Trainspotting II / Porno

• Replies 486
Only God Knows by Young Fathers is the highlight of the soundtrack for me.

I enjoyed their stuff, so I had a look into them and they have a rule where they refuse to speak and do interviews to the right wing press. I could sort of understand the Express and Mail if they felt that strongly about it, but it includes the likes of The Times...

The irony is that I read this in their interview to the London Evening Standard.

I enjoyed their stuff, so I had a look into them and they have a rule where they refuse to speak and do interviews to the right wing press. I could sort of understand the Express and Mail if they felt that strongly about it, but it includes the likes of The Times...

The irony is that I read this in their interview to the London Evening Standard.

They supported Paul Weller at the Hydro the last time he was there. I'd recommend catching them live.

The piano version of Lou Reed over the opening credits had me, especially as all the actor names came up, except for during the curly haired boy's scene.

The other thing that had me first time round was the first shot of Renton's bedroom. That was a real punch in the guts emotionally.

Second time round I was much more taken by the sincerity of Begbie's last visit home and his first attempt at being a father figure. "Either way, I'm going away for a long time..."

It's amazing how positively this film has been received. Almost perfect for a sequel.

My only gripe as I think back is that there was more scope for Shirley Henderson, but it's only because she is a huge talent! (Wedding Belles is maybe her finest moment - another Irvine Welsh film.)

My old school pal now in Australia is itching to see this, we went to the first film together back in 90s on opening night. This time T2 isn't out there until 2nd March.

3 hours ago, SweeperDee said:

Silk by Wolf Alice is the highlight for me. That chorus is ridiculously good, albeit painfully short.

Yeah. It's one of those tunes I feel like I could melt into. The use of it and just the faint chords on Slow Slippy were wonderful tbh. 

It's basically as perfect as any sequel could be. 

5 hours ago, Le Tout P'ti FC said:

My only gripe as I think back is that there was more scope for Shirley Henderson, but it's only because she is a huge talent! (Wedding Belles is maybe her finest moment - another Irvine Welsh film.)

Brilliant film that.

"How can a dug pull doon yer fuckin troosers? Ya dug shaggin basturt!"

8 hours ago, Le Tout P'ti FC said:

My old school pal now in Australia is itching to see this, we went to the first film together back in 90s on opening night. This time T2 isn't out there until 2nd March.

23 Feb with limited preview showings this Friday 

It's always great when a soundtrack can remind you just how good a band were...Blondie were an outstanding pop band ,after we came out of T2 first thing we did was put the Hits album on.

First four albums are very good and parallel lines is song for song, a brilliant album.

21 hours ago, Coventry Saint said:

Haha, not really, perhaps that was clumsy: I probably meant the lost youth more than the wasted life aspect. I'm very happy with where I've got to, but it would have been nice to have reached this point a wee bit sooner. I know this much: I'm a lot closer to death now than I was 20 years ago :lol: It's a very good mid-life crisis film, and maybe the take-home message is the latter half of your post there.

I remember watching American Beauty in early 2000, when I was 21, and I said at the time how glad I was that I wasn't watching it aged 40, as it would have really knocked me for six. Well, now, here we are (albeit I'm 'only' 38...) and T2 might have had that effect slightly. 

To be honest, if anyone wasn't going to mourn their lost youth it would be the characters in this, who spent their 'best years' hooked on heroin.

The scene where Simon and Renton reminisce about their first hit is fairly odd, I suppose an indication of the characters dysfunction.

17 hours ago, Sooky said:

I listened to Danny Boyle talking about invitiing them on to the set. Said they turned up and were hard work/didn't speak. A couple of days later they got in touch to say they'd done a song for him and the film. 

Was actually rather disappointed with it given all the gushing praise it received on here. 

An element of 'we're Scottish so we have to love it' creeping into the reviews I suspect. 

Spot on for me - I was very disappointed in it.

Also don't get the love for the soundtrack - pish compared to the first one.

Maybe I need to watch it again......

17 hours ago, Jimmy85 said:

Was actually rather disappointed with it given all the gushing praise it received on here. 

An element of 'we're Scottish so we have to love it' creeping into the reviews I suspect. 

I'm not Scottish and certainly enjoyed it.