Colt teams - again

• Replies 52
1 minute ago, Booker-T said:

clubs with B teams have dominated European football since 1999/2000 despite the amount of money that has been in the English and Italian leagues over that time.

Yes, Real Madrid, Barcelona & Bayern Munich winning 9 of the last 16 Champions Leagues between them is obviously due to having B teams rather than being the three biggest clubs in the world.

The Real starting XI from last seasons champions league final,

Navas - 10 million

Caravajal - started at Real B but then they sold him to Leverkusen and had to buy him back for 6.5 million

Ramos - Started at Sevilla B, Real signed him for 27 million

Pepe - started at Maritimo B, Real signed him for 30 million

Marcelo - 8.5 million

Casemiro - 18 million and loaned to Real B for half a season.

Modric - 33 million

Kroos -  a staggering 12 games for Bayern B, which clearly made him the man he is before Real signed him for 25 million

Bale - 95 million

Benzema - again half a season in the B team in france before moving to first team and being flogged for 35 million

Ronaldo - 2 appearances for Sporting B etc etc, real paid 94 million for him

So not one of them has come through the Real B team system, Caravajal doesnt count as they sold him and then bought him back.

Whilst around half of them played for B teams it wasnt for long and lets face it these guys were talented and above that level, it would be far more interesting to see where the guys Casemiro played alongside at Real B are now and whether their own young players have gone on to improve the national side or if they found their way blocked by high paid big money signings and had to move to the Spanish version of Raith or Stenhousemuir after being shown the door at 22 having sat on the subs bench a couple of times fotr the first team.Based on that totally random sample it looks more like it should be the Falkirks and Kilmarnocks who get to put Colt teams in the league structure thus enabling them to develop players and sell them on.

32 minutes ago, Booker-T said:

Probably gonna get a red dot fest for this.....

IMHO one of the biggest things holding players developed in Scotland back is players are not getting first team football aged 17-19 while at the same time receiving the highest standard of coaching. 

clubs with B teams have dominated European football since 1999/2000 despite the amount of money that has been in the English and Italian leagues over that time.

Obviously there is the fear that the biggest clubs will hoard players.... Celtic are doing that already. This can easily be combated by limiting clubs to 20 professional players aged over 21 and limiting the number of transferred players allowed to appear in your under 20 team.

Edit to add..... it's premiership u20 teams playing league football i want, not old firm b teams.

Thing is, these players playing in L2 will not make them international-class. They'd be playing against better opposition than in U20 matches, but that's it. Also, at clubs that aren't Rangers and Celtic, young players that are good enough get in the 1st team, though some get sold on quickly (A Robertson / the Falkirk lads that went south, R Fraser etc). Those that aren't good enough for the 1st team get loaned out and released. Ultimately if a youngster goes to Celtic or Rangers he should know he's kissing goodbye to a likely prospect of 1st team football before 21, unless he is an exceptional talent (i.e. Tierney). Playing Clyde or Edinburgh City won't bring the others on to the required level.

Teams with the letters "B" or "M" in their name have dominated European football since 1999/2000, so every Scottish club should rename themselves.  Looking forward to watching Cebtic against Ramgers in the 2021/22 Europa League final.

The Colt team thing just looks like an excuse not to do anything about youth football in this country, get the U20's leagues sorted out. After the out of their depth performances in the Challenge Cup from all the Premiership's U20's teams I can't see any benefit so far introducing colt teams into the mix. Most would end up playing below current 4th tier level.

Having 'colt' teams will not improve the standard of Scottish players.

It would be good if clubs had a limit of how many international born players they could have in their squad and therefore have no option but to play Scottish born players.

Thing is, these players playing in L2 will not make them international-class. They'd be playing against better opposition than in U20 matches, but that's it. Also, at clubs that aren't Rangers and Celtic, young players that are good enough get in the 1st team, though some get sold on quickly (A Robertson / the Falkirk lads that went south, R Fraser etc). Those that aren't good enough for the 1st team get loaned out and released. Ultimately if a youngster goes to Celtic or Rangers he should know he's kissing goodbye to a likely prospect of 1st team football before 21, unless he is an exceptional talent (i.e. Tierney). Playing Clyde or Edinburgh City won't bring the others on to the required level.

I have to agree with this - signing for the old firm as a youngster is like pitching yourself headfirst down a footballing blackhole

25 minutes ago, CityDave said:

The Colt team thing just looks like an excuse not to do anything about youth football in this country, get the U20's leagues sorted out. After the out of their depth performances in the Challenge Cup from all the Premiership's U20's teams I can't see any benefit so far introducing colt teams into the mix. Most would end up playing below current 4th tier level.

7/12 got past the first round which was the best 5th tier teams and almost all of the 4th tier

sure only one team got past the 2nd round which was where the 3rd tier was introduced.... but you are judging these teams on the basis of their first or second competitive match ever....

Probably gonna get a red dot fest for this.....
IMHO one of the biggest things holding players developed in Scotland back is players are not getting first team football aged 17-19 while at the same time receiving the highest standard of coaching. 
Obviously there is the fear that the biggest clubs will hoard players.... Celtic are doing that already. This can easily be combated by limiting clubs to 20 professional players aged over 21 and limiting the number of transferred players allowed to appear in your under 20 team.
Edit to add..... it's premiership u20 teams playing league football i want, not old firm b teams.

