The barras

I remember being asked 'do ya like designer gear?' at the Barras when I was 15 years old. I left looking the bees knees with all my Armamami gear and Lacross polo shirts.

It's ok though - even back then I could afford it.

Had an undercover stall there in the early nineties, background music was Nirvana (nevermind album) Had a pet stall which could sell all but live stock. was asked by a punter for sunflower seeds, and given a bag said could he have genuine ones!!!!??? It was an education!

Used to go up there every weekend for copied amiga games and live bootleg cassettes.

Last time I was up was a couple of years ago and I was surprised that it seemed in relatively rude health. Not much had changed which was surprising given Paddy's Market has gone to the big old pish soaked railway arch in the sky.

If you are looking for an SS officers cap, an exotic dildo, an old typewriter, 6 towels for £1.22 and some freshly baked donuts, basically anything you can't get in a normal, sane, shopping environment, The Barras is worth an hour or two of your time.

Aye, you're supposed to feel a nice glow about those fine Glasgow institutions, and reminisce nostalgically. Who remembers Paddy's market also? Fact is it's stalls selling substandard and fake tat. Some of the sales patter was good though with guys hawking new revolutionary decorating tools and so on. The good ones would gather a crowd: "I'm not asking for £10, I'm not asking for £5..." for some worthless piece of shit.

Is that where SDM honed his sales pitch to Craig Whyte?

And second hand false teeth.

Stay classy, Glasgow.

I had the misfortune to survey a council house in Ballingray many years ago and whilst going into the chap's kitchen was met with an array of glassware on the windowsill containing approximately 10 whole or half sets of gnashers steeped in cloudy water.

By the time I was down the road I convinced myself that the guy was an early purveyor of payday loans and the teeth were collateral.

I used to love going when I was wee.

A pal of my Granda's used to run a cafe right next to where they flogged the fake DVDs, all it took was for someone to shout "POLIS!" and the stall was packed up and they had disappeared in about 30 seconds.

Not been in ages but I've walked past it a few times recently and it looks finished, then again it's probably always been that much of a shitehole but I just never realised when I was young.

Great for whelks.

Eta: For buying whelks I should add. Probably not so great if you are an actual whelk.

Better still for Horse Mussels, or clabby doos as otherwise known.

ETA, it seems that Clabby Dhu is more correct.

It seems to be on its last legs these days - I was down that way a couple of months ago and took a wander in. Half the pitches seem to be empty, with most of the ones still open selling knock-off sports gear, dodgy DVDs and I kid you not, "pre-loved" scud books...

What did you get?

Missed the floppy disk phase (and, I assume, the tape phase that came before) of the Barras, but there were some cracking pirate CD compilations going around in the late '90s, back when CD burners weren't affordable for home users. £20 each, or 3 for £50. Does anyone still sell pirate software there?

Amazed the place is still going in the age of the internet, but I suppose there'll always be a call for somewhere to sell manky old (and likely illegal) tat face-to-face.

14waecg.jpg