The mad competitive West Super Division One thread 2017-2018

glensmad

Rutherglen Glencairn out of it now. Waiting on Largs to see final placings. What's with Irvine Meadow and Renfrew?
Renfrew are up, but another goal for Meadow would have seen them go up instead.

As it stands.

Renfrew will finish 3rd or 4th

Meadow will finish 4th or 5th.

Troon will finish 5th or 6th.

Largs will finish 3rd - 6th depending on how they get on at Cumbernauld next Sunday.

• Replies 1.2k
We will certainly finish above meadow 
their new manager won't improve them 
looking forward to goin to new places 

Just 18 points behind Meadow despite putting in your best two performances of the season and picking up 4 points against Meadow. Play the same way against rest of league and Darvel would have been top 6....

If Meadow do end up in play offs Arthurlie will have James Marks a stick on to score since he played with us at start of season but hopefully we can do enough to go up. Not much at all between all the teams below Petershill.... just a few points between 2nd and 7th...

We finished on 43 points this season. We've been in this league for 8 seasons in total in its current format. In the previous 7 seasons that we've been in this league, 43 points would have been enough for a top 6 place. In four of those seasons 43 points would have been enough for a top 4 place. But not this year unfortunately. [emoji26]

Absolutely delighted to be going up. For a wee while it looked like we had blown it but 4 from 4 in final games, wi 4 clean sheets got us over the line. Glencairn just coming up short.
3 promotions on the bounce. Happy Lang fan.

We finished on 43 points this season. We've been in this league for 8 seasons in total in its current format. In the previous 7 seasons that we've been in this league, 43 points would have been enough for a top 6 place. In four of those seasons 43 points would have been enough for a top 4 place. But not this year unfortunately. [emoji26]

Yeah normally 40 points is guaranteed top 6 but this season wouldn't even get top 8. With Meadow normally 49 points is top 3/4 this season and automatic promotion but we may only just get 5th with same points total.

1 hour ago, Shannon said:

Just 18 points behind Meadow despite putting in your best two performances of the season and picking up 4 points against Meadow. Play the same way against rest of league and Darvel would have been top 6....

If Meadow do end up in play offs Arthurlie will have James Marks a stick on to score since he played with us at start of season but hopefully we can do enough to go up. Not much at all between all the teams below Petershill.... just a few points between 2nd and 7th...

I don’t think yous are very good but the league table doesn’t lie 

I think you will go up now , if not autos u will win play off game 

I don’t think yous are very good but the league table doesn’t lie 
I think you will go up now , if not autos u will win play off game 

Our 2/3 poorest performances of the season have been v Darvel. Probably as we didnt play our best and you were right up for it. We have won 13, drawn 2 and lost 2 (Darvel & Renfrew midweek) in last 17 league games. Don't do that without having a good fighting spirit and decent team too. Been some turnaround from start of 2018.

Arthurlie won't be as easy as some folk as suggesting if end up in play offs although I hope Cumbernauld do us a wee favour.

5 hours ago, peasy23 said:

Renfrew are up, but another goal for Meadow would have seen them go up instead.

As it stands.

Renfrew will finish 3rd or 4th

Meadow will finish 4th or 5th.

Troon will finish 5th or 6th.

Largs will finish 3rd - 6th depending on how they get on at Cumbernauld next Sunday.

There is one other possibility -IF  Larg s win by 10 clear goals then they would go up as runners up on goal difference - can't see it but it's a funny auld game !!!

Massive congrats to all involved at Renfrew. Favourites for a relegation battle this season & no-one’s hope for promotion, the lads have eventually gotten over the line & secured promotion. Superb !! 2 promotions in 3 years....happy days !

It's a hard one to pin down exactly why there is such a big difference where 40 points or so would get you in previous seasons compared to this one. It's very noticeable though that there is a big points gap from 8th to 9th this season which isn't apparent in others, and also the bottom 2 are well behind the rest. Looks like the top 8 have all had a big gain in points taken from the bottom 6, and ultimately it will be the teams that haven't fully capitalised on that that will most likely be missing out on promotion and playoff spots. 

Our downfall last season was our away form, and Glencairn and Cumbernauld have suffered this year from that, Glens losing 6/13 and United 7/13 on their travels. both sides had home records equal to or better than Meadow and Troon.

Troon were unbeaten away from home all season, can't be many teams to have managed that in this division over the years. 

8 hours ago, peasy23 said:

Troon were unbeaten away from home all season, can't be many teams to have managed that in this division over the years. 

Can any team ever have had an unbeaten away record yet lost more games at home than they won?

It's a hard one to pin down exactly why there is such a big difference where 40 points or so would get you in previous seasons compared to this one. It's very noticeable though that there is a big points gap from 8th to 9th this season which isn't apparent in others, and also the bottom 2 are well behind the rest. Looks like the top 8 have all had a big gain in points taken from the bottom 6, and ultimately it will be the teams that haven't fully capitalised on that that will most likely be missing out on promotion and playoff spots. 
Our downfall last season was our away form, and Glencairn and Cumbernauld have suffered this year from that, Glens losing 6/13 and United 7/13 on their travels. both sides had home records equal to or better than Meadow and Troon.

Just our luck I'm afraid. At the start of the season I looked at the 40-point benchmark from previous seasons and thought "yes, no problem we can do that". We did and more, but this time it wasn't enough.

That's football though, and we just have to accept it and prepare for next season in the new "Championship" (still ridiculous names for the leagues below the top one, by the way).

Three straight up and three straight down out of 16 teams, instead of (prior to this season) two straight up and a play-off and four straight down out of only 14 teams. It'll be interesting to see how that affects the dynamic of what has been (until now) the most competitive league in Scotland.