Dyslexia Scotland Junior Cup

Nocko

You might want to have a wee think why that is the next time you try to slip in your next ATTAMPT at peddling your old "racism is only fitba banter" bullshit. Ha Ha! Nice to see you got your Higher English!!! Was it at first ATTAMPT!!!!

Brilliant riposte. No, really. Truly stunning. You should consider a career in pseudo journalism like the other scheme goblin in this thread. Lay off the excessive exclamation marks though - it makes you sound like a mallrat.

If you can highlight then cut and paste the section within my comment where i said "racism is only fitba banter" that would be great???

I made no such comparison. I asked a question which has clearly touched a nerve with you. Your barometer for what is socially acceptable is clearly set and you then assume that it`s perfectly ok for you to then judge others or pass comment on other subject matter that doesn`t fit within your definitions of what is socially acceptable and what`s not. Wether you like it or not dyslexics,fat people,blind people,ginger hair, speech impediments and this list is not exhaustive are all examples of afflictions,conditions call them what you will, that are viewed as fair game for comment,ridicule,humour or banter as you called it. So who decides the sliding scale on which "offences" are more serious than others?? Would that be you???

Oh dear.

From you in a thread about racial abuse at football matches:

http://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/index.php/topic/190684-verbal-abuse/#entry6762764

"What's unbelievable about the whole thing is how readily the police have gotten involved after receiving a complaint from an external body ( the ....whisper it in an entirely non-racist manner....Black Lawyers group),who by their own admission have based their complaint on nothing more than a newspaper report!!! Really???Has everybody gone frickin mental???? It's embarrassing to hear football players from all levels in the game complain when they get a bit of verbals from someone that they don't particularly like. These are the very same guys who berate and verbally abuse each other, opposition supporters and referees for 90 minutes, often in an aggressive manner. Don't get me wrong some of the stuff is relatively mild as well as amusing but there are plenty of instances at every game, of abuse that would get you lifted in the street if you done it in front of your local plods.Why should they hold the officials to a standard that they themselves fail to even recognise never mind try and adhere to??? They are a joke. Look at Rio Ferdinand waving his racist flag for all to see and threatening breakaway unions for black players......... Is this the same guy who was tweeting about "choc-ices" a few weeks ago???Theyre over-paid and tuned to the moon in the main and should concentrate on being better at what they're over-paid for doing........ *!x!**xrs......lol...."

:whistle

• Replies 69

Is TJ at the wind up here? Good cause & not having a dig as my wife is dyslexic but cmon. Surely he could have done a bit better ?

LADESIDE

The Dyslexia Scotland Junior Cup

The Scottish Junior FA has today reached an agreement with Dyslexia Scotland to become the official Scottish Junior Cup partner until the end of the season.

The partnership has been formed as part of Dyslexia Scotland’s Official Nominated Charity status with the Scottish FA and aims to raise the profile and awareness of our activities.

Scotland striker Steven Naismith, one of our Ambassadors, helped launch our partnership with the Scottish FA in October 2014.

The Dyslexia Scotland Junior Cup quarter-final draw takes place at 1pm tomorrow - 27th February - at Hampden Park.

Tom Johnston, Scottish Junior FA Secretary, said: “We are delighted to enter into a partnership with Dyslexia Scotland and look forward to helping them raise the profile and awareness of such a good cause.”

Cathy Magee, our Chief Executive, said: “Dyslexia Scotland welcomes this tremendous opportunity to partner the Scottish Junior FA and be part of the Scottish Junior Cup.

“We’re delighted to be able to raise awareness amongst fans and footballers about Dyslexia Scotland, so that parents and young people and adults with dyslexia know where to go for support, help and advice.”

Agreed Press Release ends here <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<.

So a partnership that already existed with the SFA is picked up by the SJFA, where the SJFA gets no financial benefit. Easier to let the guys down the corridor put an answer on a plate rather than getting out there knocking on a few doors.

Can the SJFA do ANYTHING on its own?

Be interesting to see how "awareness amongst fans and footballers" is raised, other than by saying "the Dyslexia Scotland Junior Cup". Or the "Dyslexia Scotland Scottish Junior Cup"?

