Irregular public funding.

Cases before the EU Competition Commission

Firstly there is the case of PSV Eindhoven. The Independent on 7th August 2013, as well as reporting on the Spanish clubs receiving State Aid benefits also mentioned the cases of five Dutch clubs: http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/european/real-madrid-and-barcelonas-privileged-status-set-to-remain-for-now-8751143.html

Yet the competition office has confirmed to The Independent that it is in the advanced stages of an investigation into five Dutch clubs over illegal state aid. PSV Eindhoven, NEC Nijmegen, Willem II, Den Bosch and MVV Maastricht all face serious allegations of receiving illegal state aid from their local municipal authorities, mainly on land deals.

Reuters reported in the PSV Eindhoven case that: http://uk.reuters.com/article/2013/03/06/uk-netherlands-soccer-eu-idUKBRE9250EV20130306

In one case, the council of Eindhoven bought and leased back land worth 48.4 million euros (41.77 million pounds) from local club PSV, the Commission said.

The other case is with Real Madrid and Madrid City Council which relates to land transactions close to their ground: http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/european/exclusive-real-madrid-under-investigation-amid-allegations-of-illegal-state-aid-8557550.html

The investigation into Real’s deal with Madrid city council centres upon an area of land in the north of the city, Las Tablas. Having originally been valued at €421,000 when it was part of a payment by the council to the club in 1998; the same land was then valued at €22.7m in 2011, a 5,400 per cent rise, when the council decided they had to take it back. In lieu of a €22.7m payment, the club was given the land they needed to develop their stadium.

Although both cases are not direct comparisons with the Lennoxtown and Westhorn properties, the Celtic FC case with undervalued payments and the transfer of wealth by the latter method are more clear cut than Eindhoven and Real Madrid cases.

What does the EU State Aid legislation say?

EU State Aid Legislation

The full UK State Aid document is:https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/15277/National_State_Aid_Law_Requirements.pdf

and the relevant clauses are:

is-there-a-transfer-of-state-aid-resourc

Note in 4.3 that Greater Glasgow Health Board and Glasgow City Council are considered to represent the Member State, the UK. This case will be taken against and is therefore an embarrassment for the UK government, which naturally will not appreciate being put in this position by the Scottish government and Glasgow City Council.

And do both the Lennoxtown and Westhorn undervalued transfers fall under the legislation? Check paragraph 4.9.7 below:

forms-of-transfer.png?w=750

And there is no need to prove corruption or fraud, it’s only the effect which counts, and that was asubsidisation of wealth allowing Celtic FC to have £35-40 Million more in team building funds.

4-10-effect-that-matters.png?w=750

And what are the consequences of any case being proven? According to a sports law article byBauerle and Maier of McDermott Will & Emery: http://www.natlawreview.com/article/european-commissions-launches-first-state-aid-investigations-football-clubs

According to general EU State aid rules, the Commission may investigate public support measuresgoing back ten years. Should the Commission come to the conclusion that the financing of a professional sports club infringes State aid rules, it can order the Netherlands to recover the aid from the clubs. The relevant public support measures could no longer be applied and all financial advantages granted to the clubs would have to be recovered.

The full extra financial benefit obtained has to be repaid. Celtic FC will have to pay the extra value for the Lennoxtown training land back the The Scottish Government and the Glasgow City Council for the Westhorn land and the taxpayers & ratepayers. That will be approx. £35-40 Million.

• Replies 444

Cases before the EU Competition Commission

Firstly there is the case of PSV Eindhoven. The Independent on 7th August 2013, as well as reporting on the Spanish clubs receiving State Aid benefits also mentioned the cases of five Dutch clubs: http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/european/real-madrid-and-barcelonas-privileged-status-set-to-remain-for-now-8751143.html

Yet the competition office has confirmed to The Independent that it is in the advanced stages of an investigation into five Dutch clubs over illegal state aid. PSV Eindhoven, NEC Nijmegen, Willem II, Den Bosch and MVV Maastricht all face serious allegations of receiving illegal state aid from their local municipal authorities, mainly on land deals.

Reuters reported in the PSV Eindhoven case that: http://uk.reuters.com/article/2013/03/06/uk-netherlands-soccer-eu-idUKBRE9250EV20130306

In one case, the council of Eindhoven bought and leased back land worth 48.4 million euros (41.77 million pounds) from local club PSV, the Commission said.

