Dumbarton v Falkirk

• Replies 635

What would what involve?

Swaggering in Billy big baws?

Dumbarton have been coining it in against big sides for years and haven't even stuck up a crappy wee terrace like Albion Rovers managed. It's no surprise some Falkirk fans are annoyed.

25 minutes ago, Marshmallo said:

Dumbarton have been coining it in against big sides for years and haven't even stuck up a crappy wee terrace like Albion Rovers managed. It's no surprise some Falkirk fans are annoyed.

Dumbarton Football Club Club

So Money

By big sides you mean Hibs, hearts, dunfermline and rangers aye?

Where would we put this temporary falkirk stand?

Finished your own ground yet?

1 minute ago, sonsanorak said:

By big sides you mean Hibs, hearts, dunfermline and rangers aye?

Where would we put this temporary falkirk stand?

Finished your own ground yet?

Clearly trying to get a bite throwing in st Johnstone now a banker on Dunfermline.

Anybody wanting to sit in the Falkirk end better get on the case quickly!

Arrived at 10am (opening time) to a queue of about 150. They had stopped selling by the time I got to the end as the concession tickets had sold out. Dumbarton had given us 220 concessions with 500 adult and they were trying to come to some arrangement to allow any more concessions to get an adult voucher but with 'concession' written on it. Stood for about 20 minutes waiting for that to be resolved.

I collected 3 vouchers for myself and another 2 season ticket holders and most other folk were doing the same. I was told that the phone lines were jammed too so it doesn't sound like there's many left.

6 minutes ago, ShaggerG said:

Anybody wanting to sit in the Falkirk end better get on the case quickly!

Arrived at 10am (opening time) to a queue of about 150. They had stopped selling by the time I got to the end as the concession tickets had sold out. Dumbarton had given us 220 concessions with 500 adult and they were trying to come to some arrangement to allow any more concessions to get an adult voucher but with 'concession' written on it. Stood for about 20 minutes waiting for that to be resolved.

I collected 3 vouchers for myself and another 2 season ticket holders and most other folk were doing the same. I was told that the phone lines were jammed too so it doesn't sound like there's many left.

Aye, they just tweeted  saying there's less than 70 left, I reserved mine earlier, reckon there'll still be a big queue if I head through now?

1 minute ago, ilostmyself said:

Aye, they just tweeted  saying there's less than 70 left, I reserved mine earlier, reckon there'll still be a big queue if I head through now?

Queue was down to about 50 or so by the time I left so the bigger queue earlier was probably down to folk wanting to get in quick. It goes down pretty quickly too (if there are no issues) as there's no cash changing hands.

55 minutes ago, Marshmallo said:

A temporary stand or "crappy wee terrace" requires planning permission and the local council knocked it back. Trust me, we've looked at that. It's one of the main drivers behind us moving stadium - we can't improve the ground where we are so need to move.

Get it right up yeez.

Your board should've informed us sooner that they expect a large crowd. Instead they release unprofessional, tear stained bitch statements. We clearly don't have time to print tickets and pander to their drama queen needs.

Our 2000 capacity stadium has been sold out TWICE in our entire time in the Championship and Falkirk haven't even come close to filling it in the past.

We shouldn't be going out of our way to accomodate other teams IMO.

Spot on. The statement from Falkirk does seem a bit tear-stained to me. I appreciate that Falkirk are bringing a larger crowd than usual due to the importance of the game, but it reads like they don't like the way it's been ticketed and were/are trying to dictate to us how we sort things out for them.

I don't agree with the voucher/reserve ticket idea, but hey, it's short notice t be advised that a larger support than expected is coming, so as with many games, it's essentially a first come, first served idea. That way, the ones who really want to be there, should be, because they'll have arranged the purchase/reservation of a voucher beforehand.

I'd read it as defending themselves against the abuse they'll get from some of the roasters who follow us and think the world should revolve around them.

I think they are defending themselves, but it seems to me to be blaming us too. It seems a slightly passive aggressive way to deflect blame from Falkirk in that there's now a larger than expected support and there's now a clamour from your board to somehow ensure the hordes are all catered for.

Why do we continually make it as difficult as possible to go and watch a game of football these days. Surely you can't tell me that Dumbarton can't get a few hundred tickets printed within a couple of days? And why not just charge for the bloomin vouchers instead of getting one and then still having to pay at the bloomin gate. I have no problem with Dumbarton capacity it does for 90 % of games but surely a better procedure could be used for the few games when tickets are in high demand.

I agree with your sentiment for the most part, but i think the blame on us is pretty minimal. As far as I understand it our hand is pretty much forced by new SPFL procedure. I don't agree at all with the voucher process, it does make it much more difficult for the average fan, on both sides, but that's the way it is, sadly. Little a club, in this case us as the home side can do.

Why can't a game be made all ticket with fans of either side having the option of phoning the home side, reserving and paying for a ticket and collecting it on the day, or paying at the gate (with a portion of tickets set aside and advertised as such for this purpose)?

