Saints Vs Bairns (live on BBC Alba) 1st October 2016

• Replies 192

St Mirren have not beaten Falkirk in their last 7 league games and have not won at home for 4 games. 

I'm not one for stats in football unless its so obvious but the not won at home one is a reflection on where St mirren are.....tho is St mirren park no jinxed ?

Ian Holloway is available now, did he not piss in four corners of the pitch  at Blackpool to remove a curse on the pitch there ?

A win for the Bairns but not as easy as folk make out. Think Houston will have booted some backsides after last week but reckon the Midden will try n shut up shop just to get a point. 1.0 or 2.1 Bairns. Please don't wait till the last 10 mins when the subs are on..it's getting boring.

17 hours ago, Syd Puddefoot said:

A win for the Bairns but not as easy as folk make out. Think Houston will have booted some backsides after last week but reckon the Midden will try n shut up shop just to get a point. 1.0 or 2.1 Bairns. Please don't wait till the last 10 mins when the subs are on..it's getting boring.

I think the last thing we'll be doing is shutting up shop and hope for a point. Our only strength is our strikers. I'd be going 4-3-3 with Morgan Sutton and Shankland up front.

2 hours ago, keithgy said:

Aye just go by the Mediterranean Palace and walk towards Los Cris and at Las Vista's shopping centre turn right.

Surfers is on your right opposite the wee swimming pool.

Cheers bud. We're usually down that end but are at the Adeje end this time. Might try to get a pub nearer hand if need be.

2 hours ago, TheScarf said:

Is this the fixture that gets branded the 'Pie and Bovril Derby'?

Yep...... St Mirren fans have basically been neutered tho, id guess with the things that can go wrong with a new stadium(not winning many home league games) years of Gus taking 2nd bottom as an achievement and the recent years of poor management choices.

Years gone by, this match thread would've been close to or near double figures in pages by last Sunday.

A dodgy-ish tackle(s) or ref decision may spark the St Mirren fans that bit but as it stands, they are a neutered dug waiting to get put to sleep

We were shit last week but the least shit that we had been under Rae. McManus changed the formation for the first time in 9 months to something that even a five year old fan would have recommended. Our 4-2-3-1 and minimising Rae's hoofball was a huge step forward in our attacking play. Unfortunately there is not a lot we can do about a dire back four which includes Webster and Irvine with Hutton playing in front of them. We will ship goals but now look like scoring them as well.

I just have no confidence in us not to concede at least 2 goals every game. Our defence and goalkeeping positions are a joke frankly.

In Sutton and Mallan we have quality going forward, so we will likely score ourselves. We must be a dream for those BTTS punters.

That can mean only one thing today then... 0-0. In all seriousness it will likely be another 1-3 or something. New manager can't come in quick enough.

Disappointed to see Hippo dropped. The team was on a wee run and would have preffered the same personnell to get the nod after an appropriate arse reeming for the Ayr performance.
Cant see how you can drop Hippo, then play Sibbs, who was seemingly shite against Ayr out on the left where he will struggle

Agreed, hopefully hippo comes on second half and gives us a super sub performance