Freebies & things you've won

BigMartyn86

1. Intempo Digital Radio from Virgin Radio about ten years ago. They used to run a competition everyday where listeners had to suggest a song they hadn't played in ages. I suggested Oasis- All Around The World and won a free radio which I still use to this day.

2. Le Coq Sportif rugby boots. They used to make a pair of boots with nine studs on each boot and when I was looking for them a couple of years ago I couldn't find them. I messaged them on twitter asking where I could buy a pair and they gave me a pair for free.

3. iPod nano I won it in my ships Xmas raffle in 2006 whilst down the gulf and it's still going strong today.

4. Painting of HMS Pembroke I entered a competition on Facebook and won a painting of one of my old ships.

5. Nuts T-shirt. Nuts sent out a shit load of freebies to us down the Falklands. T-shirts, magazines and posters which was a nice little morale boost for the lads.

1. A Grampian TV car sticker for painting a steam engine in a competition. I was 5. Disappointed.

2. A Kia-Ora T-shirt in a raffle when I was older. It was too small for me so my sister got it.

3. I briefly edited a fanzine in the 1990s- I got sent a promo CD by a band called the Nilon Bombers. They bombed.

4. Similarly I got a freebie football computer game which was being advertised by Jimmy Five Bellies Gardner. It was shite

5. I went to visit a friend in Helsinki and she took me to a recording of a Finnish TV game show- I have a mug and a bag with the name of the game show on it that we blagged because my friend said I had come all the way from Scotland...

1. Decent wedge on Who Wants to be a Millionaire about fifteen years ago. Still get the piss taken for "bottling" the next question - from people whose money it wasn't, natch.

2. Weekend in London from local radio station - shows, attractions etc. all in.

3. Copy of Microsoft Encarta on One To Win (shite Channel 5 Going for Gold rip-off) - got beat by Daphne from Eggheads.

4. Just short of a grand (25 years or so ago) on "Open The Box" in a local WMC where the in-laws were regulars but I, crucially, wasn't. Made for an uncomfortable last hour of the evening...

5. iPad Mini for attending a fringe lecture at last years Union Conference, and getting my number pulled out in the draw.

WhiteRoseKillie, on 10 Dec 2014 - 00:06, said:

1. Decent wedge on Who Wants to be a Millionaire about fifteen years ago. Still get the piss taken for "bottling" the next question - from people whose money it wasn't, natch.

2. Weekend in London from local radio station - shows, attractions etc. all in.

3. Copy of Microsoft Encarta on One To Win (shite Channel 5 Going for Gold rip-off) - got beat by Daphne from Eggheads.

4. Just short of a grand (25 years or so ago) on "Open The Box" in a local WMC where the in-laws were regulars but I, crucially, wasn't. Made for an uncomfortable last hour of the evening...

5. iPad Mini for attending a fringe lecture at last years Union Conference, and getting my number pulled out in the draw.

Any links to that episode?!

1, 'Lost' in a competition to win an Ayr home top, 2 months later i get an email from our sponsor bodog asking for my address and they send me the away top

2, Captains armband (black and white tae) from Mitre for doing movember

3, 1 can of Asda lager for being last in a quiz

4, Any of the free things you get in the paper, we get our papers gratis so its free free

5, I cant think of anything else, i dont win much anyway so there could be no more :lol:

1. £1.50 on the Grand National circa 1975 via my Mum's works sweep. The horses name was l'escargot and I remember the details because it was the first thing I'd ever won. I would have been about 12, so chose not to retire and live off my winnings.

2. A portable television from a client who visited my work. They gave us a presentation, then asked us a series of questions about what they'd just said and apparently I was the only one who'd been paying attention. I was riding a motorbike to work at the time so a co-worker drove 20 miles out of his way to bring it to my house, which was decent. I'm still friends with him on Facebook so it paid off for him though.

3. 2 bottles of wine at different points in a raffle. The b*****ds wouldn't give me the second (much better) one because "I had already won". Aye, you didn't have any problems selling me more than one ticket though, did you?

4. A 40 lb bag of dog food, also in a raffle. I didn't have a dog at the time.

5. A Sylvester the putty-tat stuffed toy, which I won for my girlfriend for throwing a wooden ball through a hoop at Blackpool. My mate's girlfriend was so jealous that she made him spend about 30 minutes trying to win her one. She only let him stop when he explained he could have bought about 10 of them by that time. I think my girlfriend would have been happy to give it to her but it was more fun watching her boil.

1. A DVD of The Beach in a neat little Stella Artois tin (designed to look like the circular tins you got old movie reels in). I won it after nicking a bottle of Stella off my old man. They were running a film contest at the time and the bottle I liberated from my father was a winner.

Crime totally pays.

2. Space Jam cards from a packet of Hula Hoops. They weren't in the packet obviously; it was a winning packet and I had to send away for them. My mum opened the parcel they came in. I was raging. What a bitch.

3. iPod Shuffle that I won in a pub quiz in Aberdeen. Our team won 2 (that was the prize for first place) and I bagged one as everyone else already had a proper iPod. Upsettingly I lost it in a hotel in Newcastle, along with a cool wee speaker I had for it.

4. A book of my choice from the Primary School library. I chose some story about a kid who gets a dragon. This was Primary 3 or 4 I think. I got it for being pupil of the year or some other swotty award. I had picked the book out beforehand and was to be presented it during the end of year ceremony after the Christmas play. I was Archangel Gabriel (bono estente!) and to collect my book in front of the whole school and loads of parents dressed like a tit.

