The St. Mirren FC 2023/24 thread

The rumour mill keeps churning that Celtic are about to sign Lewis Morgan.  I will admit to have not seen much of him but do St. Mirren fans really think he's good enough to get into this Celtic team?  Or will this be another Scott Allan situation where a talented Championship player gets signed just to stick it to the blue guys across town?  I just fear he's going to be a talent wasted in the reserves when a better move for him would be to go to Aberdeen or one of the Edinburgh clubs that would be more his level and get him much more game time

He won't be wasted in the reserves, he'll be loaned back to us - either for 6 months or 18 months. In a similar way Christie has been loaned out. Now I see similarities in those two players, both are quick, both are talented and both have an eye for the spectacular. Allan is a different case, he didn't just go from lower league to Celtic, he did it via several clubs. He also arrived at a Deila Celtic, so there is that element too. No, if I had to give a comparison I'd say Christie.

In terms of his potential and where it could take him, he comes from the same stock as Kenny McLean and John McGinn, two players who moved from St Mirren to bigger clubs and are now one of the first names on their teamsheet. The "problem" with Celtic is that they have so much cover in that area, from the usual wingers like Roberts, Sinclair, Forrest, Hayes (for all he plays) and that's before you factor in other players who can cover that position.

He's one for the future, and if he can develop more while out on loan and at some point Roberts returning to Man City and the likely shipping of Hayes (possibly back to Aberdeen?) in about 12-18 months there should be a place for him to fight for.

Ultimately if you spend a pittance in your terms (roughly a £300k tag) then it's a decent gamble considering what his potential just now suggests. Whether that potential will be fulfilled who knows? That said you could buy a £30m player and still worry about them fulfilling their potential.

22 minutes ago, Buddist Monk said:

He won't be wasted in the reserves, he'll be loaned back to us - either for 6 months or 18 months. In a similar way Christie has been loaned out. Now I see similarities in those two players, both are quick, both are talented and both have an eye for the spectacular. Allan is a different case, he didn't just go from lower league to Celtic, he did it via several clubs. He also arrived at a Deila Celtic, so there is that element too. No, if I had to give a comparison I'd say Christie.

In terms of his potential and where it could take him, he comes from the same stock as Kenny McLean and John McGinn, two players who moved from St Mirren to bigger clubs and are now one of the first names on their teamsheet. The "problem" with Celtic is that they have so much cover in that area, from the usual wingers like Roberts, Sinclair, Forrest, Hayes (for all he plays) and that's before you factor in other players who can cover that position.

He's one for the future, and if he can develop more while out on loan and at some point Roberts returning to Man City and the likely shipping of Hayes (possibly back to Aberdeen?) in about 12-18 months there should be a place for him to fight for.

Ultimately if you spend a pittance in your terms (roughly a £300k tag) then it's a decent gamble considering what his potential just now suggests. Whether that potential will be fulfilled who knows? That said you could buy a £30m player and still worry about them fulfilling their potential.

Thanks for this!  Have there been any concerns about his attitude or work ethic?  Those are two things that will separate the starters from the bench warmers in Brendan Rodgers teams, it's why Boyata plays a lot, he works hard (despite not being all that great).

Fitzy should be gagged ! "in normal circumstances Lewis would be worth £1m". What's the abnormal circumstance here then - surely not the fact he is in the last year of his contract, that is hardly abnormal !!! he then says Saints have lost a lot of money by not cashing in last summer.  There were no bids remotely close to £1m  for Morgan last summer or at least none that have ever been made public. He really does spout some keich ! 

6 minutes ago, senorsoupe said:

Thanks for this!  Have there been any concerns about his attitude or work ethic?  Those are two things that will separate the starters from the bench warmers in Brendan Rodgers teams, it's why Boyata plays a lot, he works hard (despite not being all that great).

Absolutely no concerns in those regards. He's the sort of winger who full backs will try to kick early doors and usually fail to get close to, if they do though, he definitely won't be posted missing. 

His attitude is spot on and there's no fears in that regard. In his first 4 caps for Scotland U21s, he's been our best player in 3.

