Romeo

2 hours ago, German Jag said:

Outwith football I‘ve only been a couple of times and these were a fair while ago. Try this site for some ideas. 

https://www.visitberlin.de/en/7-insider-tips-berlin-children

1 hour ago, Stellaboz said:

Sorry mate I'm the wrong person to ask. I doubt they'll appreciate the historic sites at their age and I honestly don't know where would be family friendly. 

Most big cities have zoos if that helps? I reckon Berlin and Hamburg would be the best two places for you but I'd be guessing completely. 

Cheers lads, was worth a try. I'll maybe just book flights back and forth if I can't figure something out. 

On 25/10/2023 at 10:42, thistledo said:

Asked this elsewhere on the Euro 2024 travel thread but might be more appropriate here. 

Quite a high chance of staying in Berlin for the Euros for two weeks, was going to see if the missus and kids (will be 4yr and 1yr old) wanted to come out for one of the weeks. I guess I want to know is this a stupid idea? Is there enough to do for kids (I see there is a zoo and aquarium, also picked Prenzlauer Berg area) too young to understand the historical stuff? Is there a glaringly obvious other choice for families in Germany I should look at instead? 

@German Jag @Stellaboz sorry thought I'd tag some German based forum users as I didn't think the chances of this being read was very high! 

This is just a stream of concsiousness off the top of my head so might make little sense but there's a load of beaches on some of the lakes in and around Berlin (such as at Muggelsee) or outdoor pools like Sommerbad Neukoln or Kreuzberg which have child friendly areas, pools and some slides. On a similar theme but bigger Tropical Island which is an indoor waterpark in an old aeroplane hangar outside Berlin is a short train ride away, you can go for the day or book a room and go for 2 days https://www.tropical-islands.de/en

Tiergarten is absolutely massive and has a load of playgrounds and I'm sure it will be the same for the parks near where you're staying plus there's a Nature park in an old converted railway yard with some old trains and the tracks all left there (https://www.visitberlin.de/en/natur-park-schoneberger-sudgelande). They might also enjoy one of the boat cruises down the Spree, most of them provide shade or umbrellas if it's blazing sunshine too.

The fanzone when I was there for the 2018 World Cup had a ferris wheel, a few other rides, your standard funfair type food and some horrendous German europop on the big stage, it's also free so easy to come and go as you please. Imagine there might be more to it this year with them hosting.

DDR Museum is free for kids under 6 and has a ton of interactive stuff about what it was like for kids in East Berlin so could be worth a try and you've only paid for your own tickets if the 4 year old hates it. There's a Legoland centre in Berlin but no idea if it's any good and there's also a Natural History museum. There's also an interactive kids museum but it says from ages 3 and up, might be alright for the eldest https://www.visitberlin.de/en/labyrinth-childrens-museum-berlin

There's a load of other places easily accessible on the trains. Big cities like Hamburg, Dresden and Leipzig within a couple of hours, regional trains of an hour to nature reserves like Spreewald or if you really wanted within a couple of hours of the baltic sea and the seaside resorts or even some of the Polish cities just over the border.

As German Jag mentioned Visit Berlin is a decent guide and also breaks it down to different age ranges which might helpt https://www.visitberlin.de/en/attractions-children

If you're wanting to go for the Euros with young children I don't think you're going to get much better than Berlin unless you find some kind of resort somewhere for families which I'm afraid I'm not much help with. Hope some of that helps.

Edited by Pie Of The Month

On 28/10/2023 at 19:19, Pie Of The Month said:

This is just a stream of concsiousness off the top of my head so might make little sense but there's a load of beaches on some of the lakes in and around Berlin (such as at Muggelsee) or outdoor pools like Sommerbad Neukoln or Kreuzberg which have child friendly areas, pools and some slides. On a similar theme but bigger Tropical Island which is an indoor waterpark in an old aeroplane hangar outside Berlin is a short train ride away, you can go for the day or book a room and go for 2 days https://www.tropical-islands.de/en

Tiergarten is absolutely massive and has a load of playgrounds and I'm sure it will be the same for the parks near where you're staying plus there's a Nature park in an old converted railway yard with some old trains and the tracks all left there (https://www.visitberlin.de/en/natur-park-schoneberger-sudgelande). They might also enjoy one of the boat cruises down the Spree, most of them provide shade or umbrellas if it's blazing sunshine too.

