Cumbernauld United 2017-2018

BeverleyHills

• Replies 168
14 hours ago, TheNauld said:

We go again next sat, whilst I thought a draw was overall a fair result we missed an open goal to go ahead. We honestly don’t look like losing goals but at the othenair r end we certainly don’t look like scoring

took this game in as a neutral and your comments r spot oan buddy yous were the best team second half n wanted it mair aways njoy watchin a guid teem fae the west awe muckin in and workin for yin another oan the park guid luck in the replay guys hope yous get the richt result

This shutdown has now almost equalled the one of the winterof 1946-47 when there were seven blank saturdays between 25/1/47 and 22/3/47.

However we are a bit away from the winter of 1963 when ALL football in Great Britain was wiped our for ten weeks between 22/12/62 and 9/3/63.  We played 3rd, 4th & 5th round Scottish ties in successive weeks when play did resume.

I believe some cup competitions were not played out that season although it seems that most did going by Bernard Stokes  book of cup winners. How they fitted in all the fixtures is hard to understand although there is no record of us playing in either the Central League cup or the Pompey cup that season. Perhaps clubs were allowed to withdraw from some of the minor competitions.

47 minutes ago, kilsyth ranger said:

Plenty of money seems to be getting thrown about by Cumbernauld thesedays emoji848.png

If the club has the money then there's nothing wrong with spending it to improve the team. It's when the club spends money that they don't have that problems arise. I have no reason to believe that Cumbernauld are spending beyond their means.

Plenty of money seems to be getting thrown about by Cumbernauld thesedays [emoji848]

We’re certainly not throwing money about, one player recently retired and we’ve brought two players in. We’ve seen what happens to clubs that live beyond their means in trying to achieve success, that certainly won’t happen to us, but thanks for you concern