The William Hill Scottish Cup Holders v Grangemouth Blast Zone Blowhards

• Replies 1.1k
1 hour ago, Alan Stubbs said:

If McGeouch could stay fit, he'd be nowhere near Hibs. Guys like Boyle must love him, gets the ball into feet in good positions about 10x more a game.

This. Massive difference when he actually gets the ball on the deck and can have a run at someone. Felt a bit sorry for him recently as he's been getting a lot of stick for playing shite but he's basically being asked to make the most of long balls forward and try and use his pace to force a mistake from a defender. Granted his crossing is pish at times but I still reckon he's a handy player to have in the squad. Humphrey is back soon so hopefully try out playing Humphrey and Boyle out wide at some Point ahead of next season/ semi final 

2 minutes ago, Hibeesbounce75 said:

This. Massive difference when he actually gets the ball on the deck and can have a run at someone. Felt a bit sorry for him recently as he's been getting a lot of stick for playing shite but he's basically being asked to make the most of long balls forward and try and use his pace to force a mistake from a defender. Granted his crossing is pish at times but I still reckon he's a handy player to have in the squad. Humphrey is back soon so hopefully try out playing Humphrey and Boyle out wide at some Point ahead of next season/ semi final 

Boyle's finishing and decision making are absolutely embarrassing but aye, he's a very useful player to have at this level. Know what you mean about the stick being a bit harsh, he does get asked a lot of. Especially when it's one of Shinnie's fortnightly anonymous games. Thought both Falkirk full backs had a really hard time yesterday against Boyle and in the second half, Keatings.

Still think if we're to get to where we should be next year, Boyle should be an impact sub at the very most. Things like when he skinned about four players and refused a total sitter/dribbled himself back into trouble sum him up. We might have games where that's one of our only chances in the game, we probably can't afford to accomodate his terrible rate of converting chances in the Premiership.

13 hours ago, Hibeesbounce75 said:

You cling onto that, bud. 

Lets compare the sides in the last three years: 

Hibernian first season here Falkirk beat us in the semis of the cup. Went on to lose the final against ten men. Still seen as some sort of success by Falkirk fans because you won, what was a irrelevant semi final. Finished below us in the league. 

Trophy count : 0-0

Hibernian second season here Falkirk finished above us. Had a lap of honour, had a big group photo as if they'd achieved something. Celebrating the fact hibs were staying down, beat in the league cup final ,had scored a few late goals against us and we were about to lose another cup final a week later whilst Falkirk won promotion. A week later Hibernian win the greatest cup final in Scottish footballing history and a day after that Falkirk are pumped 4-0 by a rancid Killie side and will spend a 7th consecutive year in the second tier of Scottish football.

trophy count: Hibernian 1-0 Falkirk 

this season Falkirk fans claimed they would win the league. It's hibs. They'll bottle it. First meeting of the season Falkirk are well and truly put back in there place and they, for some reason stop posting in hibs threads (a sudden realisation that they are shite?) we meet them at ER. They kick us off the park, get a flukey draw and all of a sudden they are back in the "title race". All over hibs threads. And then it happens. Hibernian who are without three key midfielders apply for an emergency loan to sign kris commons. The heads are gone. HIVS ARE CHEETURZ. Hibs hit a bad run and Falkirk get close to us. Fatty commons lashes a raker of a freekick in the last minute into the roof of the net to seal another win. Onto yesterday, Falkirk need to win to stay with a chance of catching us. Another emergency loan scores against them and there title dreams and promotion hopes die with a 92nd minute winner from James keatings. Hibernian have all but won the league now. Another trophy and another semi final to go. Surely they can't win three trophies in 2 seasons whilst Falkirk spend yet another season, their 8th in total, in the second tier of Scottish football.

trophy count: Hibernian 2-0 Falkirk (with a third not out the question) 

thanks 

for 

playing

diddies

No self respecting Hibs fan considers winning this league a trophy Nidroid, mind you you're not a self respecting anything are you, Nidroid.

Obviously defer to the folk who watch them most but all being equal fitness wise I would put McGeouch levels above McGinn. McGeouch can make a whole team tick. Certainly the player who gives me the most fear out of anyone in this league when playing against us. His football brain deserves a better set of legs.

Aye I completely agree with this.

Obviously the Hibees who see them week in week out will be in a better position to judge but in games against us I've never been that impressed by McGinn but anytime McGeough plays he's an absolute stand out. There was one game in particular at Easter Road last season where he was just different class against us his use of the ball was fantastic. Him going off injured in the second leg of the play off played a big part in us being able to come back to win imo.

A completely different type of midfielder but always been impressed by Marvin Bartley against us.

3 hours ago, RadgerTheBadger said:

:lol::lol::lol::lol::lol:

Imagine getting so wound up by someone on a football forum you then decide to follow them round other threads giving "reddies" on each post!

TGIG aka HB75 has had a complete and utter heads gone 

:thumsup2:thumsup2:thumsup2:thumsup2

You do seem to have got under Gerty's skirt, and his ghirls are that ruffled their feather boas gonna need a right good wash.

15 minutes ago, Trump said:

Just out of interest Hibees, do you think you'll keep the majority of this team if/when you go up? Or would it be a rebuild job with a lot of players leaving?

We need a much better squad next season. From the players that are out of contract I'd only keep three (Bartley, McGregor and Stevenson) while I'd hope we'd hold onto Cummings and McGinn for one more season although that might not be viable if someone comes in with ridiculous money. Boys like Keatings/Holt/Boyle aren't good enough for the step up.

Would have absolutely loved to have been in the away end when that Keatings strike hit the net. The #seethe must have been off the scale.
Well done Hibs. Will celebrate your league & cup double when you end Celtic's unbeaten domestic season in May.

At first yes but then you hold your hands up and say, great strike to win a game. Real football fans appreciate quality!

10 hours ago, Alan Stubbs said:

Boyle's finishing and decision making are absolutely embarrassing but aye, he's a very useful player to have at this level. Know what you mean about the stick being a bit harsh, he does get asked a lot of. Especially when it's one of Shinnie's fortnightly anonymous games. Thought both Falkirk full backs had a really hard time yesterday against Boyle and in the second half, Keatings.

Still think if we're to get to where we should be next year, Boyle should be an impact sub at the very most. Things like when he skinned about four players and refused a total sitter/dribbled himself back into trouble sum him up. We might have games where that's one of our only chances in the game, we probably can't afford to accomodate his terrible rate of converting chances in the Premiership.

Aye I'd keep him as a squad player. Certainly a better option to have than Harris.

1 hour ago, RichieBairn said:

At first yes but then you hold your hands up and say, great strike to win a game. Real football fans appreciate quality!

Our wee prince El Bak scored an overhead kick at Ayr late last season in front of the home fans in the second half and the clip of the goal perfectly showed those emotions. It was like a perfect three-way split between those who just looked a bit glum, those giving him w****r signs and those applauding.