Getting work done to your house

• 1 year later...
  • Replies 185

Fucking tradesmen.

Was away on holiday last week, arranged weeks before that to get the bathroom refitted, all to be done by the time we got back last Friday. Local guy, been going for years, seemingly good rep.

Came back 10pm Friday night, old bathroom out, half arsed start made. No bog, shower or running water. A bit of a surprise.

Did my best to keep the heid while he's rhyming off all and every one of the bs excuses from the tradesman's almanac. Net result, absolute promise it'll be finished by Tuesday. It wasn't.

Just home tonight and, at the current rate of progress, there's at least another two days work in it. And that's before he gets told half the shite he's done today is getting ripped out because he's evidently rushed it and made a c**t of it.

It's a bathroom in a 70s scheme house, not a 16th century farmhouse ffs.

Net result is his names about to become mud. And I'll probably end up with a keyed car at some point in the next three months.

Be easier moving fucking house.

Top Tip for financing your projects:

Become a councillor and just assign £200,000 to fix your own fallen down wall, not seeking any approval from anyone else at the 'cash-strapped' council.

Seems to be the done thing at Aberdeen City Council anyway.

1 hour ago, Hedgecutter said:

Top Tip for financing your projects:

Become a councillor and just assign £200,000 to fix your own fallen down wall, not seeking any approval from anyone else at the 'cash-strapped' council.

Seems to be the done thing at Aberdeen City Council anyway.

My folks built a house beside a bridge and all the local shits used to throw things down. We argued with the council for years about getting a fence put up only to be told that as the forth road bridge didn't have a fence then why should we. We eventually sold the house to somebody that turned out to have some sort of connection to the local council. Within 3 months there was a big fence on the side of the bridge. Cnuts.

On 13/04/2016 at 21:11, Tom Rogic said:

Yeah I've only had my own business for ten years but clearly you know all about my work based on this forum

Anyway why did you sack plumber midway through job?

It's amazing how many celtic supporting plumbers from Stirling have posted on here, must've been atleast a dozen of them:lol:

13 hours ago, alta-pete said:

Fucking tradesmen.

Was away on holiday last week, arranged weeks before that to get the bathroom refitted, all to be done by the time we got back last Friday. Local guy, been going for years, seemingly good rep.

Came back 10pm Friday night, old bathroom out, half arsed start made. No bog, shower or running water. A bit of a surprise.

Did my best to keep the heid while he's rhyming off all and every one of the bs excuses from the tradesman's almanac. Net result, absolute promise it'll be finished by Tuesday. It wasn't.

Just home tonight and, at the current rate of progress, there's at least another two days work in it. And that's before he gets told half the shite he's done today is getting ripped out because he's evidently rushed it and made a c**t of it.

Net result is his names about to become mud. And I'll probably end up with a keyed car at some point in the next three months.

Being a plumber myself, it intrigues me what possible excuses he could use for a bathroom running over by so long.

Is he doing all the tiling or wall boarding and electrics etc too?

Given what I've been told from various people you are just lucky if a tradesman turns up to do a job.
Seems the norm to have a guy lined up to do a job and he's a no show.

Too many cowboys operating now.

14 hours ago, alta-pete said:

Fucking tradesmen.

He's probably spent a lot of time rifling through your cupboards and drawers and sitting watching your telly. Plumbers are well known for it. Also plumbers more than other trades tend to work on two or three jobs at the same time so he probably wasn't there a lot of the time.  Seriously tho it's quite common for things not to go as smoothly as planned, problems with materials being available or wrong stuff delivered , maybe other trades let him down, maybe it turned out a bigger job than he allowed for, sometimes you don't see problems until you get started. Surprised he has a good rep locally if he is that bad.

Being a plumber myself, it intrigues me what possible excuses he could use for a bathroom running over by so long.

Is he doing all the tiling or wall boarding and electrics etc too?

aside from bs like he's not been well etc, he was trying to tell me it took 2 1/2 days to rip out the old one. Complaints about pipe work, something to do with silicon and plasterboard, terrible time he had. However, nothing was to be saved - it was to be taken back to the timber frame. Fairly sure I could've done it in little over a day with nowt but a crowbar and a claw hammer.