The other case is with Real Madrid and Madrid City Council which relates to land transactions close to their ground: http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/european/exclusive-real-madrid-under-investigation-amid-allegations-of-illegal-state-aid-8557550.html

The investigation into Real’s deal with Madrid city council centres upon an area of land in the north of the city, Las Tablas. Having originally been valued at €421,000 when it was part of a payment by the council to the club in 1998; the same land was then valued at €22.7m in 2011, a 5,400 per cent rise, when the council decided they had to take it back. In lieu of a €22.7m payment, the club was given the land they needed to develop their stadium.

Although both cases are not direct comparisons with the Lennoxtown and Westhorn properties, the Celtic FC case with undervalued payments and the transfer of wealth by the latter method are more clear cut than Eindhoven and Real Madrid cases.

What does the EU State Aid legislation say?

EU State Aid Legislation

The full UK State Aid document is:https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/15277/National_State_Aid_Law_Requirements.pdf

and the relevant clauses are:

is-there-a-transfer-of-state-aid-resourc

Note in 4.3 that Greater Glasgow Health Board and Glasgow City Council are considered to represent the Member State, the UK. This case will be taken against and is therefore an embarrassment for the UK government, which naturally will not appreciate being put in this position by the Scottish government and Glasgow City Council.

And do both the Lennoxtown and Westhorn undervalued transfers fall under the legislation? Check paragraph 4.9.7 below:

forms-of-transfer.png?w=750

And there is no need to prove corruption or fraud, it’s only the effect which counts, and that was asubsidisation of wealth allowing Celtic FC to have £35-40 Million more in team building funds.

4-10-effect-that-matters.png?w=750

And what are the consequences of any case being proven? According to a sports law article byBauerle and Maier of McDermott Will & Emery: http://www.natlawreview.com/article/european-commissions-launches-first-state-aid-investigations-football-clubs

According to general EU State aid rules, the Commission may investigate public support measuresgoing back ten years. Should the Commission come to the conclusion that the financing of a professional sports club infringes State aid rules, it can order the Netherlands to recover the aid from the clubs. The relevant public support measures could no longer be applied and all financial advantages granted to the clubs would have to be recovered.

The full extra financial benefit obtained has to be repaid. Celtic FC will have to pay the extra value for the Lennoxtown training land back the The Scottish Government and the Glasgow City Council for the Westhorn land and the taxpayers & ratepayers. That will be approx. £35-40 Million.

GCC is full of your lot. It's a serious subject. You clearly don't have the intellectual capacity to take it all in but GCC is on the back ropes regarding this subject.

My lot?

I'd wager in every organisation across the nation you'll find guy who support a football team working for them, it's not uncommon champ. Might be hard for you to understand but not everyone lives a life engulfed by Celtic or sevco, especially with work, it is possible to separate them

oh aye, GCC are skint, they couldn't afford to give Celtic any financial help.

Did you get a new tin foil hat for christmas?

My lot?

I'd wager in every organisation across the nation you'll find guy who support a football team working for them, it's not uncommon champ. Might be hard for you to understand but not everyone lives a life engulfed by Celtic or sevco, especially with work, it is possible to separate them

The Scottish Government in 2006, allowed the transfer of a £30+ Million 19.53 hectare property nearGlasgow, at Lennoxtown, for the heavily discounted (1/60th of the valuation) price of £497,000 to be transferred to Celtic FC for their training facility via the signature of one person, the CEO of Greater Glasgow Health Board.

That's one hell of a fucking discount is it not???

My lot?

The "skint" Glasgow city council selling 5.33 hectares of land for £675,000, when it's worth between £5/10 million? Another massive discount is it not?

If you're from Glasgow you'll know they are massively skint, and struggling badly.

As for the rest...

If you're from Glasgow you'll know they are massively skint, and struggling badly.

As for the rest...

I am from Glasgow. This is actual facts you have here. You're obviously a bit of a thicko and you can't see what's in front of you.

It's all going tits up for the teams who have been using "public funding" and a quick search of google and you will see they're clamping down on it and investigating teams throughout Europe. Celtic have clear been using public funding with the massive discounts they have been getting on public land.

The Scottish Government in 2006, allowed the transfer of a £30+ Million 19.53 hectare property nearGlasgow, at Lennoxtown, for the heavily discounted (1/60th of the valuation) price of £497,000 to be transferred to Celtic FC for their training facility via the signature of one person, the CEO of Greater Glasgow Health Board.