The SJFA is clearly happy to drop the word Scottish from the title.

No offence to Dyslexia Scotland but this must be the least credible renaming of any football competition I have ever seen.

Or maybe it could be worse. http://bleacherreport.com/articles/1553923-25-worst-club-sponsors-in-world-football/

Brilliant riposte. No, really. Truly stunning. You should consider a career in pseudo journalism like the other scheme goblin in this thread. Lay off the excessive exclamation marks though - it makes you sound like a mallrat.

Oh dear.

From you in a thread about racial abuse at football matches:

http://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/index.php/topic/190684-verbal-abuse/#entry6762764

"What's unbelievable about the whole thing is how readily the police have gotten involved after receiving a complaint from an external body ( the ....whisper it in an entirely non-racist manner....Black Lawyers group),who by their own admission have based their complaint on nothing more than a newspaper report!!! Really???Has everybody gone frickin mental???? It's embarrassing to hear football players from all levels in the game complain when they get a bit of verbals from someone that they don't particularly like. These are the very same guys who berate and verbally abuse each other, opposition supporters and referees for 90 minutes, often in an aggressive manner. Don't get me wrong some of the stuff is relatively mild as well as amusing but there are plenty of instances at every game, of abuse that would get you lifted in the street if you done it in front of your local plods.Why should they hold the officials to a standard that they themselves fail to even recognise never mind try and adhere to??? They are a joke. Look at Rio Ferdinand waving his racist flag for all to see and threatening breakaway unions for black players......... Is this the same guy who was tweeting about "choc-ices" a few weeks ago???Theyre over-paid and tuned to the moon in the main and should concentrate on being better at what they're over-paid for doing........ *!x!**xrs......lol...."

:whistle

Yes..and your point is what exactly? The thread in question was titled Verbal Abuse (which I noticed you have used a bit of poetic licence to re-brand racial abuse) and the comments you`ve shown above are completely relevant to the topic they were posted in. So I`ll ask you again what is your point exactly? You printed an extract from a previous thread and completely ignored my question to you.

Pile of pish plain and simple.. The beaks are driving our game into the ground.fuckin wake up people.. am actually bored with it..

I think its refreshing. You ever thought maybe they can't get a sponsor so they might aswell get a charitys name with the cup. If your so clever you get a sponsor. Lets be realistic whos going to sponsor it. Most national businesses that are interested in football sponsor teams. We are in a struggling economy. Tell me whos going to sponsor it?

Agreed. This doesn`t exclude the SJFA from obtaining sponsorship from other parties either and what it will do is make them appear more attractive to potential sponsors who in the current climate look to align themselves with organisations who promote/support inclusion on any level.

are you for real..I can virtually put a promise to anyone on here that I could get the cup a sponsor..honestly can't even begin to imagine why you can't see how easy it is for someone to put there name to it..There was nobody sponsoring it am I right?..

Ok, two parts to my post - first off, do I think that it's acceptable to be making light of dyslexia and posting jokes - no I don't. I have a son recently diagnosed with this and it's been hard enough getting him thru primary school to this point without some loud mouth Arseholes coming on posting pish "jokes" belittling dyslexics ! For every Steven naismith, there are hundreds of kids out there hiding or withdrawn because of this attitude - feeling stupid or low. Perhaps it's because I'm a parent that my view is different but tough!

Secondly, do I think that this is the best headline name for the cup - no I don't. The powers that be could surely have made better efforts to garner more press exposure and publicity with an organisation who wouldn't even have to put in that much ?!. But we are where we unfortunately are and if this can raise awareness and perhaps make a few neanderthals think twice about posting their "fun" then it'll be worth it.

HTG

By the way we are not in a recession..The economy is not struggling,wish some folk would get educated before talking shite. Granted the economy is not booming but it is rising not falling..so struggling economy is bullshit.. I also know for a fact a certain company offered to sponsor and it was knocked back..

Ok, two parts to my post - first off, do I think that it's acceptable to be making light of dyslexia and posting jokes - no I don't. I have a son recently diagnosed with this and it's been hard enough getting him thru primary school to this point without some loud mouth Arseholes coming on posting pish "jokes" belittling dyslexics ! For every Steven naismith, there are hundreds of kids out there hiding or withdrawn because of this attitude - feeling stupid or low. Perhaps it's because I'm a parent that my view is different but tough!

