All things Dundee FC

Hateley will be well known in Poland having spent a couple of seasons there tbf.

Well aye, but was just curious whether you had any idea about it. Suppose Ziggy Gordon had links with Poland prior aswell, no idea about Barry Douglas though. Andy Halliday was linked aswell.

Just seems an odd jump to happen so commonly.

Well, well, well.

This might just be the best and worst news of the summer. I am so fucking happy that Tom 'Professor Hatred' Hateley has been told he can find a new club. Conversely, I am so fucking nervous that this absolute charlatan now needs to convince some other poor victim that he's worth a shot. There's a few things we can do here, but I fear that we'll have to employ the same trick Motherwell used when punting him to Poland; the age-old Gumtree Car Technique. After crashing or damaging your car, simply get it fixed enough to look and sound in good order, then lie through your teeth to any potential buyers. 'Oh, I'm only selling it because I want the new model. I don't get much use out of it. It's a great car, but I need something bigger.' Aye, right.

'Tom Hateley, aye. He's a quality, mobile, dead-ball specialist with leadership qualities. He's a hard worker that wants to mentor those around him and improve the team.'

What I'm trying to say, is that Tom Hateley is essentially a clapped out, Category D Volkswagen Golf GTI. I like to think I'm a pretty level-headed person, but I have simply never hated a Dundee player so much. Fingers cross someone takes him. I still think my execution idea was better.

Finally, he can take Haber with him IMO. I know he's well liked on here and I've already said this a few times, but I think he's a big donkey with next to no skill. I'd happily lose both from our squad — Moussa already looks better than him.

Edited by LiamDFC

If dundee can sign meekings and keep him fit it could be a brilliant signing, potentially one of the best CHs in the league outwith the old firm and Aberdeen.

Would really round of what's been a decent summer for me, if offloading Hateley (who's apparently one of the highest earners at the club) pays for Meekings then the clubs done fine for the summer.

If you were to compare a starting line up of:

Bain
Kerr
Meekings
O'Dea
Holt

Kamara
McGowan/Vincent/O'Hara

Deacon
Allen
Wolters/Williams/El Bak

Moussa

To the team that started last season, you'd say it's a massive improvement - based on what I've seen so far from Moussa, Deacon and Kamara.

I liked the look of Waddell on Saturday but think he'd be better off getting a full season of first team football under his belt out on loan somewhere than being a bit part player at Dundee.

Hateley has been a disappointment as a flagship signing that we paid for in high wages given the rumours at the time of where he was going in Scotland we got him as we paid more into his pocket. Unless we can do a decent selling job, I don't see him getting another club that easily. His impact was not very good, has he even scored a goal? He won't go if it means less dosh so we could very well be stuck. To be fair he put a magnificent pass through the Brechin defence the other day for Gowser to bury!!
This signing was a Hartley error and he won't be missed if we can offload him.

Haber on the other hand did make a contribution last year, although he's probably missed as many sitters as he has scored goals. I'm less convinced on losing him given that we now have two wingers who can cross the ball in, albeit Wolters hits it so hard and so long he must be used to pitches that are as wide as they are long in Holland. Last year we were playing as narrowly as a bit of spaghetti and I don't believe used his aerial ability to the best.

A fit Meekings, yes, but we've enough injured centre halves on the payroll atm.

It also has photos of Meekings in the crowd on Saturday and that Hateley has been told he's free to leave and he is interesting clubs in Europe.

Question is, which European clubs want Hately!? Airbus UK or Bala Town?

7 hours ago, Fifespud said:

I'm an optimist so I'd say yes.

Ok help me finish this -

There was a young loon from east of Dobbies,
Who liked to suck other United fans' boabies,
He thought Tangerine was fab,
Stupid, tobe sooking DAB,
And the sleeves of his new strip looks like jobbies.

31 minutes ago, K.T said:

Very slim because I don't think we'll be seeing James McPake play ever again.

Would love to have a fit again McPake tho - him and O'Dea are probably the most derried up players we've had in a while (excluding Cammy coz he's one of us)

I reckon Gowser and Gadz love the Dee too.

I think it's harsh to blame Hateley on Hartley, as I imagine most of us would have jumped on the chance to sign him at the time.
That doesn't mean he wasn't pish. So glad he is potentially on the way out. 

Maybe but I wouldn't have given the c**t a 3 year deal.

If Meekings' injury problems over the past two seasons don't turn out to be chronic, then you've made an excellent signing. Obviously a different sort of player from the three you've signed from us over the last few seasons, but he's also a class above them. He's an absolute unit and commanding in the air, but also very quick across the ground and times tackles brilliantly  If he hadn't got injured early in 2015-16 then I would have expected to lose him to the English Championship in the January or at the end of that season. Genuinely wish him all the best with you.