POLL - Should Junior Clubs be part of the Pyramid Structure?

kefc

POLL - Is it Time Junior Clubs Were Part Of The Pyramid?  

163 members have voted

National Super Junior League?

What gain would there be for a South Ayrshire team to go and play in Aberdeen or Dundee twice in a month.

In a league that 2 or is it three below Edinburgh City.

Good for the local bus company though.

• Replies 198
5 hours ago, Glenconner said:

National Super Junior League?

What gain would there be for a South Ayrshire team to go and play in Aberdeen or Dundee twice in a month...

The furthest they would probably be going is Kelty, who are right next to a motorway and really not that far from the Glasgow area in driving terms.

6 hours ago, Bully Wee Villa said:

Yes. It should be compulsory and any junior Chairman trying to opt out should be forced to watch Scotland vs Canada on a loop until they relent.

A fate worse than death......

Yes but a revamp is needed.

Top 2 national leagues of 16 and then below that regional leagues split into north, east and west (don't see enough teams in the south league to have more than 1 league) 16 tean leagues. Regional leagues can have further regional splits in them if needed.

Bottom 2 in the national league and top 2 in the 3 regional leagues drop into a mini nock out tournament with the final 2 taking part in the national league.

Regional leagues 2 up 2 down.

All teams should be part of the pyramid, but the top needs reorganised. Until it is, and I agree with just two national leagues, then there's little reason for the juniors to be part of it.

Its the way its always been, you're just a trouble maker yadda yadda.

Listen junior football is stuck so far in the dark ages its the sporting equivalent of brexit, only morons think it works.

Imagine that comment coming from a clydebank supporter , and from a club that think there to good for the juniors an have done from the start ?

Why can't there be some compromise between the two, becoming part of a Lowland League East and Lowland League West would give the juniors looking to become full members a route to go down not dissimilar to what they have just now.

If that's not going to happen then can there not be a compromise, I can understand the sfa wanting new members to be part of their league structure, but the EoS and SoS league is not an acceptable level to be putting teams at the level of Kelty or Auchinleck into. 

Can there not be some leeway from the SFA to say that we won't force you into the EoS or SoS but if someone is relegated from the lowland league, and the winner of the SoS and EoS aren't able to be promoted that Kelty, Auchinleck and tbh, Linlithgow are also asked to take up that place. With one of the three then joining the Lowland League. Refusal to join in that instance meaning license is taken away? 

Had Linlithgow, Bo'ness, Bonnyrigg, Kelty all joined the Lowland league when it was formed, those clubs would still have their big games, plus a visit from EK, Spartans etc. Would they be worse off financially in terms of gates? Scottish Cup entry each year, a chance of a two legged playoff with highland league winners, the bottom spfl club, which over the last two years has brought bumper crowds to both matches with all the interest.

1 hour ago, BS7 said:

All teams should be part of the pyramid, but the top needs reorganised. Until it is, and I agree with just two national leagues, then there's little reason for the juniors to be part of it.

Why would the likes of Whitehill Welfare and Preston Athletic be more than happy to be part of it, but a few miles down the road Bonnyrigg or Musselburgh wouldn't be?

They are all football clubs, all from the same area, why on earth do we need to divide along tribal/archaic lines?

Why would the likes of Whitehill Welfare and Preston Athletic be more than happy to be part of it, but a few miles down the road Bonnyrigg or Musselburgh wouldn't be?
They are all football clubs, all from the same area, why on earth do we need to divide along tribal/archaic lines?

For me, the biggest Bonnyrigg games are in the Scottish junior cup. Take that away and it's just not the same. Add in the local derbies v Penicuik, nitten and the big games v Bo'ness lithgae and Kelty, then the lowland league offers an awful lot less.

Whitehall and Preston don't share those rivalries.

Just now, BS7 said:

For me, the biggest Bonnyrigg games are in the Scottish junior cup. Take that away and it's just not the same. Add in the local derbies v Penicuik, nitten and the big games v Bo'ness lithgae and Kelty, then the lowland league offers an awful lot less.

Whitehall and Preston don't share those rivalries.

The point I am making is that they SHOULD be able to have those rivalries as part of the same system, ie a Pyramid.

Whitehill Welfare are no different from Bonnyrigg, they're a fitba team from a former mining community doon the road, they're not some sort of different species.

