 

And without the BIG Junior teams the standard will still be mediocre 

2 hours ago, Shannon said:

Completely made up.

Quite a lot of random accounts saying this team are going and that team are going to East of Scotland / South of Scotland leagues so hard for people to get true picture of what is happening and clubs opinions on future.

That one seemed a bit far-fetched, so not surprised. Here's what I think has been suggested so far, with clubs with apparent website confirmation bolded and italics used where it looked more like a rumour, maybe people can clarify, if they know something is mistaken:

East

Super: Camelon, Bonnyrigg Rose (if EGM ratifies), Hill of Beath? (discussed at committe level), Dundonald Bluebell? (discussed internally)

Premier: Dalkeith, Musselburgh, Haddington, Dunbar, Blackburn

South: Edinburgh United

West

Super Premier: Clydebank (holding EGM unclear what league and timeline), Kilwinning Rangers (EoS West Region timeline unclear), Pollok?, Rob Roy?, Girvan?

Super First: Troon?

Ayrshire District: Ardrossan?, Dalry?

1 hour ago, LongTimeLurker said:

That one seemed a bit far-fetched, so not surprised. Here's what I think has been suggested so far, with clubs with apparent website confirmation bolded and italics used where it looked more like a rumour, maybe people can clarify, if they know something is mistaken:

East

Super: Camelon, Bonnyrigg Rose (if EGM ratifies), Hill of Beath? (discussed at committe level), Dundonald Bluebell? (discussed internally)

West

Super Premier: Clydebank (holding EGM unclear what league and timeline), Kilwinning Rangers (EoS West Region timeline unclear), Pollok?, Rob Roy?, Girvan?

At moment Kilwinning are not interested, Abbey Park is too far from licensing at the minute 

12 minutes ago, parkcircus said:

At moment Kilwinning are not interested, Abbey Park is too far from licensing at the minute 

You don't need to be licensed to join the EofS League or an Wof S equivalent. Its only the Lowland League.  So at the very least assuming you win that league you have around 12 -18 months to make the changes.

2 hours ago, LongTimeLurker said:

East

West

It may be pertinent to add that four clubs in the SoSFL are licensed and may look at joining a WoSFL if their own league wishes to retain the current status quo.  If I were a member of a club who showed a modicum of interest my only concern would be the time frame and whilst it would seem there is a level of interest from clubs I wouldn't want any project done half arsed. It would make sense to canvass clubs in the correct manner with a model that is both sustainable and viable and give them time to make an informed decision of how they wish to proceed rather than ask them to jump in heid first.

1 hour ago, Deeside Dynamo said:

It may be pertinent to add that four clubs in the SoSFL are licensed and may look at joining a WoSFL if their own league wishes to retain the current status quo.  If I were a member of a club who showed a modicum of interest my only concern would be the time frame and whilst it would seem there is a level of interest from clubs I wouldn't want any project done half arsed. It would make sense to canvass clubs in the correct manner with a model that is both sustainable and viable and give them time to make an informed decision of how they wish to proceed rather than ask them to jump in heid first.

Who provides that model?  The SFA’s view is to get on with what’s already there, the SJFA’s view is we want our cake and eat it.  Neither agree and progress is non-existent, therefore Junior clubs have to look at their own situation, what the alternatives are available, and make a decision to stick or twist.

Harder in the West than it is in the East, but not impossible for clubs to create a viable WoSFL. In the East the model appears viable and sustainable.

50 minutes ago, Burnie_man said:

Neither agree and progress is non-existent, therefore Junior clubs have to look at their own situation, what the alternatives are available, and make a decision to stick or twist.

Harder in the West than it is in the East, but not impossible for clubs to create a viable WoSFL. In the East the model appears viable and sustainable.

Is that not a massive decision to make when you have no idea of how it will fit into the current pyramid set up? 

As it is I'm all for the formation of a WoSFL as some of the junior clubs have something to bring to the senior ranks but how would it fit into the current pyramid where two leagues currently sit below the Lowland league?  For me it's just not just the formation of a new league but how it effects clubs who have already committed to the pyramid system and spent £10,000's on upgrading facilities to meet the licensing criteria regardless of what league they play in whether the East or South.

6 minutes ago, Deeside Dynamo said:

Is that not a massive decision to make when you have no idea of how it will fit into the current pyramid set up? 

The current set-up is the current set-up, you can only base your decision on the options as they stand now. Not what they might or might not be somewhere down the road.

6 minutes ago, Deeside Dynamo said:

As it is I'm all for the formation of a WoSFL as some of the junior clubs have something to bring to the senior ranks but how would it fit into the current pyramid where two leagues currently sit below the Lowland league?  For me it's just not just the formation of a new league but how it effects clubs who have already committed to the pyramid system and spent £10,000's on upgrading facilities to meet the licensing criteria regardless of what league they play in whether the East or South.

The WoSFL would sit alongside the EoSFL and SoSFL I'd imagine, seems the sensible approach as things stand, and allows West Junior clubs to join and become licenced at a realistic level. 

Not sure how that would effect clubs who are already in one of the two existing leagues, as you say they are already there and some are licenced. The only effect I can see is that there is one extra league in the mix for promotion to the LL, which may need to open up to two or three promotion/relegation places which isn't a problem for a 16 team league.

So looks like regional discussions and an EGM for the JUniors to discuss the pyramid and the best and fairest way forward for all clubs, far better than the ham fisted efforts proposed by some on here.

If I had a crystal ball I reckon :
Juniors entering en masse season 19/20
West premier coming in at level 6
Bit of a dogs dinner in the East that will need to be worked around for the betterment of the game going forward, somethings got to give.

Obviously lots of details up for discussion.

2 minutes ago, tell_me_more said:

So looks like regional discussions and an EGM for the JUniors to discuss the pyramid and the best and fairest way forward for all clubs, far better than the ham fisted efforts proposed by some on here.

If I had a crystal ball I reckon :
Juniors entering en masse season 19/20
West premier coming in at level 6
Bit of a dogs dinner in the East that will need to be worked around for the betterment of the game going forward, somethings got to give.

Obviously lots of details up for discussion.

Is this something that's actually happening, or just a suggestion.