Stranraer vs Airdrie

• Replies 94
1 hour ago, coach said:

Thank you for the comment on my earlier post. Rohan could only benefit from working

with a gentleman like John Martin. He had "The Goalie" previously in his corner, but as I

said previously a lot of clubs are going down the road of a combined second keeper/goalie

coach, which I don't subscribe to. Goalkeepers are a different breed we all know that, and

when they concede poor goals/ go through bad spells of form/ suffer lack of confidence, 

in my experience it helps to go away with a specialist coach - even staying behind after 

training sessions to work on strengths and weaknesses. I have been in dressing rooms at

junior and senior football level where the keeper has made a mistake or two and been 

slaughtered at half-time, then went out for the second 45 minutes and made crucial saves

to help the team win the match. Reaction from said manager? - usually nothing, but that's

when a goalkeeping coach ( aka John Martin) really comes into his own.

25 minutes ago, Airdrie76 said:

You're obsessed with this. Out of interest, can the club afford a wage that would make it financially viable for John Martin to give up his current job (or work reduced hours - if that's acceptable) and commute through each day?

Edited to say is Mark Brown no longer coaching the keepers a few days a week? I'd read he was joining the police - wasn't sure if he had yet. 

I'm not obsessed we have a young keeper with potential.

The club only need to speak to Martin and see if something can be arranged. The goalkeeping coach should be there on a Saturday to help Rohan prepare rather than Rohan preparing with goalkeepers who are even younger than him with less expeirence.

1 hour ago, Cooper81 said:

I'm not obsessed we have a young keeper with potential.

The club only need to speak to Martin and see if something can be arranged. The goalkeeping coach should be there on a Saturday to help Rohan prepare rather than Rohan preparing with goalkeepers who are even younger than him with less expeirence.

Agree. Not disputing that but Martin needs to be available through the week to work with him.

And whether he would be interested/whether the club would be interested/whether the club could afford to offer him enough to make it worthwhile/whether he would gel with Rohan/whether Wilson would be interested we don't know. I'm a huge John Martin fan (and would be happy if he joined) but on every thread where the goalkeeping situation is mentioned you make the same points over and over again. We get it. 

42 minutes ago, Airdrie76 said:

Agree. Not disputing that but Martin needs to be available through the week to work with him.

And whether he would be interested/whether the club would be interested/whether the club could afford to offer him enough to make it worthwhile/whether he would gel with Rohan/whether Wilson would be interested we don't know. I'm a huge John Martin fan (and would be happy if he joined) but on every thread where the goalkeeping situation is mentioned you make the same points over and over again. We get it. 

When I suggested Martin previously the response was Martin has not coached in years however its now been mentioned Martin is still coaching. The reason I mention Martin time and again is because I believe he's the best person for the job. 

11 minutes ago, Cooper81 said:

When I suggested Martin previously the response was Martin has not coached in years however its now been mentioned Martin is still coaching. The reason I mention Martin time and again is because I believe he's the best person for the job. 

No,  he didn't say he was still coaching,  he guessed.   It was in the wording.  "To the best of my knowledge..."   

Big Johnny works in a Tesco store now.

Airdrie couldn't afford to pay him or probably even his daily travel expenses and now have another coach for the goalies who'll probably be low calibre as we get what we pay for.

54 minutes ago, Cooper81 said:

OK.  Who are the other goalkeeping coaches you're comparing him to?  What about Martin makes him better than them?  On what basis are you making that judgement?

NB - it should be obvious from how some previous appointments have turned out, but "He was an Airdrie legend when he played for us 25+ years ago" isn't a reason. 

I don't know how good a goalie coach big John is but he certainly had a unique style as a player. I wonder how this would translate into coaching. How many goalies would react well to being told to dive and get kicked in the head and to come out to the edge of the penalty box to collect crosses? !

1 hour ago, waysider said:

I don't know how good a goalie coach big John is but he certainly had a unique style as a player. I wonder how this would translate into coaching. How many goalies would react well to being told to dive and get kicked in the head and to come out to the edge of the penalty box to collect crosses? !

Continued pure ignorance or another seriously poor attempt at humour?

Give it up.

1 hour ago, Tulloch Gorum said:

OK.  Who are the other goalkeeping coaches you're comparing him to?  What about Martin makes him better than them?  On what basis are you making that judgement?

NB - it should be obvious from how some previous appointments have turned out, but "He was an Airdrie legend when he played for us 25+ years ago" isn't a reason. 

The poor boy has absolutely no idea.   Keeps making fantastical guesses and statements,  guaranteed he'll randomly get one right by default but be seen as a genius.

BTW,  not sure it's fair making out Stewart, Boyle and even Kenny (if that was the insinuation) were failures, I'd argue that their chairman who hung them out to dry was the villan.

3 hours ago, DestroyedByMadness said:

The poor boy has absolutely no idea.   Keeps making fantastical guesses and statements,  guaranteed he'll randomly get one right by default but be seen as a genius.

BTW,  not sure it's fair making out Stewart, Boyle and even Kenny (if that was the insinuation) were failures, I'd argue that their chairman who hung them out to dry was the villan.

Oh they defiantly (is that still a thing?) had to work with a hand tied behind their back, no disputing that.  

4 hours ago, DestroyedByMadness said:

Continued pure ignorance or another seriously poor attempt at humour?

Give it up.

It was another seriously poor attempt at humour. If it gets you to make an abusive post I count it as worthwhile. You seem unable to resist the temptation.

On ‎4‎/‎15‎/‎2017 at 16:55, Airdrie♢Diamond said:

What Wilson will say post-match;

Q: Ye must be disappointed wi that display, Mark?

A: Well, first of all it was a disappointing result. I thought we played ok, so it was disappointing not to get the win. It's also disappointing to lose goals from individual errors, but ye cannae coach that so it's no ma fault! It's something we'll need tae look at, cause it's very disappointing. We're working hard in FT training all week, so we're disappointed that we're gettin' pumped all the time. It's also disappointing that the fans don't gie us mair appreciation. Bit disappointed in them to be honest. But I understand the fans disappointment. It must be disappointing to watch Airdrie gettin' plugged every week. 

Q: So, how would ye sum up todays performance, Mark?

A: Disappointing.

Just watched the interview and your predicted speech is nearly right , so good luck with the lottery. He did actually say we were poor as he has seen this season, but at least did not blame the fans this time tho' he did not mention the stalwarts who went to the game with some optimism only to be "disappointed" again.