No. If they want the kids to play then then have to play them in their first team or loan them out. End of discussion.

18 minutes ago, Booker-T said:

7/12 got past the first round which was the best 5th tier teams and almost all of the 4th tier

sure only one team got past the 2nd round which was where the 3rd tier was introduced.... but you are judging these teams on the basis of their first or second competitive match ever....

Which counts for nothing as (1) these U20s weren't assembled for the competition and (2) of the games won, one of those was against the L2 side's own U20s - i.e. Clyde v Partick while Stirling put out a weakened team v Hearts. Aberdeen, Rangers and Accies beat 5th tier sides and Motherwell beat newly promoted Edinburgh City who failed to win a single game in any competition until November.

In R1, the only one which was actually a bona fide win for an U20 vs an established and 'up to standard' L2 side was Celtic, U20 champs, v Annan.

12 minutes ago, Booker-T said:

Well yes, but that is you choosing to ignore the fact that most L2 teams played under-strength sides - including Clyde who held a first team training session whilst their U17s played Partick Thistle. Rangers got past a Uni team IIRC and then got firmly bodied by Stenhousemuir, whilst Celtic (the best U20s side in the country) scraped past a woeful, 10 man Cowdenbeath side before getting comfortably torn to shreds by Livingston.

Do you think, instead of first team action with Celtic, Kieran Tierney would be a better player if he spent last season playing against Clyde, Elgin and East Stirlingshire? Of course you don't.

The 'B Teams will make us better in Europe' argument is hilariously ill informed too. The best clubs in Europe are the clubs with the most money. If a Sheikh took over Celtic, invested £200m in the playing squad and signed genuine world class players then they would go further in Europe, wouldn't they? 

Or would they still tamely dribble out in the group stages because they don't have a B team?

*Copied from the other thread*

Get this idea, Malky Mackay, Stewart Regan, the whole SFA, the Old Firm and their sympathisers so far tae that we never ever speak of it again.

The racist, sexist, anti-Semitic homophobe asked to be judged on what he does in the job, not on his past. That's you judged already Malky. Nothing new, just more of the same pandering to the Old Firm that fits in so well with the SFA's party line.

B Teams would be the death of senior football in this country. It'll help the Old Firm get richer. It'll help the Old Firm keep young guys in their squads, without getting a sniff of top team action. It'll create an uneven playing field where club's with multi-million pound budgets, stunning facilities and no fans are competing against proper football clubs with a fraction of the budget. And it will kill any prestige linked with winning a lower league title.

If ANY senior club votes in favour of this, and I suspect Morton will, then they need to be hounded by their own fans. It's the only way they might (and I mean might) listen.

17 minutes ago, She who dares gins said:

I love the fact Morton are already chatting to Celtic about this. That'll be their vote in the bag then.....

TBF it's a Daily Record "exclusive". They probably saw someone wearing a green tie within a mile of Cappielow. 

2 hours ago, She who dares gins said:

Back to this utter clusterfuck of an again according to the Sunday Mail - only the Old Firm naturally.

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/sfa-plan-introduce-rangers-celtic-9474428

Celtic, Rangers and Aberdeen had "Colt" teams when they won major European silverware.

In fact I think we should deny the current League 1 and 2 teams promotion this year and paraschute the OF Colts straight in to the championship?

We also need to amend the rulebook so that tackles on these young superstars be banned.

So I totally agree we should be doing this.

The whole article is a rambling nonsense.

Malky "Bernard" McManning trots out the biggest pile of pish that is constantly repeated.

All this nonsense about school football, street football, poor families with no dads, coach ed at acadamies...   zzzzzzz

Here's how it works in reality and this is through lived experience.

Kids play football because it's great.  They dont play as much in the streets as either there's less space or there's more cars or it's downright far more dangerous. 

Playing fitba in the streets didnt make generations better footballers.  But the largs geniuses did make it worse in this country because they knew best.

There are thousands of kids playing organised football up and down the country every day and especially weekends.

At 6 years old there are geeedy predators aka scouts inviting kids to join their academies even though they cant sign till they are 10.    The clubs train these kids 4-6 hours per week and many are playing them in games against other academies or against older boys clubs in an attempt to keep them from other academies.  The kids are removed from their friends teams as they are sold a dream.   Every week at every football park there are scouts preying on any available talent.  There are primary school festivals almost weekly.  Again, the pro scouts are there.

The best players, and there are hundreds and thousands of them, are ripped away from the clubs and coaches who have provided that gateway to them to where they are.

The problem is what happens to them when they get to the Academies.    What are they doing there?   Trust me,  there are enough talented kids going in to the academies and what is happening from there.  We dont see a lot of evidence they work or have ever worked.

If schools, and their untrained, overworked and unmotivated teachers are the answer then what is the point of the academies?   

You hear from older players who say bring back proper reserves football as thats where they learned to sink or swim playing beside experienced pros.  So what is the point of colts teams and leagues?