Missing Person Appeals

ICTChris

A missing persons appeal in London has had a strange conclusion, with the person reported missing taking to Facebook to post that hey aren't missing at all.

http://news.sky.com/story/missing-student-isabel-gayther-found-after-facebook-post-10710814

There's rarely a day that goes by without reports of missing people on social media and I've often wondered about them. People are reported missing when they've been gone a few hours - sometimes people are reported missing if they aren't in contact for a morning. Has the ease of communication and the 'check-in' culture of knowing where people are all the time fuelled an unhealthy anxiety where people immediately feel there's something wrong if hey aren't contacted regularly? When I was a student I didn't have a mobile phone and would phone my parents once a week or so, would that be considered acceptable now? Does this inhibit people and reduce their privacy, their space to live a free life? The concerns of others can be suffocating.

On the other hand a friend of mine reported a close relative missing his week and there were genuine concerns for their welfare. They have since returned safely but in that case it seems that the concern was well founded.

Any P&Bers ever been reported missing?

Any P&Bers ever reported anyone missing?

Any P&Bers missing right now, Reggie Perrin style?

• Replies 47
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Everytime I see one of these appeals on twitter or facebook, the first thing that pops into my head is the poster on here (i forget who) that replied to one that was for a missing 16 year old lassie that she was "away getting pumped" after much general outrage, she appeared safe and well and walking like John Wayne.