It's absurd that this artificial divide still exists. Get rid of it and in 5 years time we'd wonder what all the fuss was about.

The point I am making is that they SHOULD be able to have those rivalries as part of the same system, ie a Pyramid.
Whitehill Welfare are no different from Bonnyrigg, they're a fitba team from a former mining community doon the road, they're not some sort of different species.
It's absurd that this artificial divide still exists. Get rid of it and in 5 years time we'd wonder what all the fuss was about.

We're going round in circles - there's precious few teams that want to commit to the national leagues 1 & 2. I'd wager you could address the concerns of 160 odd junior teams if there were only two national leagues in the pyramid, and everything was regionalised below that.

It's not just the juniors that need modernised.

Just now, BS7 said:

We're going round in circles - there's precious few teams that want to commit to the national leagues 1 & 2. I'd wager you could address the concerns of 160 odd junior teams if there were only two national leagues in the pyramid, and everything was regionalised below that.

It's not just the juniors that need modernised.

We're not going round in circles, you have to ask yourself why there are 16 LL clubs happy for that to happen, and most of these clubs are no different from clubs playing in the Junior grade, hence the comparisons.

I agree that the SPFL needs regionalised as well, but that isn't going to happen just because some fowk in the Juniors want it to. What needs to happen before anything else is the artificial divide needs to be removed, and all fitba clubs are playing in the same system. You would think that would be a fairly sane move.

1 hour ago, pipedreamer said:

the EoS and SoS league is not an acceptable level to be putting teams at the level of Kelty or Auchinleck into. 

Firstly, no new members should skip the queue. 

Secondly, the whole point of the pyramid is that the leagues evolve, its not just going to be what is there now and x junior team.  Over the space of 4 seasons it will look pretty different. 

So you think Junior football is going to thrive? Junior football and brexit are a very good comparison these days, only sensible people can see that there is no long term future for either. Junior football needs to modernise, look to grow. It's been covered to death on here and it's the same old 'the way it's always been argument from the same people. Oh and how dare a Clydebank fan have an opinion on anything, especially being able to spot that we are heading for a bit of a cliff edge.

Also it's 'they're too good' not 'there to good'. If you're going to try and be a smart arse on the internet at least be able to type.

Is that al youv'e got a spelling mistake?
Your a tit spelt backwards !
The juniors aren't perfect , for a start they should drop the word juniors for one , some people can't tell the difference between our grade and boy's
Football , that always comes up .
U seem to think your some sort of expert because your club was once senior ?
Get your own park and infastucture in place first if u want to go senior again through a pyramid system if it happens , before blowing smoke up everyone else's arse ok ?

We see some of these south of scotland league cup or highland league cup etc. Would it not be a good starting point to have lowland / highland/ EOS/ SOS teams invited to the Scottish junior cup. Would be interesting to see top junior teams against likes of Spartans or Brora etc. Maybe then this can build some good faith on the senior Scottish cup in getting more juniors in. 

On 26/03/2017 at 17:01, Kilsyth Gers said:

This again??

I think the pertinent question is do the majority of the clubs want a pyramid?

From my own experience the answer is no

Looking at it from the outside, a successful junior club would compete in SFL2 and probably not much higher, which involves trips to Elgin, Annan, Berwick, Forfar etc,do you realistically see crowds improving or declining under that scenario?

Even in the unlikely event of pulling a "big club" in one of the cups, most junior grounds wouldnt be up to scratch and the game would be moved

If a club wants to try there is a pathway at the moment, the fact not many have made the move maybe tells you something

We don't need everyone to want it,  16 junior teams from the west/east would suffice. Enough to create a league status quo can't continue for me.

On 27/03/2017 at 23:13, kilbowie2002 said:

So you think Junior football is going to thrive? Junior football and brexit are a very good comparison these days, only sensible people can see that there is no long term future for either. Junior football needs to modernise, look to grow. It's been covered to death on here and it's the same old 'the way it's always been argument from the same people. Oh and how dare a Clydebank fan have an opinion on anything, especially being able to spot that we are heading for a bit of a cliff edge.

Also it's 'they're too good' not 'there to good'. If you're going to try and be a smart arse on the internet at least be able to type.

What the actual feck you on aboot....brexit and junior footy.  Stay off the Herbal smokes.