The Greenock Morton Thread - It's Better Than Yours

Such a dearth of quality candidates out there at the moment that many of the same names are appearing on both of our shortlists.

I can't see Hopkin coming to Paisley - I don't think we want him - but I've got the fear about how well a Hopkin-led Livi could do next season. So with that in mind, I'm hoping he joins you lot. He'd do a good job, I reckon.

14 hours ago, IainMorton said:

Even if we don’t appoint him, I still wanna know who the World Cup winner was that we mentioned on the website. Berti Vogts? :lol: 

This is bugging me also. 

A theory: a female World Cup winner? 

Anyone got a decent enough knowledge of the women’s game to suggest any names?  Or this the thought just batshit crazy?

2 hours ago, k-ton said:

This is bugging me also. 

A theory: a female World Cup winner? 

Anyone got a decent enough knowledge of the women’s game to suggest any names?  Or this the thought just batshit crazy?

I just can’t imagine that anyone who has won the World Cup in the last 30/40 years would be interested in Scottish football outside the OF, never mind a wee diddy team like Greenock Morton.

Hopkin would be the best appointment we could make imo. And a real coup for the club and Crawford. 

Has ties with the club, very successful season with Livingston and his stock his high. Would certainly be an upgrade from Duffy. 

Not at all bothered with style of football. We've watched enough teams over the years to know that winning games is going to be far more important to getting folk through the gates. 

Clearly it doesn't guarantee success and unfortunately if we were successful, its likely he would be off to a bigger club with a bigger budget soon after. 

1 hour ago, IainMorton said:

I just can’t imagine that anyone who has won the World Cup in the last 30/40 years would be interested in Scottish football outside the OF, never mind a wee diddy team like Greenock Morton.

To be fair, the article didn't specify that it was a football World Cup winner. It might be Tattie Marshall.

8 minutes ago, The Moonster said:

To be fair, the article didn't specify that it was a football World Cup winner. It might be Tattie Marshall.

Plenty of success wearing blue and white... sign him up.

This way to Cappielow.jpg

14 minutes ago, Piehutt said:

Hopkin would be the best appointment we could make imo. And a real coup for the club and Crawford. 

Has ties with the club, very successful season with Livingston and his stock his high. Would certainly be an upgrade from Duffy. 

Not at all bothered with style of football. We've watched enough teams over the years to know that winning games is going to be far more important to getting folk through the gates. 

Clearly it doesn't guarantee success and unfortunately if we were successful, its likely he would be off to a bigger club with a bigger budget soon after. 

Aye wouldn't be a bad start to Crawford's reign, sacking the man everyone wanted sacked, offering season tickets for  an impressive £200 and bringing in arguably the best manager we could hope for in Hopkin.

If we do, the feel good factor will be as high as its probably ever been and "a good feeling at Cappielow" thread will be just around the corner!!

3 minutes ago, madton said:

Aye wouldn't be a bad start to Crawford's reign, sacking the man everyone wanted sacked, offering season tickets for  an impressive £200 and bringing in arguably the best manager we could hope for in Hopkin.

If we do, the feel good factor will be as high as its probably ever been and "a good feeling at Cappielow" thread will be just around the corner!!

That’s the problem we have though as whenever there is a good feeling about the place, it still inevitably goes tits up.

11 minutes ago, IainMorton said:

That’s the problem we have though as whenever there is a good feeling about the place, it still inevitably goes tits up.

Surely by the end of the working week ie bank holiday we should at least get an update

25 minutes ago, sigton said:

Surely by the end of the working week ie bank holiday we should at least get an update

Hopkin meeting our board now on Monday/Tuesday so possibly not until next Wed

3 minutes ago, andylivi1 said:

Im told there will be a press conference tomorrow to announce the new manager of Morton....not a clue if it’s Hopkin or not though. 

2 minutes ago, madton said:

Doubt it will drag on to next week, decision tomorrow!

24 minutes ago, Waverley said:

According to a Livi director, no other club has approached them with a request to talk to Hopkin. Mind you, that didn't help St. Mirren any.

No request needs to be made. He's out of contract.

2 hours ago, andylivi1 said:

Im told there will be a press conference tomorrow to announce the new manager of Morton....not a clue if it’s Hopkin or not though. 

So now been told it’s cancelled until next week, all points to Hopkin. 

Sounds to me like Morton have all there eggs in one basket and are confident Hoppy is heading down Greenock way. 

12 minutes ago, andylivi1 said:

So now been told it’s cancelled until next week, all points to Hopkin. 

Sounds to me like Morton have all there eggs in one basket and are confident Hoppy is heading down Greenock way. 

Hopkin to St. Mirren incoming.