Summer football

Krfc 10

The possibility of summer football has been merely mentioned by the SJFA, opinions sought but never looked at properly. The closest we got was distributing a copy of a report on summer football prepared for the SFA by Stephen Morrow of Stirling Uni. That report looked at the game overall and not at the Junior game in isolation.

If summer football was possible for the Juniors, it would need to promote itself as a better option compared with the senior game. This would mean making it more attractive to families with games in better weather and also more midweek games with the long nights. The result would include the advantage of increased press coverage as the media cry out for stories, and would catch senior supporters who want to take in a game while their big team is either not playing or playing in pointless end of season kickabouts.

However as long as the bowling season is in the summer the whole idea is a dead duck. Unless of course we believe there is a bigger market and support out there of people who don't play bowls. At many games you can watch the queues of doddery old guys handing over their 2 or is it 3 quid, discussing their medication or pending operations as they queue and of course they would be the first to complain about any changes to the game, summer football included.

To move ahead, you have to leave some people behind.

So back to your point, just because there has been no real move towards summer football does not mean it has been looked at beyond the 'hands up for summer football' technique of kicking it into the long grass.

where did you get this report and is it available for other clubs/fans to read ?

• Replies 327

Summer football for me i prefer training and playing in the so called better weather we have and didnt mind playing midweek or going to watch

would love to know what clubs save on training facilities buy not having to pay for expensive astros 2 nights a week or how much it costs for them to train through winter months

Summer football for me i prefer training and playing in the so called better weather we have and didnt mind playing midweek or going to watch

would love to know what clubs save on training facilities buy not having to pay for expensive astros 2 nights a week or how much it costs for them to train through winter months

.Great point. They would save A LOT OF MONEY.

Not 100% for summer fitba but no junior cups ties in winter is a feckin must and a break from mid Dec to mid Feb while it widnae solve the ye never know when it's gonna be bad scenario it would end all this is it on is it off,book the bus,cancel the bus,will a work,will a not pish we go through on here every winter.

Most junior clubs are amateur in all but name,some don't have pro's at all and some very few and the clubs that do pay decent wages would know when the break is coming and budget for it.

Best post on the topic so far IMO. Avoid the times where traditionally the really horrible weather is (even if the games are on, standing in sub Zero temps or driving rain/sleet isn't pleasant! And play more games when the weather is nice, attract the younger crowds, these guys will be the future of the game and are more influenced by the weather than some of the older generations.