Secondly, do I think that this is the best headline name for the cup - no I don't. The powers that be could surely have made better efforts to garner more press exposure and publicity with an organisation who wouldn't even have to put in that much ?!. But we are where we unfortunately are and if this can raise awareness and perhaps make a few neanderthals think twice about posting their "fun" then it'll be worth it.

HTG

was diagnosed dyslexic in high school..not once have I felt offended by anyone having a laugh at my affliction..The problem these days is everyone is offended at everything..big wow I struggled with writing and numbers.didn't hold me back and hasn't held anyone back too note..The fact of the matter is dyslexia is often a gain in life.go ask Richard Branson!

Good idea, got a touch of it myself. Some words I cannot spell no matter how many times I look them up.

Hope all goes well with the draw.

Cup Quarter final Day is me favourite of the season.

Although the 2 legged Semi Finals are good.

Please play one one a Sunday.

Let's Play a game famous people who have.. ..(one second so i can check the spelling)...... Dyslexia ...

I will start Jackie Stewart racing driver.

bucket loads of them mate..It's something that is now caught early and dealt with..I know of no case that has stopped anyone from getting on with life.. far far more troubling issues that need pushed out there for people to learn about.. A sponsorship was offered and they turned it down..so no money is better than some it seems.raise awareness! Who isn't aware of dyslexia

You`ve mentioned it on several occasions now so either put out in the public domain or stop going on about it. Who offered the sponsorship and under what terms?

This isn`t the forum for it but I`ll answer your statement anyways.You can be as flippant as you like about dyslexia, for every success story there are at least 10 other kids who have a different story to tell.The education system fails them, the college and university system fails them and mainstream society fails them. Best case scenario is they get a chance at a minimum wage, no prospect job and worst case scenario is they are branded as troublemakers within the education system and from there it`s a downward spiral, petty crime etc etc. So is it caught early and dealt with?? Really??? I can assure you it isn`t. It`s 2015 and still Primary Schools DO NOT have the necessary funding,specialist staff or resources to deal with it.

You`ve mentioned it on several occasions now so either put out in the public domain or stop going on about it. Who offered the sponsorship and under what terms?

This isn`t the forum for it but I`ll answer your statement anyways.You can be as flippant as you like about dyslexia, for every success story there are at least 10 other kids who have a different story to tell.The education system fails them, the college and university system fails them and mainstream society fails them. Best case scenario is they get a chance at a minimum wage, no prospect job and worst case scenario is they are branded as troublemakers within the education system and from there it`s a downward spiral, petty crime etc etc. So is it caught early and dealt with?? Really??? I can assure you it isn`t. It`s 2015 and still Primary Schools DO NOT have the necessary funding,specialist staff or resources to deal with it.

oh well junior football will let the country know about it then..And stagecoach offered to sponsor.they were turned down, good authority on this..rusty relationship from previous apparently,. I have nothing against raising awareness to afflictions in life but do you honestly believe this is gonna do anything for dyslexia or junior football? Seriously think about that..How many will see this on alba haha come on..

I'm between two stools on this one. Dyslexia is a real condition which is now, thankfully, diagnosed and treated. Yes, it's true that more could be done, but please don't be under the impression that kids slip through the net on this. The fact is that any teacher worth their salt wants to do all they can to help the students in their care and therefore points the problem out to parents and management. The parents then have to be co-operative with the process (not always guaranteed) before the exact diagnosis and strategies can be given to assist students in reading and writing.

The problem is that in a school day time is limited and class sizes mean that giving the BEST care is impossible. This coupled with the fact that not all teachers receive the correct training means that things are not perfect.

I also agree that this forum is not the correct place for this type of post but if anything it demonstrates that awareness is being raised, even in small ways like this. For me, it's good news that the Cup has someone associated with it at last, although maybe not the best solution for the game at large.

Having said all this, maybe we should all bow to Waffenmint, and his penchant for name calling and attaching daft whistling smileys, and just make ten year old jokes whenever someone mentions dyslexia.