Linlithgow Rose 2017-18

Auld Heid

• Replies 1.9k
Losing 2-0

Rose have had the better of the game, but are susceptible to Scotland's pace and touch on the counter attack, which led to both goals. Rose have put plenty of balls into the box but Scotland have defended them well. In a competitive match Scotland would've been down to 10 men early for an over the ball challenge while chasing a ball. Enjoyable game.

Rose didn't have the better of the game as someone has stated. If having the better of the game means playing the ball sideways and backwards and having scored one and conceded five then we're fucked.

You will never score goals against anybody passing the ball sideways and backwards all game. The Rose played the ball forward and scored. Simple. The rest of the time it was back and sideways.

The marking was dreadful at times and nae pace at the back was evident.

But whit a braw stretch of turf under the new lights.

Rose didn't have the better of the game as someone has stated. If having the better of the game means playing the ball sideways and backwards and having scored one and conceded five then we're fucked.

You will never score goals against anybody passing the ball sideways and backwards all game. The Rose played the ball forward and scored. Simple. The rest of the time it was back and sideways.

The marking was dreadful at times and nae pace at the back was evident.

But whit a braw stretch of turf under the new lights.

Not the result I had hoped for waking up in Dubai this morning.

But sometimes such results give a truer picture of where you are at. We all knew this was a work in progress.

You don't face the cream of junior football every game.

The Rose had the better of the first half. That's what I said, and they did. Scotland defended the crosses well and hit twice on the counter attack.

Second half was a different story. Even then, one of the goals was a wild deflection.

8 hours ago, Auld Heid said:

A trip into the unknown as never been to Kennoway before.

Always good to visit a new ground.

You won't be in Kennoway - unless you make a detour- they play in the village of Star. An unusual setting for a football ground.

9 hours ago, Auld Heid said:

A trip into the unknown as never been to Kennoway before.

Always good to visit a new ground.

If it's wet tomorrow, I strongly suggest wearing wellies.  The farm track up to the ground could be a little messy.