• Turkmenistan
  •  
  • U
  • Uganda
  • V

• Replies 142

Just including the ones I've actually visited properly rather than just passing through, this is my list.  I was hoping to get to 30 before I was 30, but I'll have a busy couple of years ahead of me if I've to manage that.

Austria
Australia
Belgium
Canada
China
Czech Republic
Denmark
France
Germany
Hungary
Iceland
Ireland
Luxembourg
New Zealand
Norway
Poland
Portugal
Spain
Sweden
Vanuatu
UK
USA

If you include transiting through countries, you can add Netherlands, Singapore, Slovakia and UAE.

Not counting autonomous regions separately or transfers  (because why would you?), 24.

Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czechia, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Tunisia, UK, USA, Vatican City

Andorra

Austria

Belgium

Bulgaria

Canada (lived there)

Czech Republic

Denmark

Egypt

Finland

France

Georgia

Germany

Greece

Hungary

Ireland

Italy

Israel

Latvia

Liechtenstein

Lithuania

Malta

Mexico

Monaco

Morocco 

Netherlands (lived there)

Norway

Poland

Portugal

Slovakia

Spain (Lived there)

Sweden (Lived there)

Switzerland

Turkey

United Kingdom (Live there)

United States

Vatican

Yugoslavia (travelled through most of the current states but before it fell apart so not positive about which ones. Different times.)

P.S. Sorry about the spacing, copied a list and editing it went a bit haywire.

My kids went on a 24 hour cruise from Stockholm to Helsinki for their granny's 70th birthday a few years back.  They didn't leave the boat (as breakfast was being served) so I say they can't count Finland as one of the countries they've visited.  Harsh but fair?

My own list: 5 British Isles countries plus Isle of Man, France, Spain, Portugal, Italy, Switzerland, Germany, Austria, Lichtenstein, Italy, Monaco, Netherlands, Belgium, the 3 Scandi countries, Romania, CZ Republic, Bahrain, Saudi, Dubai, Qatar, Abu Dhabi, Oman, USA, Mexico, Canada, Nigeria and Ghana.

26 minutes ago, The_Kincardine said:

My kids went on a 24 hour cruise from Stockholm to Helsinki for their granny's 70th birthday a few years back.  They didn't leave the boat (as breakfast was being served) so I say they can't count Finland as one of the countries they've visited.  Harsh but fair?

My own list: 5 British Isles countries plus Isle of Man, France, Spain, Portugal, Italy, Switzerland, Germany, Austria, Lichtenstein, Italy, Monaco, Netherlands, Belgium, the 3 Scandi countries, Romania, CZ Republic, Bahrain, Saudi, Dubai, Qatar, Abu Dhabi, Oman, USA, Mexico, Canada, Nigeria and Ghana.

I'd say if they spat over the side of the ship in port it counts. I assume from your list that you've been looting oil for the Empire?

5 minutes ago, welshbairn said:

I'd say if they spat over the side of the ship in port it counts. I assume from your list that you've been looting oil for the Empire?

I said they were lazy b*****ds and should have walked down the gangplank.

And yes, I sold software to oil companies and Bahrain, Saudi, Dubai, Abu Dhabi, Oman, Nigeria and Ghana were all work trips, mostly multiple times.  I'd like to revisit Ghana and Nigeria as a tourist as the oil companies I was hosted by (Shell, Total, Tullow) were paranoid about security and visitors were  mandated to stay within the hotel compound or, if business required, to be escorted by armed guards.

I said they were lazy b*****ds and should have walked down the gangplank.

And yes, I sold software to oil companies and Bahrain, Saudi, Dubai, Abu Dhabi, Oman, Nigeria and Ghana were all work trips, mostly multiple times.  I'd like to revisit Ghana and Nigeria as a tourist as the oil companies I was hosted by (Shell, Total, Tullow) were paranoid about security and visitors were  mandated to stay within the hotel compound or, if business required, to be escorted by armed guards.

Were you visiting Ghana and Nigeria for long spells? I get really itchy feet being cooped up in hotels and prefer to get out. No matter how large a complex, I still like to explore.

23 minutes ago, Bobby Skidmarks said:

Were you visiting Ghana and Nigeria for long spells? I get really itchy feet being cooped up in hotels and prefer to get out. No matter how large a complex, I still like to explore.

