Yanks ban heading in soccer!

MacGafraidh

• Replies 45

Not really surprising given the increased public awareness of concussions and related-symptoms in the more common (or rather more specialised, since American children view football largely as a means of running around until about 10 or 11 when they play a 'real' sport exclusively) & popular sports there.

Of course, one potential/presumed benefit of such a law is that from a young age there's a focus on playing football with the feet rather than just booting it up the park, although I wouldn't attempt to know enough about the coaching structures in North American youth football to comment on that with any authority.

Yeah... not quite as drastic as the headline makes out :lol:

If the research suggests this is a problem, what else are you supposed to do? As with boxing and suchlike, you're free to make these choices as an adult, but kids need protection until they're fully developed. I totally understand people thinking that it seems like wrapping kids up in cotton wool, but it's surely important to listen to folk who've actually studied the effects of concussive trauma on the brain.

I'd have thought the lighter balls these days would have made it less of an issue. The sport manufacturers are probably desperate to come up with a need for parents to buy more equipment though, like a head protector you can head with. They must hate saakir.

P.S. Had a look at your blog. Do you photograph all the pages, including the son of and daughter of and mother of etc. ones?

I'm not hugely surprised by the development in a litigant culture like the USA, but was somewhat surprised by the scale of this... no heading at all up to 11, and only heading in matches (without having practiced it) up to 14.

How do gridiron and rugby manage at youth level at all?

I'm not hugely surprised by the development in a litigant culture like the USA, but was somewhat surprised by the scale of this... no heading at all up to 11, and only heading in matches (without having practiced it) up to 14.

IIRC they play flag games( I may be wrong ) where the players have a flag on their waist band and the flag is the target and thus there is no contact.

When I played 'soccer' with my three I didn't play headers with them when they were wee.

Wise move, considering.

They tell me your clearances were like bullets, Kinky.

I'd have thought the lighter balls these days would have made it less of an issue. The sport manufacturers are probably desperate to come up with a need for parents to buy more equipment though, like a head protector you can head with. They must hate saakir.

P.S. Had a look at your blog. Do you photograph all the pages, including the son of and daughter of and mother of etc. ones?

^^^ BEAST

Oh, WB. Are none of our children safe? :(

Rugby now after a lot of talk has started to address concussion protocols quite proactively....my son has just completed mandatory 3 wk ban after an albeit minor concussion which both school n club coaches took seriously.....in my day as a player you carried on....with regard to heading a football id imagine its much less of an issue with light modern balls but always loved brian McClair's brutal assessment of how many headers you would need to be as thick as nicky butt

Surely kids under 10 shouldn't be heading the ball anyway. They should be trying to control it with their feet.

Do we still teach kids to try and win flicks ons and getting your head onto a set piece?

Nae wonder we're shite.

I suppose you could use these bubbles to encapsulate the OF fans and all the smelliness that comes with them.

Big Jig's career ruined with one simple rule change.

Someone on my facebook who coaches over in Alabama summed up my thoughts on this. The pitches next to them at the weekend are filled with American Football games where the kids are encouraged by their parents and coaches to hit hard, and injuries occur on a weekly basis. Banning heading a football seems like something that should maybe be further down the list of priorities in concussion prevention - especially in America.

Do i think it's wrong? Probably not, in a way it encourages, as should be the case, to keep the ball on the ground. I just don't know how it effects the way the game will be played, how will corners work for example? I know that in these ages groups, certainly when I was coaching a few years ago, goal kicks have effectively been taken out of the equation in an effort to play out from the back but I don't see how this would work with corners.

My main concern is where does it stop in terms of banning things. Slide tackles can result in broken arms and legs which can affect you for the rest of your life, as I've experienced, do they get banned?

Overall I think there's been a bit of an overreaction, mainly on social media, but an overall ban seems like a bit of an extreme measure to me. Will follow this as it develops as it's pretty interesting.

My main concern is where does it stop in terms of banning things. Slide tackles can result in broken arms and legs which can affect you for the rest of your life, as I've experienced, do they get banned?

Brain damage is a bit more serious than a broken limb, though. The brain is who we are; limbs are just meat that exist to serve the brain.

Maybe the medics among us can confirm/correct, but I think brain injuries are also more serious with youngsters as their brains are still developing (not that they're exactly great news for anyone), whereas broken bones heal better when we're weans than at any other time of life. Not that I'm exactly advocating that we ought to be chasing kids around with hammers or anything :P