General Politics Thread

Granny Danger

Guest Bob Mahelp
14 minutes ago, pandarilla said:

I reckon this will now start to help corbyn.

Most folk can see this as what it is and even those who don't like him could end up supporting him.

I'm not so sure.

Yeap, it'll harden Corbyn's support amongst those who would have voted for him anyway, but all of this is part of the co-ordinated effort to drag the 'middle ground' in UK politics......where elections are won and lost....further to the right.

The idea is to get people who would view themselves as political moderates to start thinking of Corbyn as an extremist. And to promote the mantra that it's the right-wing view on the world that is 'normal', rather than a social progressive view.

Dangerous times.

Edited by Bob Mahelp

I reckon this will now start to help corbyn.

Most folk can see this as what it is and even those who don't like him could end up supporting him.

I have my issues aplenty with Corbyn but he stood up days before an election and argued that our foreign policy plays a role in retaliatory terror attacks and he’s condemned the IDF’s murder of Palestinian citizens despite days of abuse over an anti-semitism scandal. I admire that level of baws out commitment to your beliefs/ winding up the melts.

Plus Jewdas, the group he met with, are absolutely loving the attention they’re getting courtesy of Guido Fawkes and everyone else who definitely aren’t coming across as anti-semites at all with their “mainstream Jews” patter.

31 minutes ago, NotThePars said:

I have my issues aplenty with Corbyn but he stood up days before an election and argued that our foreign policy plays a role in retaliatory terror attacks and he’s condemned the IDF’s murder of Palestinian citizens despite days of abuse over an anti-semitism scandal. I admire that level of baws out commitment to your beliefs/ winding up the melts.

Plus Jewdas, the group he met with, are absolutely loving the attention they’re getting courtesy of Guido Fawkes and everyone else who definitely aren’t coming across as anti-semites at all with their “mainstream Jews” patter.

I wonder if Jewdas would let me join, a gentile. They sound like my kind of party.

https://twitter.com/geoffreyjewdas/status/871134323780575232

My Love of an Arab Town in Israel Inspired Me to Form a Group of Radical Jewish Piss-Takers

Edited by welshbairn

The Ferret Fact Service, releasing an annual report of their fact checks from the Scottish parties here:

https://theferret.scot/ferret-fact-service-fact-checking-numbers/

For those wanting a quick summary:

SNP: 75% true/mostly true

Labour 60% true/mostly true

Conservative: 12% true/mostly true

One of those percentages stuns me tbh. (Pro-tip: It's Labour, the dirty lying branch office c***s)

I remember a story, true I think, of a group of Jewish Pacifist Anarchists in late 18th century Paris, who wanted to make a statement. The mulled over a few ideas and rejected any that might lead to violence, so they settled on gathering outside the main Synagogue and eating ham sandwiches.

37 minutes ago, JamieThomas said:

Conservative: 12% true/mostly true

I wonder if it's more that they're all a bit thick and believe their own nonsense rather than lying?  In my experience right-wingers are all a bit dense.  I cite this forum (and Reddit, if you ever visit) as evidence.

Corbyn was a rampant anti Scottish independence supporter and a closet brexiteer. Get him tae f**k

Seeing everything through the prism of Scottish independence is not cool.

And just to avoid any confusion, he was opposed to the eu for left wing reasons (rather than immigration hating little Englander ones).

Just now, pandarilla said:

And just to avoid any confusion, he was opposed to the eu for left wing reasons (rather than immigration hating little Englander ones).

Yeah I remember the wee willie guy who used to post on here who thought that anything that happened out with Scotland was irrelevant.

It’s sad to see that thick-as-shit ‘logic’ being continued by folk who really should know better.

12 hours ago, NotThePars said:

Corbyn allegedly meeting the wrong kind of Jews today. Definitely a good look for non-Jewish critics.

Yeah, I've been firmly of the view that Corbyn was coming across badly with that mural being blatantly anti-Semitic and his apology being a bit mealy mouthed. While there was no question of Corbyn himself being an anti-Semite, his failure to spot where it existed was a valid criticism.

This story however is absolutely fucking outrageous. He does the right thing, a thing his critics have been calling for him to do, in meeting Jewish groups to discuss anti-Semitism in the Labour Party and how to combat it... and non-Jewish critics pile into him for meeting the wrong type of Jews. Because there is no hint of anti-Semitism, no dodgy ground, in non-Jewish people telling Jewish people whether they're Jewish enough to express an opinion about anti-Semitism. It's actually fucking staggering.