The longest (and worst) was 2 weeks in Nigeria to Lagos-Port Harcourt-Lagos with Total and that was like a fortnight in chokey.  Even on the days I met with local suppliers I had to go in convoy with armed police - which was way OTT.

Accra with Tullow was more relaxed both times I went and, in the evenings, we had a little freedom to go to local bars etc.  But always accompanied by 'security', though.

Edit:  I'd happily have gone for a wander...but you have to respect the hosts' rules.

My Dad spent 2 or 3 months in Nigeria working for BP in the 60's. His digs were with a local family, came back with a load of "High Life" 45's which were the thing at the time on the local radio stations, excellent tbf. Had a great time. Shame so many countries have gone down the pan since then, at least for Europeans visiting or working. Afghanistan used to be a much loved sojourn on the hippy trail.

1 hour ago, The_Kincardine said:

The longest (and worst) was 2 weeks in Nigeria to Lagos-Port Harcourt-Lagos with Total and that was like a fortnight in chokey.  Even on the days I met with local suppliers I had to go in convoy with armed police - which was way OTT.

Accra with Tullow was more relaxed both times I went and, in the evenings, we had a little freedom to go to local bars etc.  But always accompanied by 'security', though.

Edit:  I'd happily have gone for a wander...but you have to respect the hosts' rules.

Once you have been shot at a couple of times and had one your guys kidnapped for a ransom makes you want to forget about going for a wander in Port Harcourt,Lagos is fine though :lol:

Just now, doulikefish said:

Once you have been shot at a couple of times and had one your guys kidnapped for a ransom makes you want to forget about going for a wander in Port Harcourt,Lagos is fine though :lol:

Aye!  Have we discussed Port Harcourt before?  I'd certainly not revisit on my own tab.  I would, though. happily go back to Lagos...I wouldn't drive there, though.  The first time a got back to Heathrow and walked from Paddington to Marylebone I was astounded at how quiet London was.  Even the Edgware Road was the apotheosis of calm.

Ranked from best to worst...

1. Scotland
  2. Italy (2016)
  3. Canada (2016)
  4. Cuba (2015)
  5. USA (2005, 2016)
  6. Spain (5+ times, most recent 2020)
  7. France (5+ times, most recent 2019)
  8. Netherlands (2014)
  9. Czech Republic (2016)
  10. Germany (2017)
  11. Egypt (2012)
  12. England (5+ times, most recent 2018)
  13. Wales (2016)
  14. Portugal (1999, 2015)
  15. Cyprus (2017)
  16. Mexico (2013)
  17. Turkey (2003)

Scotland, England, Ireland, France, Spain, Holland, Belgium, Switzerland, Italy, Germany, Austria, Slovakia, Slovenia, Czech Republic, Bosnia, Montenegro, Serbia, Croatia, Turkey, Bulgaria, Romania, Ukraine, Hungary (lived there x 2), Albania, Poland, Estonia, Russia (lived there), Sweden, Vatican City, Denmark, Canada (lived there x 2), USA, Mexico, Brazil, Venezuela, UAE, Egypt, Kenya, Cyprus, Bahamas, Cuba, China (lived there), Taiwan, Vietnam (lived there), Hong Kong, Macau, Thailand, Laos, Philippines (lived there x 2), Indonesia (lived there), Singapore (currently live), Malaysia, Japan,

Scotland, NI, RoI, Wales, England, Norway, France, Germany, Croatia, Italy, Russia (including Chuvashia, Mari El and Tatarstan in terms of the autonomous republics), Turkey, South Korea, Japan, PR China, Hong Kong, Singapore, United States, Canada, Bahamas, South Africa, Senegal, Ghana, UAE

I've about 45 operating the rule of "if they have a national fitba team then that counts as a country". This enables me to put the four main UK component nations on the list and also Gibraltar, even though it didnae have its own fitba team when I went there. I'm basically a cheating dick.

I'd say to count as visiting a country you should get feet on the ground outside an airport and ideally conduct some kind of transaction such as purchasing a beer, or a coffee, or a sex act from a hooker.

UK, USA, Ireland, France, Belgium, Portugal, Denmark, Spain, Netherlands, Germany, Poland, Slovakia, Hungary, Czech Republic, UAE, Qatar, Turkey, Vietnam, Laos, Cambodia, Thailand, HK, Japan, Indonesia, Philippines, Malaysia, Australia, Sri Lanka, Greece, Austria, Monaco, Singapore

Once the kids are a bit older then South America and Africa are some big trips ahead.