Tea or Dinner?

Romeo

Is your evening meal your "tea" or your "dinner"?  

41 members have voted

• Replies 86
19 minutes ago, heedthebaa said:

Breakfast 

Dinner

Tea

supper

lunch my arse

That's my boi :lol:

4 minutes ago, Tony Ferrino said:

......And dinner ladies at my kids' school are called mid day assistants. 

Of course, I'm forgetting the evolution of language.

Days of yore - dinner money, dinner ladies and dinner at midday.

Nowadays - lunch money, mid day assistants and lunch at midday.

I ken whit ain I prefer.

2 hours ago, Shandon Par said:

Sorry if I've missed any, but the exhaustive list..

Breakfast

Brunch

Lunch

Cocktails

Afternoon tea

Cocktails

High tea

Prinks

Cocktails

Dinner

Liquers

Supper

Nightcap

Brandy and cigars?

Dinny talk pish
Anyway
Breakfast - with Tea
Lunch - with Tea
Dinner - with Tea
Supper - with Tea
note - Tea may also be taken at Tea breaks between meals

Having tea with your dinner is the mark of a serial killer. They'll catch you sooner or later.

Lunch is only between 12 and 2 pm.

Dinner can be the same as lunch, but only if you're at school or work or it is Christmas. Otherwise it's between 6 and 7pm.

Tea can be the same as the 6-7 definition of dinner, or can just be an afternoon snack of tea and biscuits. If it's the latter, it should properly be called "afternoon tea".

I think there is something called "high tea" too, but I've never had it. I think it's something women have.

High tea is served between about 4pm and 6:30pm - main course with bread or toast, scones / pancakes, and cakes / tray bakes (funcy pieces) and tea.

Middle of the day can be lunch or dinner - lunch would be something light while dinner would be more filling. Evening meal is tea if early evening or dinner if later on. Going out for dinner would imply eating later. Supper is a snack late in the evening unless referring to something with chips from a chip shop.

Roll is a perfectly appropriate term for a buttery aka Aberdeen roll aka rowie. Lovely on its own or with one of butter / raspberry jam / golden syrup. However, roll could also refer to morning roll / dinner roll / crusty roll / Glasgow roll / bap / softie etc.