Sportsound Watch

Chick Young wrote the BBC report on the Airdrie-Partick LC game the night before and there seemed a rather out of place part in the middle about the crowd being only 1,300 (which isn't great admittedly but equally is more than Airdrie usually get). Given his comments at the Celtic-Wolfsburg game the next day... which as noted they actually had live coverage from, even though it was a friendly?... I wonder if he hadn't already decided to pursue that angle before a ball was kicked.

Edited by HibeeJibee

14 hours ago, HibeeJibee said:

Chick Young wrote the BBC report on the Airdrie-Partick LC game the night before and there seemed a rather out of place part in the middle about the crowd being only 1,300 (which isn't great admittedly but equally is more than Airdrie usually get). Given his comments at the Celtic-Wolfsburg game the next day... which as noted they actually had live coverage from, even though it was a friendly?... I wonder if he hadn't already decided to pursue that angle before a ball was kicked.

Crowd was 1600.

1000 Thistle, 600 Airdrie.

Not Sportsound, but Billy Brown was interviewed on Radio Scotland news earlier to offer his opinion on Hearts' embarrassing European exit last night.

It was everything you would expect from the dribbling simpleton. Comical Ali-esq deflection.

"yeev goat tae remember Hertz hit the bar, missed a penalty and hid a guid goal disallowed over there. If that goal hid stood, Hertz would a went through". Presumably the presenter didn't have the heart (see what I did there) to explain how the away goal rule works.

He then went on to explain why Scottish clubs are failing in Europe so early on, so regularly to supposedly inferior opposition. "The players just arnae guid enough! We used tae huv players like Gascoigne and Larrson, now we havnae goat the players" 

He suggested that we should return to playing the "traditional Scottish way". The presenter asked what he meant by that, did he mean negative, long-ball football? He said that Scotland has never been a long-ball nation but failed to offer an explanation as to what "traditional Scottish way" actually means. He also said "there's too much emphasis on possession and no enough emphasis on points".

I fully expect Brown to be appointed as the SFA's new Performance Director.

18 hours ago, Hammer Jag said:

Not Sportsound, but Billy Brown was interviewed on Radio Scotland news earlier to offer his opinion on Hearts' embarrassing European exit last night.

It was everything you would expect from the dribbling simpleton. Comical Ali-esq deflection.

"yeev goat tae remember Hertz hit the bar, missed a penalty and hid a guid goal disallowed over there. If that goal hid stood, Hertz would a went through". Presumably the presenter didn't have the heart (see what I did there) to explain how the away goal rule works.

He then went on to explain why Scottish clubs are failing in Europe so early on, so regularly to supposedly inferior opposition. "The players just arnae guid enough! We used tae huv players like Gascoigne and Larrson, now we havnae goat the players" 

He suggested that we should return to playing the "traditional Scottish way". The presenter asked what he meant by that, did he mean negative, long-ball football? He said that Scotland has never been a long-ball nation but failed to offer an explanation as to what "traditional Scottish way" actually means. He also said "there's too much emphasis on possession and no enough emphasis on points".

I fully expect Brown to be appointed as the SFA's new Performance Director.

I caught this on the way home from work yesterday and nearly crashed my car laughing at his comments. He also said we had to get the likes of Walter Smith, Archie Knox and Jim Jeffries back to sort things out :lol:

57 minutes ago, RiG said:

I caught this on the way home from work yesterday and nearly crashed my car laughing at his comments. He also said we had to get the likes of Walter Smith, Archie Knox and Jim Jeffries back to sort things out :lol:

And him no doubt too.

Walter Smith ffs.  The absolute Oxford Dictionary definition of both the term 'Dinosaur' and 'Chequebook Manager'.  Lauded as some sort of football manager messiah for winning about 352 league titles at Rangers with zero monetary competition, even from their business partners across the city.

Some achievement.

How can the Pundit at McDiarmid Park decide Saints v Falkirk is Scotland's Game of the Day? 

It is the Game of the Day, but only for St Johnstone and Bairns fans. 

The Fans of the other 28 Clubs have their own Games of the Day and dinnae give a toss what's going on in Perth. 

Jesus Wept. 

The only Game of the Day is the Match a supporter goes too and that is his because he is a fan of one of the Teams playing. 

No fan gives a f**k about any other Match played that  day. 

And the most entertaining Match will not be known till all Games that day are completed. 

Even then.. 

COSMFC 

On 23 July 2016 at 15:54, shull said:

The only Game of the Day is the Match a supporter goes too and that is his because he is a fan of one of the Teams playing. 

No fan gives a f**k about any other Match played that  day. 

And the most entertaining Match will not be known till all Games that day are completed. 

Even then.. 

COSMFC 

Load of pish . So St mirren for example were away to Livingston on the Saturday at 3pm and it were Barcelona v Real Madrid at 2100pm that night you wouldn't be interested at all in the Barcelona v Real Madrid game because you believe that Livingston v St mirren is the game of the day? 

Are you billy brown in disguise coming out with nonsense like you quoted? 

5 hours ago, Hertha/BJFC1938 said:

Load of pish . So St mirren for example were away to Livingston on the Saturday at 3pm and it were Barcelona v Real Madrid at 2100pm that night you wouldn't be interested at all in the Barcelona v Real Madrid game because you believe that Livingston v St mirren is the game of the day? 

g

Are you billy brown in disguise coming out with nonsense like you quoted? 

Correct

Livingston v St Mirren would be my Game of the Day, no matter who else is playing

Absoulutely no interest in Spanish Football or really any other if the Saints are playing..

The "ongoing situation" between the BBC and Sevco still not resolved, so they're commentating from the studio tonight.

Do we think they'd bother with any coverage at all if this were an "ongoing situation" any other club (bar one)? 

On 25/07/2016 at 18:38, The Master said:

The "ongoing situation" between the BBC and Sevco still not resolved, so they're commentating from the studio tonight.

Do we think they'd bother with any coverage at all if this were an "ongoing situation" any other club (bar one)? 

Yes.