Junior football, what is the future?

Burnie_man

They’ll need to press the reset button. It’s a dug’s dinner now and it’ll be a dug’s dinner raided by vultures when the breakaways are over.
It should be structured by merit, not by political chicanery. The idea of Blackburn or Dalkeith being in a tier above Linlithgow is simply wrong.

They’ll need to press the reset button. It’s a dug’s dinner now and it’ll be a dug’s dinner raided by vultures when the breakaways are over.
It should be structured by merit, not by political chicanery. The idea of Blackburn or Dalkeith being in a tier above Linlithgow is simply wrong.
Not disagreeing with that but it was in the hands of the clubs to prevent it happening.

Until Bonnyrigg called their EGM many were still ignoring the possibility of anything really happening this year but at that point others sat up and took notice, its just that Linlithgow and Bo'ness don't appear to have been among them, although in fairness to Bo'ness their position has been clear for a while.

Vultures? Get a grip. Linlithgow didn't want to move, Blackburn and Dalkeith did, and Bonnyrigg, and Camelon and probably two other SL clubs. Everyone was free to choose.

We're not doing it simply to get a march on anyone, should we have sat back and waited until the so called big guns decided a year or two down the line, or perhaps never.

Honestly some fowk.

Vultures? Get a grip. Linlithgow didn't want to move, Blackburn and Dalkeith did, and Bonnyrigg, and Camelon and probably two other SL clubs. Everyone was free to choose.

We're not doing it simply to get a march on anyone, should we have sat back and waited until the so called big guns decided a year or two down the line, or perhaps never.

Honestly some fowk.

Obviously my analogy is ‘way over your comprehension. As is ‘merit’.

13 minutes ago, Ardenvohr6 said:

Merit?  

Linlithgow could have joined the Lowland League but didn't want to.

They could have joined the EoS with Kelty but didn't, and they declined again this year.

They're seemingly happy where they are.

12 minutes ago, Ardenvohr6 said:

The idea of Blackburn or Dalkeith being in a tier above Linlithgow is simply wrong.

Little sympathy for Linlithgow after seeing the quotes from their chairman, saying they don't want to get left behind and have aspirations of getting to the SPFL!

On 30/03/2018 at 13:22, Auld Heid said:

FB_IMG_1522406182743.jpg

56 minutes ago, Ardenvohr6 said:

It makes it more difficult when a handful of the biggest clubs have come out against joining, but in the likes of Blackburn's case what exactly are they meant to do - hang off two or three years until Linlithgow and Bo'ness have eventually come round to the idea and only then apply so as not to upset the natural order of things - is everyone supposed to know their place to that extent?

Edited by Hillonearth

19 minutes ago, Burnie_man said:

Honestly some fowk.

There is no doubt that some clubs over the development of the pyramid see it as the way forward, however if you are trying to say that there is no opportunism going on then I would very much doubt that. I used the term dugs dinner, another poster has also used it. 

Edited by Guest

3 minutes ago, Hillonearth said:

It makes it more difficult when and handful of the biggest clubs have come out against joining, but in the likes of Blackburn's case what exactly are they meant to do - hang off two or three years until Linlithgow and Bo'ness have eventually come round to the idea and only then apply so as not to upset the natural order of things - is everyone supposed to know their place to that extent?

Btw Hillonearth, where do you see the rest of us ie the likes Maryhill, Wishaw etc fitting into the story over the next couple of years. Taking teams like Clydebank are definitely for the off.

8 minutes ago, Isabel Goudie said:

There is no doubt that some clubs over the development of the pyramid see it as the way forward, however if you are trying to say that there is no opportunism going on then I would very much doubt that. I used the term dugs dinner, another poster has also used it. 

Opportunism like accepting a club license and all its benefits but not accepting the fundamental sporting principle which is to commit to the pyramid?

14 hours ago, Black & Red Socks said:

This has got to be one of the poorest posts on this or any other thread that I've had the misfortune to read. In the face of properly constructed, rational and, indeed, factual information being laid before you and everyone else reading this thread on the reasons why a fair amount of SJFA clubs consider a coherent and sustainable future lies in the EoSFL and the Pyramid you first claim to be working on a pitch that will detail all the benefits of remaining Junior and then, when you're called out on this repeatedly by a variety of posters, you fail to come up with even one worthwhile reason and, instead, resort to infantile retorts and obscene language.

As has been said before, no wonder teams are fleeing from this bully boy style nonsense. There will be more doing so in the years ahead too, and in some small way your contributions on P&B this last wee while might just help them to make up their minds on that very course of action.

You could take some time to read through the utter pish that you posted previously under your other user names and that will give you a decent base-line for assessing and comparing poor posts.  Take a week or two to read through the voluminous threads on the pyramid which are full of the same ass-clown characters vilifying anyone who dares to hold anything even resembling an opposing view to their pro-pyramid stance and then come back and talk to me about infantile retorts ,obscene language or bully boy style nonsense.