Falkirk may never have taken many to Dumbarton before but you have yet to have had a game that actually was as crucial as this. To me a bit of foresight a couple of weeks ago could have headed this off.

That's blatantly untrue. We've had several games that have been much more important than this one.

Falkirk are bringing more for this one than they have before and that's totally fair, but it just so happens that it's largely because the game means a fair bit. Before the support has been modest, it's just one of those things (not a dig by the way) that now that the game means something, they're coming in large numbers.

I think most could have seen that a larger number from Falkirk might have been expected, but if it wasn't known 'a few weeks' ago, as suggested in the statement made by FFC, it would have involved a fair amount of extra work on our part, which might not have ended up being required, which for a club like ours isn't really an option.

Thats not how the falkirk statement reads to me.

Reads more like you've swaggered in all billy big time and we've dug our heels in. As we should have, its entirely improper for falkirk to try and tell us how to manage our games.

I must say I agree. Maybe not quite as extreme, but it smacks to me of 'Dumbarton won't do what we want so we'll defend ourselves and blame them for an awkward situation that's actually largely outwith the control of either club.

That said, had Falkirk had some foresight and maybe contacted us more than a week in advance with even a warning that there could be a swelled away support, it might have assisted both clubs and both sets of fans with something being able to be better organised.

Loving this 'you never sold out before so you can understand why we didn't think you'd sell out this time' patter as a good deflection tactic for this poorly organised arrangement. The club had been in contact weeks before now stating the possible requirements. Let's hope it doesn't get too messy in the home end.

As I've mentioned above, your club's official statement mentions a week, not 'weeks' so I can only go by that.

I like the passive aggressiveness in your last sentence though, nice tone.

If it gets 'messy' which I doubt, as I'm sure the vast majority of Falkirk punters are decent folk, it'll be down to a small minority of cretins who want to cause trouble. Unfortunately dare I say, just like the ugly sisters. So if you want that tag, go ahead. Otherwise, maybe act like an adult and not a petulant child and try and enjoy the game and atmosphere whatever your vantage point is.

As I'm sure has been mentioned, our ground has been sold out twice. TWICE. Since it was built. And on neither occasion were Falkirk involved in the match.

I don't recall any of this knicker wetting from the other big sides like Hearts, Hibs, Dundee United and others over the years. And genuinely not a dig, but if we've managed to accommodate them who are bigger clubs than Falkirk, if you guys are so annoyed by it then hey ho. It's not as if our stadium capacity should come as a surprise, it's been exactly the same since it was built, so for Falkirk fans to now be so precious about it is a little off.

Anyway, so. Football. 5-0 Sons with extra stewards, police and the army drafted in to escort the millions of Falkirk fans out of the ground as our fifth goal goes in.

12 hours ago, spratte said:

i dont see what the big deal is to be honest. you either phone the club and collect this week failing that go get a voucher for the sons end early.

personally i would have preferred BBPF to collect me from my door, deliver me to a comfy seat and then instruct his team to lay down to us. But the option DFC have on offer will do.

The madness part of it all,  really on Dumbartons side re the vouchers, is that many can reserve a voucher and still not go losing Dumbarton £s

TBH its a real rock and hard(wheel) place, if we had won on Saturday, then we wouldve took the usual average or perhaps less as its a meaningless game.

I still cant get my head round the demand for a voucher that gives you an option of going yet might still not go and costing Dumbarton into the bargain, yet you still get folk saying Scottish football isnt fuked up, Im still sure its ran by Brian Potter and Jerry St Clair.

Still I got mine booked after 11 calls to the club.

Glad I didn't wait until lunchtime then!

I really don't get why people are so vexed about this.  It's a small ground, so there's never going to be many tickets going.  The voucher system seems a perfectly sensible approach.  It saves time having to pay at the stadium, so it was efficient from FFC's perspective.  Could phone up so no preferential treatment for the unemployed/retired/workshy.

"it's no surprise that some Falkirk fans are annoyed" - that's because we have a disproportionate number of miserable buggers who just like a good moan.  My only concern is that it's going to have been the moaning b*****ds who got tickets, so our support will be made up of sweetie rustlers tutting as soon as we come on the pitch!

Just now, MrDust said:

The madness part of it all,  really on Dumbartons side re the vouchers, is that many can reserve a voucher and still not go losing Dumbarton £s

Do Falkirk fans not speak to each other? Surely if you're not going to the game and have a voucher then you put a post up on any Falkirk page you can find and offer someone who wants to go the voucher? Or are all Falkirk fans massively selfish c***s?

Even if it was ticketed, we could sell a ticket and they decide they don't want to go on the day, what exactly are we supposed to do about that?

Honestly you couldn't make it up. Concession vouchers I've heard it all now. Surely to feck you turn up with your voucher and if your a concession you pay the concession price and if your not you pay the full price. Anything to over complicate things.

I know we don't get that many walk ups but are we really going to turn away any non-season ticket holding home supporters who rock up after 1.30?

Ultimately - and as usual - there will be at least 300 empty seats in the ground come kick off.