The St. Mirren FC 2023/24 thread

3 hours ago, Dee Man said:

Seems I've struck a bit of a nerve here. 

If you guys are happy to give a wee wave to your heroes up on their bus for winning the Championship, you batter in. Don't let the Dundee fan that thinks it's a bit of a minter spoil your fun. 

K. Thanks.

2 hours ago, GAD said:

Has Paul McGinn done well for Thistle this season? It doesn't look like he's played much for a team battling relegation, but I don't know if there is a reason for that, other than he's been shite?

He's played a fair amount. 20-odd games. Solid but unspectacular player in a poor team.

He was only signed because we had a major fullback crisis earlier in the season, but now that Christie Elliott is back he doesn't get a look in, so I wouldn't be surprised if he's away.

No idea how good Liam Smith has been, or how realistic it is that he'd be playing for you next season, but if he's not, McGinn would be a decent signing. 

Don’t see what’s wrong with parading the Championship trophy. I’d draw the line at the Bells Ramsdens Petrofac B&Q Irn Bru Northern Irish & Welsh Diddies & C*nt Colts Cup.... but the Championship, Scottish and League Cups? Absolutely.

9 hours ago, Dee Man said:

We celebrated winning the Championship, but not with an open top bus parade. 

I don't really think going into administration is a cause for celebration to be honest, so that's a bit silly. 

No open buses in Dundee then.

No need for them:thumsup2

This forum's boring when people aren't ripping us for being shite, or when our superiority has become old news.

Even Morton are back where they belong, terminal mediocrity, and are fighting amongst themselves again. 

I'm so bored I'm tempted to dig up some of the belting posts from the 4-1 defeat at Cappielow thread. :whistle

Edited by Coventry Saint

1 hour ago, Stu said:

I feel now is the time to bring up this belter of an article: https://www.eveningtelegraph.co.uk/fp/can-dundee-united-join-celtic-man-city-dominating-league/

Did that story come out in the same week that I told the world I was being picked for the European Ryder Cup team and Kylie Minogue kept pestering me for a shag?

11 minutes ago, pozbaird said:

Did that story come out in the same week that I told the world I was being picked for the European Ryder Cup team and Kylie Minogue kept pestering me for a shag?

Yep. Except the Arabs' season was the equivalent of being picked to tour as one of Kylie's dancers and getting shagged by the Ryder Cup team.

15 hours ago, Stu said:

I feel now is the time to bring up this belter of an article: https://www.eveningtelegraph.co.uk/fp/can-dundee-united-join-celtic-man-city-dominating-league/

Well that's funny, obviously it's Duthie who would literally walk 500 miles just to suck some Dundee cock, the first paragraph is comedy gold none the less...

Manchester City, Celtic, Wolves and Ayr United — not an obvious list of connected outfits but what they all have in common is at the moment they’re the teams in British football dominating their divisions.

"dominating" none the less. This was as they took the lead of the league for the first time, and only on a very temporary basis.

So I got to thinking, the gap that United had at the top (for the limited time they had it) was wafer thin, was there any time Duthie could spin as "dominating"?

The article was published on 13th December, these are the tables for that time period (4 games before to 4 games after)..

Before:

5ae19e10d35e8_Screenshot-2018-4-26ScottishChampionship-Matchday-13Matchday1718.png.24ca998543851c6edd038c25cbdf21b9.png . 5ae19e10856c5_Screenshot-2018-4-26ScottishChampionship-Matchday-14Matchday1718.png.914b9ca1fe2e738614e56b55b0636827.png

5ae19d7562d08_Screenshot-2018-4-26ScottishChampionship-Matchday-15Matchday1718.png.d34314daa8246c0c675de5709f501343.png . 5ae19d74db957_Screenshot-2018-4-26ScottishChampionship-Matchday-16Matchday1718.png.38c68383b9bdcd6018a1c73ccef52cf6.png

After:

5ae19d74713ef_Screenshot-2018-4-26ScottishChampionship-Matchday-17Matchday1718.png.5811277f4a48c5cf137d1eb49c041819.png . 5ae19d7404520_Screenshot-2018-4-26ScottishChampionship-Matchday-18Matchday1718.png.14a3719e2b8ab6e4f9809d33e9d62cda.png

5ae19e10402de_Screenshot-2018-4-26ScottishChampionship-Matchday-19Matchday1718.png.34cd18aac71c59e43d56508aa945e4da.png . 5ae19e0fce142_Screenshot-2018-4-26ScottishChampionship-Matchday-20Matchday1718.png.8664545fbe21837dbe9ada78a3a8c438.png

I think it's fair to conclude that Duthie is at best a desperate fan boy, and at worst a dreadful and inaccurate journalist.

