Opening night's results:

U20s League
LTHV 3-7 BSCG
Mid Annandale 1-2 Burntisland
Spartans 9-0 Bonnyton

U20s Qualifying League
(Section B) Tynecastle 1-4 Selkirk
(Section C) Edinburgh City 3-5 Cumbernauld

As the Lowland & East of Scotland U20s have grown the SYFA South-East U21s have shrunk, down to 6 clubs this season but Leith Athletic are among them:

http://seryfa-online.info/age-group/u21s/u21s-league-tables-2017-2018

6 minutes ago, HibeeJibee said:

Excellent results in Scottish Youth Cup R1 yesterday... Whitehill won 3-2 at Cowdenbeath, EK beat Airdrie 4-1.

Selkirk prevailed 1-0 at Bonnyton, while Mid Annandale only exited very narrowly 4-3 at Stranraer.

My nerves are still shredded Hibee. Our young lads were outstanding yesterday. 3-1 up and then lost a goal, a man and needed stunning save from Ross Jardine and the post to hold on! 

After a tough season last year, when he had to start again from scratch, Ian has got a good side together. 

• 4 weeks later...

Once again commendable results in Youth Cup R2:

Sunday 24th September
Tynecastle 1-4 Cumbernauld

Friday 29th September
Edusport 1-0 BSCG
LTHV 0-4 Stirling Albion
St Mirren 4-0 Heriot-Watt University

Sunday 1st October
Berwick 1-2 Stirling Uni
Burntisland 3-2 Livingston
Edinburgh City 0-1 Raith
Stranraer 2-0 Selkirk
Whitehill 0-4 EK

Join at R3 - Spartans

Edited by HibeeJibee

Was out watching our U20s at Saughton tonight beat Tynecastle 4-0 to make it 5 league  wins a row ! 3 goals in the last few minutes were harsh on the home side but a deserved win. 

With BSC losing ourselves and Spartans are both 3 points off the top with a game in hand. 

Was down in Lockerbie on Friday night saw our U20s beat Mids 3-1. A 7th straight win in the league that took them top.

A few teams with games in hand behind also with only 3 dropped points shaping up to be a good season. 

IMG_0289.JPG

• 2 months later...

Dramatic night tonight. Was through at Broadwood where Whitehill were impressive in a 3-0 win away to 2nd placed Cumbernauld. Elsewhere Spartans and Heriot-Watt were beaten away to Bonnyton and Edusport so Whitehill only behind Spartans now on goal difference. 

I went to BSC Glasgow v LTHV at Scotstoun last night (would have been at Cumbernauld watching the Welfare if I'd realised that's where the game was. Thought it was at Lasswade until I saw Broadwood on Twitter 2 minutes before kick off!)

Really good competitive 1-1 draw, both sides had chances to win.

I'll be back at Scotstoun for BSC v Whitehill in 2 weeks.

25 minutes ago, nakedrambler said:

Was informed yesterday  Hawick royal Albert ex manager and coaches  took Edinburgh city for there first game yesterday.Could anyone confirm?If true what a fantastic appointment.

Aye fantastic that you stopped posting anything HRA for a while and all off a sudden come oot wi this.  :lol:

P.S. Oor manager signed an ex Hawick player this week :whistle

Edited by newcastle broon

24 minutes ago, nakedrambler said:

Was informed yesterday  Hawick royal Albert ex manager and coaches  took Edinburgh city for there first game yesterday.Could anyone confirm?If true what a fantastic appointment.

All the best in the new job. 

• 4 weeks later...
  • 2 months later...

Congratulations to Heriot-Watt University - who effectively won the Lowland & EOS U20s Development League tonight (they could still be caught on points by Cumbernauld but are over 20 ahead on GD). For a university team to win this tough competition, hampered by the need to rely on 'freshers' & some 2nd years and raise XIs before the start of the academic year and during holidays, stands as one of the greatest achievements in any sphere of the non-league game in recent times (IMO anyway)... Huge credit should go not only to their players, but also Banjo Koya and Alasdair Matheson etc. other side of the white lines, for this outstanding achievement in a league of ever-increasing quality and competitiveness.