If you think that any club  makes a decision about it`s future based in any way shape or form on what`s written on this forum then you need to stay off the glue..........

7 minutes ago, Glenconner said:

Btw Hillonearth, where do you see the rest of us ie the likes Maryhill, Wishaw etc fitting into the story over the next couple of years. Taking teams like Clydebank are definitely for the off.

Suppose it's down to each club ultimately, but we voted for it - the ground's already licensed and the off field stuff's easy enough to get together when you actually look into it - most of it we already do, the rest isn't too much of a stretch.

I suspect if enough clubs declare  themselves for the off in the event of a WoS league coming to pass there will be more than one division's worth...we're certainly not strong enough on the field at the moment to hold our own in any top division, but a WoS second tier's realistic.

12 minutes ago, Hillonearth said:

Suppose it's down to each club ultimately, but we voted for it - the ground's already licensed and the off field stuff's easy enough to get together when you actually look into it - most of it we already do, the rest isn't too much of a stretch.

I suspect if enough clubs declare  themselves for the off in the event of a WoS league coming to pass there will be more than one division's worth...we're certainly not strong enough on the field at the moment to hold our own in any top division, but a WoS second tier's realistic.

Yep, every club finds its level and of course that can be up or down as time goes on! I think in general there can be a tendency of focusing too much on the problems of today than on the solutions of tomorrow.

You could take some time to read through the utter pish that you posted previously under your other user names and that will give you a decent base-line for assessing and comparing poor posts.  Take a week or two to read through the voluminous threads on the pyramid which are full of the same ass-clown characters vilifying anyone who dares to hold anything even resembling an opposing view to their pro-pyramid stance and then come back and talk to me about infantile retorts ,obscene language or bully boy style nonsense. If you think that any club  makes a decision about it`s future based in any way shape or form on what`s written on this forum then you need to stay off the glue..........     

And there you have it. Fling some more insults, cast assertions, divert and obscure and yet again offer nothing that is either constructive or worthwhile. Nothing. I have never vilified anyone, never pretended to be anyone else, merely offered what I would consider reasoned debate in a reasoned and respectful manner only to be shouted down by a bully with no grace and certainly no decency. Others can decide who is sniffing glue here.     

20 minutes ago, GLESGABOY said:

You could take some time to read through the utter pish that you posted previously under your other user names and that will give you a decent base-line for assessing and comparing poor posts.  Take a week or two to read through the voluminous threads on the pyramid which are full of the same ass-clown characters vilifying anyone who dares to hold anything even resembling an opposing view to their pro-pyramid stance and then come back and talk to me about infantile retorts ,obscene language or bully boy style nonsense.

If you think that any club  makes a decision about it`s future based in any way shape or form on what`s written on this forum then you need to stay off the glue..........

One of his pigeons must have pegged it :lol:

2 hours ago, Robert James said:

" AFTER OVER 50 YEARS SINCE THEY CEASED TO BE, THIRD LANARK ARE ON THE RISE

(by Hugh McDonald for the Scottish Daily Mail 12th January 2018)

* founded in 1872, they were founder members of the Scottish Football Association

* went under in 1967 in a tide of money problems and corruption allegations

* resurrected as an amateur club, Third Lanark AFC is showing signs of rude health. "

Cathkin Park and the Juniors await !!

Cathkin will never see semi-pro football again, it's too far gone without major investment. Imagine trying to get a licence for it.

Opportunism like accepting a club license and all its benefits but not accepting the fundamental sporting principle which is to commit to the pyramid?

Not true

There was no requirement for Linlithgow to join the LL or pyramid when we applied for our licence.

However there was a caveat added that this condition may be added at a later date.

Since we obtained the licence the SFA have done very little to enhance the pyramid concept.

Linlithgow voted in favour of the SJFA proposal so that is embracing the concept but doing it via our ruling body the SJFA.

This route would be progress through football rather than an application form.

2 minutes ago, Goalie Hamish said:

Cathkin will never see semi-pro football again, it's too far gone without major investment. Imagine trying to get a licence for it.

The resurrection of Thirds to a semi-pro level has been "imminent" for a couple of decades now, and seems no closer than it was back then.

The truth of the matter is the club playing under their name is playing in the second division of one of the lower-rated amateur leagues,  the former ground is an admittedly atmospheric ruin which has no hope of being brought back to anything remotely close to code without the injection of probably seven figures, and the passage of time has been sufficient that their fanbase is dispersed, ancient or dead.

It's a cheap headline every couple of years for some blawhard to get their face in the papers about how they're bringing them back which invariably comes to naught.