And, aye, he's a one-man band, doing everything bar the electrics. Perversely, that was the attraction- I didn't want to come back to all sorts of excuses about Phil the plumber or Tommy the tiler didn't turn up on time or complaints about workmanship due to someone else.

He's probably spent a lot of time rifling through your cupboards and drawers and sitting watching your telly. Plumbers are well known for it. Also plumbers more than other trades tend to work on two or three jobs at the same time so he probably wasn't there a lot of the time.  Seriously tho it's quite common for things not to go as smoothly as planned, problems with materials being available or wrong stuff delivered , maybe other trades let him down, maybe it turned out a bigger job than he allowed for, sometimes you don't see problems until you get started. Surprised he has a good rep locally if he is that bad.

^^^ clearly an experienced tradesman! [emoji2]

No issue with materials - I used his preferred bathroom supplier, negating any potential complaints about quality of fixtures and also had tiles delivered when it suited him.

On the tiles, I checked beforehand if he was happy with large porcelain ones. He was. Since then there's been nothing but complaints about how hard and awkward they are to work with.

Lost the tattie with him last night and after a frank exchange of views I am told it will be finished by tonight. c**t was at the house 7.30 this morning (first time I've seen that since I've been back) so kinda hoping that is indeed the case.

And, in fairness, once it's done, I reckon it'll look fabulous.

Back to the original point of the post - fucking tradesmen. Turn up, do the job, don't complain, finish on time, get paid. Guys that operate like that are worth their weight in gold. Shame it'll be another 20 years before I go looking for one.

49 minutes ago, alta-pete said:

aside from bs like he's not been well etc, he was trying to tell me it took 2 1/2 days to rip out the old one. Complaints about pipe work, something to do with silicon and plasterboard, terrible time he had. However, nothing was to be saved - it was to be taken back to the timber frame. Fairly sure I could've done it in little over a day with nowt but a crowbar and a claw hammer.

And, aye, he's a one-man band, doing everything bar the electrics. Perversely, that was the attraction- I didn't want to come back to all sorts of excuses about Phil the plumber or Tommy the tiler didn't turn up on time or complaints about workmanship due to someone else.

Be sure to divide his bill by at least 50% when you get it, for all the inconvenience you've had to put up with.

1 hour ago, alta-pete said:

Sounds exactly like my old gaffer, main reason I left was the way he dealt with jobs and customers. 

1 hour ago, alta-pete said:

aside from bs like he's not been well etc

39 minutes ago, alta-pete said:

10 minutes ago, ICTJohnboy said:

Be sure to divide his bill by at least 50% when you get it, for all the inconvenience you've had to put up with.

Who'd be a builder.

12 minutes ago, welshbairn said:

Who'd be a builder.

55 minutes ago, alta-pete said:

^^^ clearly an experienced tradesman! emoji2.png

No issue with materials - I used his preferred bathroom supplier, negating any potential complaints about quality of fixtures and also had tiles delivered when it suited him.

On the tiles, I checked beforehand if he was happy with large porcelain ones. He was. Since then there's been nothing but complaints about how hard and awkward they are to work with.

Lost the tattie with him last night and after a frank exchange of views I am told it will be finished by tonight. c**t was at the house 7.30 this morning (first time I've seen that since I've been back) so kinda hoping that is indeed the case.

Back to the original point of the post - fucking tradesmen. Turn up, do the job, don't complain, finish on time, get paid. Guys that operate like that are worth their weight in gold. Shame it'll be another 20 years before I go looking for one.

14 minutes ago, Fae_the_'briggs said:

Bob be a builder.

Bob be a builder tonight
Bob if you've been a builder to begin with
Bob be a builder tonight
Bob let a gentleman see
Just how nice a dame you can be
I know the way you've treated other guys you've been with
Bob be a builder with me
A builder never leaves her escort
It isn't fair, it isn't nice
A builder doesn't wander all over the room