The fanzone when I was there for the 2018 World Cup had a ferris wheel, a few other rides, your standard funfair type food and some horrendous German europop on the big stage, it's also free so easy to come and go as you please. Imagine there might be more to it this year with them hosting.

DDR Museum is free for kids under 6 and has a ton of interactive stuff about what it was like for kids in East Berlin so could be worth a try and you've only paid for your own tickets if the 4 year old hates it. There's a Legoland centre in Berlin but no idea if it's any good and there's also a Natural History museum. There's also an interactive kids museum but it says from ages 3 and up, might be alright for the eldest https://www.visitberlin.de/en/labyrinth-childrens-museum-berlin

There's a load of other places easily accessible on the trains. Big cities like Hamburg, Dresden and Leipzig within a couple of hours, regional trains of an hour to nature reserves like Spreewald or if you really wanted within a couple of hours of the baltic sea and the seaside resorts or even some of the Polish cities just over the border.

As German Jag mentioned Visit Berlin is a decent guide and also breaks it down to different age ranges which might helpt https://www.visitberlin.de/en/attractions-children

If you're wanting to go for the Euros with young children I don't think you're going to get much better than Berlin unless you find some kind of resort somewhere for families which I'm afraid I'm not much help with. Hope some of that helps.

You sir are a gent, thank you for that. Probably settles it if we end up staying in Berlin, that's more than enough stuff to do in a week I think. I genuinely think the older one would love doing most of this stuff. I don't massively fancy the idea of a resort type thing, most of them look quite average and it's not a real experience of the country, could just as well be anywhere. 

• 3 months later...

I'm in Berlin for the next few days. At the Beirut concert one night and Hertha another night. 

I've been before a couple times and done main sights, anything anyone would recommend that's not the usual touristy things to do in the day (I'm not drinking at the moment so no pubs unfortunately). 

Also, best kebab and currywurst recommendations please. 

Depends what you mean by "not usual touristy". If you've never done it, then I'd suggest getting on the S-Bahn and going down to Potsdam to have a look around Parc Sansoucci, but then that is sight-seeing and definitely "touristy". Park itself is usually fairly quiet during the day though, with only the coach tour drop-off point and gift shop area being mobbed. It's an open park, so there's nothing to stop someone just appearing off their own back and having a leisurely stroll around.

Can't suggest Kebab/currywurst as everything I've had has always been much the same, but if you like Indian food this place has always been really good for me -

https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g187323-d1028367-Reviews-Aapka-Berlin.html

2 hours ago, Stellaboz said:

Markthalle Neun in Kreuzberg is worth a wander around. 

Or just a wee stroll around TempelhofFeld. 

I'm staying nearby TempelhofFeld by the Boddinstrasse tube stop, for the Euros. Booked it before the draw, obviously!

• 4 weeks later...

I landed in Berlin this evening. Check in and security staff were on strike but thankfully incoming flights were unaffected. From joining the passport queue to being allowed in only took 3 minutes. 

Currently enjoying a Burgermeister then heading for a couple of beers around Mitte. Idles gig tomorrow night with some sightseeing during the day and potentially a lower league football match. 

I love this city. 

Kilkenny’s Irish Boozer the best bet for watching the Dundee game tonight? Expecting it to be difficult with there being Champions League on. 

Edit - Aye, no chance. Couldn’t even get a place to stand in there. Will make do with watching Bayern v Arsenal in Denkmal. 

Edited by PSJ.84