Fitzy should be gagged ! "in normal circumstances Lewis would be worth £1m". What's the abnormal circumstance here then - surely not the fact he is in the last year of his contract, that is hardly abnormal !!! he then says Saints have lost a lot of money by not cashing in last summer.  There were no bids remotely close to £1m  for Morgan last summer or at least none that have ever been made public. He really does spout some keich ! 

Aye complete drivel from him again. We are not a club that can command such fees, Morgan could well go on to become a million pound player. Clubs know our selling point is lower than a million pound regardless of whether Morgan had 6 months or 6 years left on his contract. This is a good deal for saints. In normal circumstances we would’ve lost a player for nothing on a pre-contract. Morgan thoroughly deserves his move as well, I hope he goes on and makes it at Celtic having spent the next 18 months with us on loan.

Two things you could never question with Morgan. He has performed very well this season with speculation about his future since July. I don’t think anyone could question his attitude.

4 hours ago, senorsoupe said:

He is by an absolute mile the best prospect in the Championship. I'm not saying he's necessarily the best player, I'm enormously biased but that's still Stephen Dobbie for me. But Dobbie is 35 and winding down his career where he wants to finish it, Morgan is 21 and has the world at his feet potentially. Depending on the fee it's really a no brainer for Celtic. I've never seen anyone, perhaps Dobbie apart, so adept at finding the corner of the net with shots time after time.

5 hours ago, senorsoupe said:

The rumour mill keeps churning that Celtic are about to sign Lewis Morgan.  I will admit to have not seen much of him but do St. Mirren fans really think he's good enough to get into this Celtic team?  Or will this be another Scott Allan situation where a talented Championship player gets signed just to stick it to the blue guys across town?  I just fear he's going to be a talent wasted in the reserves when a better move for him would be to go to Aberdeen or one of the Edinburgh clubs that would be more his level and get him much more game time

Man of the match in 4 Scotland U21 games including against Netherlands and England outshining £15M man Oliver Burke (only Championship player in the team). £300K is robbery. If Morgan was with the OF he would be in the full Scotland squad by now. Potentially far too good for the Scottish Premiership and I am sure Celtic will sell him for a huge profit in a couple of years. Great work ethic.

We only got £400k up front for May fwiw, £300k is more than decent for a second tier player over 20 years old, with only 6 months of a contract left

Man of the match in 4 Scotland U21 games including against Netherlands and England outshining £15M man Oliver Burke (only Championship player in the team). £300K is robbery. If Morgan was with the OF he would be in the full Scotland squad by now. Potentially far too good for the Scottish Premiership and I am sure Celtic will sell him for a huge profit in a couple of years. Great work ethic.

Ryan Williamson played in the u20s I'm sure. 300k is very good value for Morgan all things considered.

. I've never seen anyone, perhaps Dobbie apart, so adept at finding the corner of the net with shots time after time.

I ken you've seen Joe Cardle in the flesh so we'll put that wrong statement down to a lack of memory, don't sweat it.

I definitely think that there is a player in Stewart, but just now he looks a bit gangly and a little awkward at this level. I think a lot of that rawness would have been smoothed off with more regular football but with Reilly, Sutton and several others ahead of him there just hasn't been the opportunity. Now perhaps the argument is that he should show more in training in order to get Ross to play him more - but that's a little unfair considering I have no idea how well he does at training.

As for McGinn, after watching him in some recent games he's really stepped up a level. I think £3m would be an absolute steal and wouldn't be surprised to see figures almost double that. I realise as a St Mirren fan I'll be a wee bit biased but he is a genuine talent and on that, if he continues his progression, will be a permanent fixture in the Scotland team within a few years.

Edited by Buddist Monk

16 hours ago, Grant228 said:

Ryan Williamson played in the u20s I'm sure. 300k is very good value for Morgan all things considered.

I ken you've seen Joe Cardle in the flesh so we'll put that wrong statement down to a lack of memory, don't sweat it.

You are right. In the 5 games Morgan started (and finished) Williamson came on as a sub in 3 of them. Apologies.