Scottish Resistance chucks Sean Clerkin out of their groovy gang

WaffenThinMint

With the Corbynistas hogging the limelight this week in conjunction with the Sex Pistols old record label's former owner, have missed out seeing our own Buckled Lefties™ [© Reynard (Deceased)] managing to machine gun themselves in the foot again.

http://www.scotsman.com/news/politics/sean-clerkin-suspended-from-scottish-resistance-group-1-4211373

A LEADING member of a prominent hardline Scottish independence group has been suspended by his fellow campaigners. Sean Clerkin, a notorious activist known for disrupting unionist party events, had his membership of the Scottish Resistance temporarily revoked last week shortly before travelling to a planned demonstration in London.

The future of the Resistance was called into question this week when a post on the group’s Facebook page revealed its best known member had been suspended. A post by James Scott said: “He has his supporters no doubt but he is the only member we get constant complaints about.” Another Scottish Resistance member, Gwen Sinclair, replied: “Whilst he has been a very active member attending and contributing to much of the Scottish Resistance events and campaigns, and I fully recognise this, the fact is the team must be able to operate in a collective and open way and so many disruptions are hampering the progress of our ability to successfully and positively campaign for Scotland’s freedom.”

Piers Doughty-Brown [good working class name there!], a former Resistance member, told The Scotsman he had quit the group because of the “disruptive” influence of Mr Clerkin. “I still maintain personal relations with some of the members,” he said. “But Sean’s influence was so disruptive that I had to leave. I was brought in to form a committee and he was dead against it.”

But Mr Clerkin told The Scotsman that as the Scottish Resistance was not a formally constituted organisation it had no power to suspend him. “It’s a Facebook page - you get automatically registered as a supporter,” he said. “They don’t have a constitution or an executive committee, so legally they’re up a gumtree.

“I will continue in the Scottish Resistance to argue vociferously for an independent, socialist Scotland and I will not be deflected from that ideal by petty infighting.”

First RISE, now the other favourite club for hobby politicians has fallen to fratricide. Will they ever learn?

25 minutes ago, Cream Cheese said:

Yep, when will they ever learn. The MSM are always going to report on complete none stories when it relates to the left.

If you check out Chris McCall's Twitter, it becomes apparent quickly that it was Clerkin who tipped him off to events, and the other members of SR in turn gave him their side of the story after it appears it became a Scotsman piece & was subsquently edited only. McCall does appear to be a left-wing journalist, so it's not a spite piece.

Would have been interested to see what the original version of the printed copy read.

8 minutes ago, Cream Cheese said:

Btw, did you refer to Reynard as a leftie? :blink:

LOL no - "buckled lefties" was a oft-used of his (so much it was almost a catchphrase) for the more brittle left-wing fundamentalists who saw the world only in terms of "good" people who supported the same, and everyone else being "bad", the same sort of idiotic tunnel vision that made America's Bible Belt Christian neo-cons such a laughing stock.

Alexie Sayle is very, very good at summing up exactly these types.

Sean Clerkin reminds me of that Killie fan who got turfed out of their last game of the season for shouting abuse, leaving his child crying with embarrassment.  An angry little man.

4 hours ago, WaffenThinMint said:

With the Corbynistas hogging the limelight this week in conjunction with the Sex Pistols old record label's former owner, have missed out seeing our own Buckled Lefties™ [© Reynard (Deceased)] managing to machine gun themselves in the foot again.

http://www.scotsman.com/news/politics/sean-clerkin-suspended-from-scottish-resistance-group-1-4211373

A LEADING member of a prominent hardline Scottish independence group has been suspended by his fellow campaigners. Sean Clerkin, a notorious activist known for disrupting unionist party events, had his membership of the Scottish Resistance temporarily revoked last week shortly before travelling to a planned demonstration in London.

The future of the Resistance was called into question this week when a post on the group’s Facebook page revealed its best known member had been suspended. A post by James Scott said: “He has his supporters no doubt but he is the only member we get constant complaints about.” Another Scottish Resistance member, Gwen Sinclair, replied: “Whilst he has been a very active member attending and contributing to much of the Scottish Resistance events and campaigns, and I fully recognise this, the fact is the team must be able to operate in a collective and open way and so many disruptions are hampering the progress of our ability to successfully and positively campaign for Scotland’s freedom.”

Piers Doughty-Brown [good working class name there!], a former Resistance member, told The Scotsman he had quit the group because of the “disruptive” influence of Mr Clerkin. “I still maintain personal relations with some of the members,” he said. “But Sean’s influence was so disruptive that I had to leave. I was brought in to form a committee and he was dead against it.”

But Mr Clerkin told The Scotsman that as the Scottish Resistance was not a formally constituted organisation it had no power to suspend him. “It’s a Facebook page - you get automatically registered as a supporter,” he said. “They don’t have a constitution or an executive committee, so legally they’re up a gumtree.

“I will continue in the Scottish Resistance to argue vociferously for an independent, socialist Scotland and I will not be deflected from that ideal by petty infighting.”

First RISE, now the other favourite club for hobby politicians has fallen to fratricide. Will they ever learn?