5. Letter of the month in.Rock Sound magazine. I had emailed them in a fury that Iron Maiden's Dance Of Death album (one my favourite Maiden albums) hadn't made it on their top 50 albums of the year. The printed reply was that Maiden were too good and it would have been unfair to include them. It sounded to me like they forgot about it. I got a £30 voucher to spend on some online shop. I ordered a Metallica Ride The Lightning tshirt and a Fear Factory Demanufacture tshirt. Annoyingly the Fear Factory tshirt never arrived.

5. Belle and Sebastian - won their B-sides CD, a tshirt, bag, some badges and so on from a Jeepster competition back in the day.

4. Guinness stuff - have no interest in rugby, but was at work and my workmate was listening to 'The Rugby Show' I think it was called. This was a few years ago on a Sunday night. The question was who was the team of the week in the Six Nations. I didn't have a clue, but we both entered - him via text and me with with an e-mail that stated 'Scotland' and my address. And I won. 30 Guinness glasses, 60 cans of Guinness, an ugly plain black Guinness rugby shirt and something else. It took ages to come as well, about 3 months. Those glasses are stIll going strong.

3. Up $300 in a casino in the US from steady-Eddie card games and roulette, kept $150 and opted to throw the other $150 on red in my final roll of the night. It came in. And I probably spend it all the next night.

2. Won £500 odd quid on Louis Oosthuizen 200-1 e/w winning the Open in 2011. I've always backed South African players since that win. A lot of luck as he set off early on R2 (before that b*****d wind came in) scored well and sat back in the clubhouse seeing players scrambling to make pars whilst he was way out in lead.

1. First class flights from Los Angeles - New York - London. Flight was overbooked so was offered first class return in 2 days, plus 2 extra days stay in an airport hotel, with $40 food coupons to spend on grub. I'll probably never fly first class again as I'm a tinker, but certainly was an enjoyable experience.

1) Free teapot, big dictionary, pens etc for winning on Countdown.

2) Free entry and backstage at an Idlewild gig at the Barras. Came about due to pumping the sister of one of their support band.

3) Free admission to a Stirling v Raith game courtesy of the top man that is The Phoenix.

4) Surround system instead of a PS3 when I bought my older tv. Meant to be a package with the Playstation but I explained that I had one and they compromised.

5) Bottle of champagne for a wholly undeserved man of the match award in the Rovers 'Live the Dream' game.

1. Won a holiday to Cyprus for selling Sony stuff in my work. Done a 4x4 island safari , evening and dinner out on a £8m yacht and jet ski time. Sony bankrolled it , we got spending money for booze and they still ended up getting us pished every night , ended up taking most of the spending money home.

2. Won a 10" xperia 4g tablet for coming second in the above safari.

3. Won a years free Pure Gym membership as a spot prize doing the Moira's Run charity 5k in Queens Park.

4. Won 2 Babylon 5 videos signed by Claudia Christian.

1. A gold cross pen, for making the most appointments during final training week for Hilti in 1992. A bit of a cheat really as I just called in favours from customers from previous job, and added in those I knew I could just call on without appointments.

2. $400 on a lottery scratchcard in 2011, bought for me by my stepdaughters boyfriend. (I did split it with him)

3. A case (24 cans) of various Baxters soups after writing a letter of complaint after my white car was turned purple during beetroot season after on of their trucks leaked all the way from Mosstodloch to Elgin (when I finally got past him). Probably helped that I lived in Mosstodloch at the time.

4. 40oz bottle of whisky on the wheel of fortune at the school open day in 2009

5. Upgrade to business class on my last flight from Heathrow to O'Hare (2011) "We have a spare seat in business class if you'd like to upgrade sir? It's free."

1. Nought

2. Nothing

3. Zilch

4. Bugger all

5. F**k all

Outside of the occasional £40 on the lottery (play hotpicks) I must be the unluckest person ever. Can't remember winning anything.

I was once one number away from winning the half time draw at Celtic and I actually politely let the person in front of me buy the winning ticket!

1. £5000 from The Sun.

2. £2000 from the Scottish Daily Express.

3. All expenses paid trip to Magny Cours for Formula1 with The Daily Telegraph.

4. Bottle of Highland Park and Highland Park 'adventure pack'. Basically a compass, Swiss Army knife, hip flask and torch. From that radio station that isn't there anymore - Talk107. Simon Pia and some lady were the hosts.

5. Clothes from FHM.

Last thing I won was a pair of tickets to the Dundee United v St Johnstone Scottish Cup Final with Carling.

I've won quite a few smaller things over the years.

1) a bike from stationary box, apparently me and my mum entered a competition and were informed next time we went in. I was 8 and my mother still can't remember entering.

2) a VIP tour of the grouse experience at a football raffle. Given to my dad for Father's Day.

3) £250 in a free game at ladbrokes, spent instantly on clothes and booze.

4) hospitality for stenhousemuir v saints at ochilview in 2009. Mates dad got it through his work and gave it to us instead.

5) a bottle of whyte & mackay at a work raffle last year. Consumed over Christmas and was to blame for being hungover most of the 25th last year.

A pair of stonewash Wrangler jeans from Deadline magazine. The question was "which Starsky and Hutch star had a hit with Silver Lady?"

A black Fred Perry polo shirt from FHM.

A cheapo tablet from an arcade machine at Dunfermline bowling alley.

A picnic hamper in a raffle. It was the second prize, first prize was a fully restore MG Midget.

A Half Man Half Biscuit CD from a phone in on Dominic Diamond's radio show.