Edited by Buddist Monk

17 hours ago, Stu said:

Ah, Tom Duthie...the same ill-educated tangerine muncher who was writing six articles per day about how Jack Ross moving to Dundee was a done deal?

He's the lowest form of journalist...the type a rat would was his mouth out after biting. Between his p*ss-poor use of hyperbole, lack of journalistic integrity or sourcing, and his childish comprehension of grammar, surely he should have given up on writing football articles and just skipped straight into the manufacture of chip wrappers. He's an irrelevant, illiterate fud with such a low grasp of the game that his title of 'Lead football writer' at the Telegraph is almost insulting.

We should be running a sweepstake as to who'll get sacked first, Duthie or Laszlo!:lol:

Edited by JimmyMirren

2 hours ago, Buddist Monk said:

So I got to thinking, the gap that United had at the top (for the limited time they had it) was wafer thin, was there any time Duthie could spin as "dominating"?

The article was published on 13th December, these are the tables for that time period (4 games before to 4 games after)..

Before:

5ae19e10d35e8_Screenshot-2018-4-26ScottishChampionship-Matchday-13Matchday1718.png.24ca998543851c6edd038c25cbdf21b9.png . 5ae19e10856c5_Screenshot-2018-4-26ScottishChampionship-Matchday-14Matchday1718.png.914b9ca1fe2e738614e56b55b0636827.png

5ae19d7562d08_Screenshot-2018-4-26ScottishChampionship-Matchday-15Matchday1718.png.d34314daa8246c0c675de5709f501343.png . 5ae19d74db957_Screenshot-2018-4-26ScottishChampionship-Matchday-16Matchday1718.png.38c68383b9bdcd6018a1c73ccef52cf6.png

After:

5ae19d74713ef_Screenshot-2018-4-26ScottishChampionship-Matchday-17Matchday1718.png.5811277f4a48c5cf137d1eb49c041819.png . 5ae19d7404520_Screenshot-2018-4-26ScottishChampionship-Matchday-18Matchday1718.png.14a3719e2b8ab6e4f9809d33e9d62cda.png

5ae19e10402de_Screenshot-2018-4-26ScottishChampionship-Matchday-19Matchday1718.png.34cd18aac71c59e43d56508aa945e4da.png . 5ae19e0fce142_Screenshot-2018-4-26ScottishChampionship-Matchday-20Matchday1718.png.8664545fbe21837dbe9ada78a3a8c438.png

I think it's fair to conclude that Duthie is at best a desperate fan boy, and at worst a dreadful and inaccurate journalist.

Hang on a moment, you were defending him when I brought that article up after we beat them in December :lol:

On 30/12/2017 at 09:53, Buddist Monk said:

Duthie is a United fan, I seem to remember him causing ire within the "h*n support" by calling them the "h*n support". Still it's a little unfair to look back at journalists work in hindsight. If only they had the perceptive and prophetic powers that those who use Internet forums have developed.

Went looking for the quote that so annoyed the h*ns, which I didn't - I presume it was taken down amongst a cacophony of seething and petulance - but I did find this...

Tom Duthie Appreciation Image

57 minutes ago, Stu said:

Hang on a moment, you were defending him when I brought that article up after we beat them in December :lol:

"Still it's a little unfair to look back at journalists work in hindsight. If only they had the perceptive and prophetic powers that those who use Internet forums have developed."

I've been overly subtle then, as this was meant entirely sarcastically. 8)

Edited by Buddist Monk

6 hours ago, Buddist Monk said:

Before:

After:

The amount of work that went into this ffs