WW v Spartans ... Get your photo taken with the cup

Rab B Nesbit

The South Region Challenge Cup ... aka the Big One ... is of course back in the bulging Ferguson Park trophy room.

On Saturday for the visit of Spartans there will be an opportunity to get your photo taken with the cup.

Offer also open to Spartans fans - a rare opportunity to see some silverware. 

image.jpeg

ok, so we let you win a wee trophy last season to stop Sir P mumping his gums during the summer but you call that a cup-

dougie and ouzy.jpg

THAT'S a cup- and it's other teams that have to display it at Fergie Park to let you Rosewellians see what you're missing! 

Bonsai!

9 hours ago, tamthebam said:

ok, so we let you win a wee trophy last season to stop Sir P mumping his gums during the summer but you call that a cup-

dougie and ouzy.jpg

THAT'S a cup- and it's other teams that have to display it at Fergie Park to let you Rosewellians see what you're missing! 

18 hours ago, Nimmo's Notes said:

Nice wee buffet there as well, chocolate Swiss roll, a wee gypsy cream.....mmmmmm.

Don't you believe it NN, they are as plastic as their fans. 

Looking forward to the top LL thriller tomorrow, despite what the Golden One is claiming in his blog. Don't believe the hype, the match to be at is at Rosewell.

We are smarting to f**k after last week, also I've heard we've got a "new" top striker raring to go that will strike fear & the goals in. 

Get down to McBookies & bang a monkey on Spartans to win. 

I'm out on the lash after the match with Big Mac, so don't expect the highlights until next week.

Grimbo.

11 minutes ago, Grim O'Grady said:

Don't you believe it NN, they are as plastic as their fans. 

Looking forward to the top LL thriller tomorrow, despite what the Golden One is claiming in his blog. Don't believe the hype, the match to be at is at Rosewell.

We are smarting to f**k after last week, also I've heard we've got a "new" top striker raring to go that will strike fear & the goals in. 

Get down to McBookies & bang a monkey on Spartans to win. 

I'm out on the lash after the match with Big Mac, so don't expect the highlights until next week.

Grimbo.

Yer country kick off at 5 o c  you'll be made welcome if ye want to spend yer hard earned. I know it's no the norm for yous dipping yer hand in pockets in our social club :P

Edit: bring some brasso wi ye ;)

19 hours ago, Rab B Nesbit said:

The South Region Challenge Cup ... aka the Big One ... is of course back in the bulging Ferguson Park trophy room.

On Saturday for the visit of Spartans there will be an opportunity to get your photo taken with the cup.

Offer also open to Spartans fans - a rare opportunity to see some silverware. 

image.jpeg

Lovely Stranraer away top there!

Spartans probably had the better of the 1st half but were lucky not to concede a penalty for a clear push on McGregor In the box. Second half more even and a goal out of nothing from the substitute won it for whitehill.

Not the best quality of game's but a good win, thought whitehill number 16 was man of the match

19 minutes ago, tamthebam said:

another bad result for Spartans then- getting beat by a wee lowly village team.... ;)

We couldn't have been more robbed had they had Fagen playing for them. 

Grimbo 

1 hour ago, Grim O'Grady said:

We couldn't have been more robbed had they had Fagen playing for them. 

Grimbo 

Fagan wont win trophies bud, 1st half aye as calmac says,2nd half superb performance from the young lad 16 and ww might just edged.  Apologise for criticising the Spartans lads not staying behind.well done lads I'm sure the club appreciated that. :)

http://www.spartansfc.com/2016/10/08/lowland-league-moment-of-controversy-main-talking-point-in-whitehill-win/

Words fail me ... :lol: 

A moment of first half controversy was the main post-match talking point in a narrow defeat at Ferguson Park for Spartans who can count themselves unfortunate not to leave Rosewell without at least a point for their endeavours.

New signing Jack Hay was on the bench after his signing midweek together with a bout of man flu whilst Under 20s goalkeeper was drafted into the squad as cover for Blair Carswell.

It was Spartans who made most of the early running at a decidedly uncharacteristic ‘weather neutral’ Welfare paddock and Bryan Young between the home sticks had to look lively to push an 11th minute Scott Maxwell effort behind for a corner kick.

Craig Stevenson continued to torment on the far side and he was unlucky not to see his tempting cross headed goal bound with David Greenhill and Dan Ward sniffing around in the penalty box.

Jamie Dishington had the ball in the net on the half hour mark however the Assistant on the stand-side raised his flag without flinching to signal Ward had strayed offside.

With five minutes to go until the teams headed to the sheds, Referee Gavin Ross incurred the wrath of the travelling support and perplexed many others inside the ground when he adjudged Dishington to have fouled Welfare’s John Hall despite the home defender appearing to have made contact with the Spartans man inside the box before he landed the ball in the net.

HT: Whitehill Welfare 0-0 The Spartans

Dishington was once again in the mix shortly after the break when he found the welcoming arms of Young with a header after fine play by Craig Stevenson down the flank.

Dougie Samuel introduced new recruit Jack Hay ten minutes into the half followed by Jack Beesley at the expense of Dan Ward fifteen minutes later as he looked to turn the dominance of possession into points.

Unfortunately the hosts hadn’t read the script and it was an impact sub from the home bench who inflicted what turned out to be the decisive goal just minutes after coming onto the park. Kieran Chalmers watching his shot from the right hand side fly across the box before nestling in the opposition corner.

Spartans rallied and another save by Young this time denied Beesley from executing one of his trademark deadball strikes.  The ball was half cleared before being returned with interest only for Chris Townsley to head directly to a relieved Young.

The final replacement from Samuel saw Dean Horribine, sporting a ‘Keith Murray-esque’ beard, coming on for Blair Tolmie with ten minutes to go.

Despite further Spartans penetration and some ‘win ugly’ hoofs out the park by a somewhat desperate and under-siege home defence, the hosts held out to scrape through and take full points.

FT: Whitehill Welfare 1-o The Spartans