Rangers v Celtic. 31st Dec

Commentators seemed to rave about McKay, but he offered nothing within 30 yards of the goal. Always opts for the easy option of running across the park skipping challenges rather than actually being direct and trying to penetrate (oo err) the opposition. He should look at someone like Sinclair who drives forward at the opposition every time he gets it.

In fairness what McKay doesn't have is a decent central striker who he can play it off and get it back. If he had a Dembele type in his team he would be a lot better.

• Replies 814
Is defence taviners usual position, he has been brutal.
Sevco's best players have been kenny miller and barrie mckay the rest are journeymen.

What?

Kenny Miller is the very definition of a journeyman, and I'm a fan of Miller too.

Commentators seemed to rave about McKay, but he offered nothing within 30 yards of the goal. Always opts for the easy option of running across the park skipping challenges rather than actually being direct and trying to penetrate (oo err) the opposition. He should look at someone like Sinclair who drives forward at the opposition every time he gets it.
In fairness what McKay doesn't have is a decent central striker who he can play it off and get it back. If he had a Dembele type in his team he would be a lot better.

Disagree but agree as I think you've answered your own criticisms of McKay.

He does what he's meant to as a wide player, running at defenders and taking them on. Unfortunately Kenny Miller is the only other Rangers player ahead of him with half a clue, but isn't the type of striker to hold up the ball for McKay to feed off.

I thought he was rangers best attacking option to be fair but I understand what you're getting at. I always thought he was hesitant to get one on one with a defender and go down the line and put crosses into the box. I'd like to see him as a number 10 as I think rangers would get more out of him.

1 minute ago, Mark Connolly said:

Has it not coincided with him finishing his Law degree, and having a manager who will play him in his favoured position?

The position him playing is the main factor. I remember watching him for United and he was very direct and fearless when he got the ball - always wanted to run with it. However, in his first months at Celtic playing out wide he would always take the easy option. 

Now, I think though his position allows him to progress as a player, he is playing with an authority - he now knows what he is capable of and he's only going to improve. The guy seems to be enjoying his time at the club more and more each day but it wouldn't surprise me if he went to a top half team in Germany or Spain.  

The position him playing is the main factor. I remember watching him for United and he was very direct and fearless when he got the ball - always wanted to run with it. However, in his first months at Celtic playing out wide he would always take the easy option. 

Now, I think though his position allows him to progress as a player, he is playing with an authority - he now knows what he is capable of and he's only going to improve. The guy seems to be enjoying his time at the club more and more each day but it wouldn't surprise me if he went to a top half team in Germany or Spain.  

Very much doubt a move to the top half of Germany or Spain will happen. At best it'll be the lower end of the EPL or more likely the English Championship. You have to remember he was up against Halliday & co who are rank rotten, but Brendan's definitely found his best position IMO and he stuck out like a sore thumb today.

First time I've seen either of them this season. Decent game to watch but Celtic a million miles ahead of Rangers.

As an observation, do Tavernier, Waghorn and Keirnan have something on Warburton? They are, Tavernier in particular, hilariously terrible footballers. There's not many fullbacks you could call a poor man's Mo Ross!

If those two play at the back every week its no wonder they lose goals.

Decent match - was really fearing Sevco taking three points for a while there, but Celtic were streets ahead once they got going - albeit so profligate in front of goal that a zombie equaliser seemed a likely outcome.

Hate all that time wasting pish at the corner with over 5mins remaining - should be licence to commit red card tackles against that with no punishment.

Tavernier, Wilson and Fagporn remain huge liabilities for Sevco and I'll be disappointed if we finish behind them - albeit we'll see what both clubs do in the January window.

One of the best games I've been at in years. We were really poor to start with and I feared the worst when Miller scored but we controlled the game for most parts. Wee Barrie McKay was outstanding for Rangers.

Your intensity in the second half was exceptional..... what an impact sub with Roberts, may have been a hiding if he started. Young Armstrong was different class and stuck out like a sore thumb. Still state and I will always state that Brown is shite lol. I must admit a few of your boys could of caught the eye today and may be offered a move in Jan.

STUART ARMSTRONG: Probably Celtic 's best player this season but was less influential than normal, albeit he still had three attempts on goal. 6

ANDY HALLIDAY: A fans' favourite, the midfielder battled hard, making some timely tackles and interventions. 7

The Daily Record in a nutshell :lol::lol::1eye

Your intensity in the second half was exceptional..... what an impact sub with Roberts, may have been a hiding if he started. Young Armstrong was different class and stuck out like a sore thumb. Still state and I will always state that Brown is shite lol. I must admit a few of your boys could of caught the eye today and may be offered a move in Jan.

Aye Armstrong was fantastic. Brown is guff technically but he's been decent under Rodgers. His "fucking get into him" attitude is perfect for games like today though. Kev Thomson was a superior player in my book but injury done him in.

It's like you're in my head [emoji23][emoji23] spot on. Always thought rangers got the better player when Thomson signed but he was made of class and never lived up to his potential. Yeah Brown is just a shit version of Lennon IMO he's a perfect player for battles but never been a player who will dictate a game. Difference is ability nothing more than quality of players.... each and every player on celtics a bench would start in that rangers team.

Aye Thomson was a really classy player, it's a shame that injuries for the better of him. Brown was a totally different player at Hibs. I sometimes wonder what Brown would have been like had he went down south.

The gulf is pretty big. Halliday, Holt, Wilson etc are alright if you're Aberdeen or Hearts. I can't think of one Rangers player that would even make the bench at Celtic. I've always thought Rossiter could become a real player but he's been hampered by injury since arriving.