Why does the left still exist. It has won all the fundamental arguments, from universal suffrage to common welfare. That it your done now, go away nobody is listening. Us younguns will be doing all the spending and consuming. A canny wait until its like space trek and naebody needs to coff up the dosh for beer an kababs.

3 hours ago, DeeTillEhDeh said:

Trots in split shocker.

You could have one Trot left and they would still have a split with themselves.

A thought that was the Church of Scotland.

arlier

Later

RCC

RCC

RCC

RCC

RCC

RCC

RCC

RCC

RCC

RCC

CoS

ECoS

ECoS

ECoS

ECoS

ECoS

ECoS

ECoS

ECoS

SecC

SecC

SecC

UPC

UFC

RelC

RelC

FC

FC

UFC

UFC

FCS

FCS

FCS

This table is my own summary of the Church of Scotland break aways and mergers.

Key to Table

CoS   = Church of Scotland

ECoS = Established Church of Scotland

FC     = Free Church

FCS   = Free Church of Scotland ('Wee Free Church')

RCC   = Roman Catholic Church

RelC  = Relief Church

SecC = Secession Church

UPS   = United Presbyterian Church

UFC   = United Free Church

RED = Official church

GREEN = Other churches

BLUE = Continuing
 minority who did not re-unite

Tells ye a lot aboot aabodie in Scotland. Think on.

58 minutes ago, hehawhehaw said:

A thought that was the Church of Scotland.

arlier

Later

RCC

RCC

RCC

RCC

RCC

RCC

RCC

RCC

RCC

RCC

CoS

ECoS

ECoS

ECoS

ECoS

ECoS

ECoS

ECoS

ECoS

SecC

SecC

SecC

UPC

UFC

RelC

RelC

FC

FC

UFC

UFC

FCS

FCS

FCS

This table is my own summary of the Church of Scotland break aways and mergers.

Key to Table

CoS   = Church of Scotland

ECoS = Established Church of Scotland

FC     = Free Church

FCS   = Free Church of Scotland ('Wee Free Church')

RCC   = Roman Catholic Church

RelC  = Relief Church

SecC = Secession Church

UPS   = United Presbyterian Church

UFC   = United Free Church

RED = Official church

GREEN = Other churches

BLUE = Continuing
 minority who did not re-unite

Tells ye a lot aboot aabodie in Scotland. Think on.

No no no no no, this will not do!

You've missed out the Free Presbyterians (split from the Free Church of Scotland), the Anti-Burgher Secessionists (Auld Lichts), the Anti-Burgher Secessionists (New Lichts, ie. Pro-Cartesian Rationalism), the Burger Secessionists (Auld Lichts), and the Burger Secessionists (New Lichts).

Eventually the Relief Church and two Secessionalist New Lichts became the United Presbyterians who eventually merged with the Free Church (Wee Free), the Auld Licht Burgers rejoined the Church of Scotland (aka The Auld Kirk), and the surviving Anti-Burgher Auld Lichts in turn became the Jesus & Mary Chain or was it Big Country rejoined the Auld Kirk in 1956.

The Free Presbyterians in turn split over Lord Mackay attending a Catholic funeral, with the Associated Presbyterian Church being established. The Free Church in turn split over the false allegations against Prof Macleod being thrown out of court to start the Free Church (Continuing), who are a banker bet to merge with what's left of the FPs before too long as they've much in common (banning of all things fun, especially booze, & a rabid obsession with Romanist conspiracies to take over the planet)

16 hours ago, jmothecat said:

Must be pretty heartbreaking to be forced out of a group you helped found, I feel quite sorry for him tbh as I've heard despite his public image that he's a decent guy.

He seems to do more harm than good in every organisation he gets involved in with his mad nonsense.  A liability when you're trying to get taken seriously.

On 28/08/2016 at 19:15, jmothecat said:

Must be pretty heartbreaking to be forced out of a group you helped found, I feel quite sorry for him tbh as I've heard despite his public image that he's a decent guy.

He's the Roger Waters of Trotskyism

Correction Trotsky was the Roger Waters of Trotskyism

He seems to do more harm than good in every organisation he gets involved in with his mad nonsense.  A liability when you're trying to get taken seriously.

Are the Scottish Resistance trying to be taken seriously?

2 hours ago, DublinMagyar said:

Are SLAB?

Unfair comparison. One of the two parties mentioned is a small, no mark organisation who no one's really heard of, and the other is the Scottish Resistance.

Are SLAB?

I think so. But the Scottish Resistance know they are seen as a bit of a joke, it's part of what makes them work. They boycotted tunnocks and looked like idiots, but they got across their viewpoint and made an unmemorable story memorable. As for Mr. Clerkin, he's a well known activist who gives them more publicity, which is the weapon that keeps them going. He's passionate and whilst I clearly don't share his politics I admire someone who is happy to put himself out there and do what he believes in, even if I wouldn't condone all of his methods.

So you admire Corbyn then?

No. He doesn't fit the description above. Apart from anything else I wouldn't want someone like Sean as Labour leader either, as it happens. I just think he's been hard done by and feel sorry for him. I doubt anyone would know who the Scottish Resistance even were if it weren't for him.