Whatever happened to a welder in Glasgow has more in common with one in Liverpool... Vs one in Hamburg. Where was Corbyn with his left wing there. No interest in the guy tbh

4 minutes ago, John Lambies Doos said:

Whatever happened to a welder in Glasgow has more in common with one in Liverpool... Vs one in Hamburg. Where was Corbyn with his left wing there. No interest in the guy tbh

Was going to say something about the EU not being a worker's paradise but just started singing it along to Coolio's one hit wonder instead.

Guest Bob Mahelp
34 minutes ago, Baxter Parp said:

I wonder if it's more that they're all a bit thick and believe their own nonsense rather than lying?  In my experience right-wingers are all a bit dense.  I cite this forum (and Reddit, if you ever visit) as evidence.

I suspect that because 75% of the UK press is right-wing, Tory lies are less likely to be exposed than those from other parties.

And because of that, it encourages them to keep on lying.

Ruth Davidson especially has a rather remarkable bubble around her which seems to make her immune to public scrutiny.  She's become the master of making outlandish anti-SNP statements..... I remember her being live on the BBC during the 2015 elections, saying that she had reports of 'SNP supporters intimidating other voters' in someplace like Annan (turned out to be utter bollox)......and then retreating before she can be challenged.

I suspect strongly that this was a deliberate tactic devised by Better Together during the 2014 referendum campaign, and it's one that they've continued with for the last 4 years. Concoct a lie, shout it as loudly as possible, and allow the media to spread it.

Barely anyone will take notice 3 months down the line when the lie is disproved completely.

Does that make it any better? Leaving the EU likely to be disastrous, particularly for people who Labour supposedly represent. Does having left-wing conspiratorial reasons for supporting Brexit suddenly make it ok?

On the Jewdas issue I had honestly never even heard of them before, a cursory glance makes them not particularly look like extremists, but people who broadly share Corbyn's world view. It would be good to see Corbyn meeting with Jewish groups and people who have views that don't chime with his as well, but I see no reason why he shouldn't meet with this group.

Jewdas statement.

Our Statement On Our Seder

While we remain opposed to the monarchy, we were delighted that the leader of Her Majesty’s Opposition, Jeremy Corbyn accepted our invitation to join the Jewdas community Seder. Jeremy was a 10/10 guest and provided delicious maror from his allotment.

In 1812 the British Government designated Jewdas to be the sole representative body for British Jews. We fulfil our role of being the voice for Anglo-Jewry by writing funny tweets, holding great parties and passing on the memes which we receive from God, via Geoffrey Cohen.

Sadly our God-given right to be the sole spokespeople for Anglo-Jewry is not respected by many heretical organisations which are known as ‘The Jewish Establishment’.
One such organisation is the dangerous fringe group which calls itself ‘The Bored of Deputies’. They continue to insist that their outdated and niche views represent all Jews.

We have been campaigning against antisemitism on the Left and the Right for many years. Like, way before it was popular. We have run anti-antisemitism workshops in such far flung corners as Marseille and Bloomsbury, opposed neo-Nazi demos in Stamford Hill and Golders Green, produced and distributed information on how to criticise Israel WITHOUT being antisemitic, demonstrated against left-antisemite Gilad Atzmon, and most importantly mercilessly took the piss out of Ken Livingstone. You could call us trend setters.

We are not happy with the Jewish Establishment, but we remain deeply involved in many synagogues and communal organisations (although this is mostly for the free food). We are unhappy with the pervasive antisemitism that still remains on the Left but continue to remain very much involved because we are committed to a better world and a better Left, and believe that the only way to tackle antisemitism is to keep fighting for our rights in the diaspora.

We are thrilled to be getting so much attention that Stephen Pollard was forced to admit we are a legitimate part of the Jewish community.

6 minutes ago, Cerberus said:

Corbyn should have just met with mainstream Jews, been normal, shook their hands and try to put the whole anti-Semitic thing to bed.

He can’t even do that right.

Who's to say what a mainstream Jew thinks? 

Guest Bob Mahelp
1 hour ago, Cerberus said:

Corbyn should have just met with mainstream Jews, been normal, shook their hands and try to put the whole anti-Semitic thing to bed.

You see, this is where I have some sympathy for Corbyn.

All his life, he's opposed the actions of the state of Israel. He's perfectly entitled to hold this opinion and any normal person should see this as being in no way anti-Semitic. 

By meeting with 'mainstream Jews'.....who in general would in no way share Corbyn's socialist sympathies for Palestine.... it could possibly be interpreted that Corbyn was abandoning his principles to satisfy the rantings of the right-wing media.

What a pishy response that would've been.

The day he tries to play the 'mainstream politician' game is the day he's fucked.