Black Friday - financial crash thread

ICTChris

On 30/03/2017 at 14:43, DublinMagyar said:

JP Morgan in Dublin looking to buy office space for 1000 people.

Great news. We would be well rid of the parasites - http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/08/27/jpmorgan-chase-6-billion_n_3824665.html.

"U.S. officials may want to extract a London Whale-size legal settlement from JPMorgan Chase.

"The Federal Housing Finance Agency wants JPMorgan, the biggest U.S. bank by assets, to pay more than $6 billion to settle claims that it knowingly sold bad mortgages to Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac ahead of the financial crisis, the Financial Times reported on Tuesday, citing people familiar with the matter.

"Such a settlement would be the biggest single penalty paid by any bank for actions ahead of the crisis. It would also roughly match the $6.2 billion JPMorgan lost in the “London Whale” trading debacle in early 2012."

1 hour ago, Bishop Briggs said:

Great news. We would be well rid of the parasites - http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/08/27/jpmorgan-chase-6-billion_n_3824665.html.

"U.S. officials may want to extract a London Whale-size legal settlement from JPMorgan Chase.

"The Federal Housing Finance Agency wants JPMorgan, the biggest U.S. bank by assets, to pay more than $6 billion to settle claims that it knowingly sold bad mortgages to Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac ahead of the financial crisis, the Financial Times reported on Tuesday, citing people familiar with the matter.

"Such a settlement would be the biggest single penalty paid by any bank for actions ahead of the crisis. It would also roughly match the $6.2 billion JPMorgan lost in the “London Whale” trading debacle in early 2012."

Damn right.  We should insist that every company that has ever done anything scandalous should leave these shores and take all their jobs with them.

Good riddance I say.

5 minutes ago, Granny Danger said:

Damn right.  We should insist that every company that has ever done anything scandalous should leave these shores and take all their jobs with them.

Good riddance I say.

Pleased that you agree re JP Morgan given its record of bailouts.

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2013-10-10/jpmorgan-taps-taxpayer-backed-banks-for-bailout-rules

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/06/19/jpmorgan-chase-government-subsidy_n_1608859.html

And take a look at JP Morgan's acquisition of Bear Stearns that was funded by $55 billion from the Federal Reserve - http://www.webofdebt.com/articles/banking-bailout.php

But wait - https://www.theguardian.com/business/live/2017/mar/30/pound-ftse-markets-calm-brexit-lloyds-of-london-brussels-german-inflation-us-gdp-business-live?page=with:block-58dcd2ace4b01ea2330bd863#block-58dcd2ace4b01ea2330bd863

"The Irish Independent understands that JP Morgan has been engaged in a search for space capable of accomodating employees from both its existing offices at George’s Dock in Dublin’s International Financial Services Centre and up to 500 personnel currently working within its London operations."

So only up to half the jobs would be transferred from London. 

29 minutes ago, Granny Danger said:

Good riddance I say.

Bye bye Rolls Royce and cheerio Derby:

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/business/2017/01/16/rolls-royce-pay-almost-700m-settle-bribery-corruption-claims/

24 minutes ago, Bishop Briggs said:

Pleased that you agree re JP Morgan given its record of bailouts.

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2013-10-10/jpmorgan-taps-taxpayer-backed-banks-for-bailout-rules

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/06/19/jpmorgan-chase-government-subsidy_n_1608859.html

And take a look at JP Morgan's acquisition of Bear Stearns that was funded by $55 billion from the Federal Reserve - http://www.webofdebt.com/articles/banking-bailout.php

But wait - https://www.theguardian.com/business/live/2017/mar/30/pound-ftse-markets-calm-brexit-lloyds-of-london-brussels-german-inflation-us-gdp-business-live?page=with:block-58dcd2ace4b01ea2330bd863#block-58dcd2ace4b01ea2330bd863

"The Irish Independent understands that JP Morgan has been engaged in a search for space capable of accomodating employees from both its existing offices at George’s Dock in Dublin’s International Financial Services Centre and up to 500 personnel currently working within its London operations."

So only up to half the jobs would be transferred from London. 

Ah, only half. Nae bother.

I'm sure the 500 people losing their jobs can be pressed into the army for the UK's glorious war against Spain.

4 minutes ago, Shades75 said:

The real question here and elsewhere is, if copy and paste from google wasn't allowed, and neither were links, then how much content would Bishop Briggs be responsible for in his own posts?

What is the sound of one hand clapping? Please make it happen.

silence2.jpg

I deal with JPM in London on a regular basis. More than likely it will be folk involved in their clearing/payments/corporate actions departments who are asked to move. As far as risk to the UK goes, those jobs carry almost none. They are all relatively well paid processing jobs. If you are wanting to promote financial services as a cornerstone of your economy then they are exactly the sort of jobs you would like to have people doing. It's an easy tax take for the government.

• 5 months later...
53 minutes ago, bob the tank said:

£384 for €400 yesterday, ffs

https://revolut.com/

Currently giving you €1.1087 to the £ so your €400 would have cost you £360.78.

ETA: The rise in inflation will eventually be good for the exchange rate (if you're going on holiday) because the BoE will have to raise interest rates. They'll have to do it incredibly slowly though or there will be a heap of folk with unaffordable mortgages. The slowdown in the economy will also be worrying them. Might be another case of setting the interest rates to suit the SE of England. 

Edited by Suspect Device

22 minutes ago, Suspect Device said:

https://revolut.com/

Currently giving you €1.1087 to the £ so your €400 would have cost you £360.78.

Looks good. Only downside I can see is a 2% charge for cash withdrawals when you exceed £200 over a month, which you're likely to do on holiday.

Just now, welshbairn said:

Looks good. Only downside I can see is a 2% charge for cash withdrawals when you exceed £200 over a month, which you're likely to do on holiday.

Aye, so when I was using it on holiday, everything got paid by contactless where possible. Even if I had to take out more than £200, the way I looked at it was that the exchange rate mostly made up for it.

1 hour ago, Suspect Device said:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-41238822

Inflation up to 2.9% (CPI) or 3.9% (RPI)

The start of hyper inflation or just the worst it will reach before Brexit induced sterling weakness falls out of the annual measure?

Wee jump from 1.25 to 1.27 versus CHF off the back of it. Lucky I was on holiday a few weeks ago. That extra few pennies on the cost of my pint would have been a sickener.

Just now, Suspect Device said:

Aye, so when I was using it on holiday, everything got paid by contactless where possible. Even if I had to take out more than £200, the way I looked at it was that the exchange rate mostly made up for it.

No problems at all then? Think I'll go for it. Off to Seville next month and my stash of Euros bought in a Brexit panic on the evening of the referendum is running out. 1.29 euros to the pound I think it was.