That's one hell of a fucking discount is it not???

EBT's,Tax avoidance and institutional cheating for over a decade ya bampot, just so fuds like you can bang on about 54 titles,world records and WATP muvafuka.

Where's Gogsy when you need him :1eye .

I am from Glasgow. This is actual facts you have here. You're obviously a bit of a thicko and you can't see what's in front of you.

It's all going tits up for the teams who have been using "public funding" and a quick search of google and you will see they're clamping down on it and investigating teams throughout Europe. Celtic have clear been using public funding with the massive discounts they have been getting on public land.

Back to Ragers Mejia wi you me thinks where you belong :1eye .

Another person who can't add to the debate. Sheer numbskullery.

So, throughout your tirade of outrage at this news (which is not new & smacks of desperation due to the parts you have left out), you mention the 'case against Celtic FC.

Can you tell me who has brought this case, and to which authority?

Is it a fiscal case? criminally fraudulent? Maybe it's just a case for the higher Europen football authority?

Have you brought this case?

Has it been actively persued by the many legal minds available to the crooks in the blue room?

Or maybe it's just tired old straw clutching.

I would like to know if there actually is a case, or if it's just a case of you being a headcase?

In your defence it should be remembered that being paranoid doesn't mean you are wrong.

It's just possible the whole world really IS against you.

Another person who can't add to the debate. Sheer numbskullery.

You aren't bringing anything to the debate, is this the level of desperation you fallen too ?. Oh but look here what Celtic are doing when your old club went to any level possible to cheat it's opposition but hide in a legal sense so that they could get away with it if they got caught.

You want Celtic to fail so badly at everything by any means possible you will crow from the rooftops with it forgetting that your old club was corrupt to the core.

It's all about Celtic with you and how you are hurting so badly that they could win 10 titles plus on the row eclipsing your old corrupt clubs world record of top tier title honours. You are hurting that Celtic fans in the future will rub your face in it that their club is so much more successful than yours whilst your new club is still being fleeced by spivs who promise each season they will stop Celtic on a shoe string budget.

We all feel your pain and we are laughing at you :) .

So, throughout your tirade of outrage at this news (which is not new & smacks of desperation due to the parts you have left out), you mention the 'case against Celtic FC.

Can you tell me who has brought this case, and to which authority?

Is it a fiscal case? criminally fraudulent? Maybe it's just a case for the higher Europen football authority?

Have you brought this case?

Has it been actively persued by the many legal minds available to the crooks in the blue room?

Or maybe it's just tired old straw clutching.

I would like to know if there actually is a case, or if it's just a case of you being a headcase?

In your defence it should be remembered that being paranoid doesn't mean you are wrong.

It's just possible the whole world really IS against you.

It's clearly a matter of time though and I'm positive it will be brought to the attention of the people who matter. The likes of Real Madrid, Barcelona etc are currently getting investigated. As I have shown you above Celtic have been receiving irregular public funding.
Do you wish to explain the reason for the HUGE discount of land which Celtic received?

You aren't bringing anything to the debate, is this the level of desperation you fallen too ?. Oh but look here what Celtic are doing when your old club went to any level possible to cheat it's opposition but hide in a legal sense so that they could get away with it if they got caught.

You want Celtic to fail so badly at everything by any means possible you will crow from the rooftops with it forgetting that your old club was corrupt to the core.

It's all about Celtic with you and how you are hurting so badly that they could win 10 titles plus on the row eclipsing your old corrupt clubs world record of top tier title honours. You are hurting that Celtic fans in the future will rub your face in it that their club is so much more successful than yours whilst your new club is still being fleeced by spivs who promise each season they will stop Celtic on a shoe string budget.

We all feel your pain and we are laughing at you :) .

Is that your professional opinion?

No Benny, that's the gospel of the corrupt cheating feckers :) . I'm surprised the now resident fud preacher missed that wee golden nugget, he doesn't even know what the truth is :1eye .

It's clearly a matter of time though and I'm positive it will be brought to the attention of the people who matter. The likes of Real Madrid, Barcelona etc are currently getting investigated. As I have shown you above Celtic have been receiving irregular public funding. 

Do you wish to explain the reason for the HUGE discount of land which Celtic received? 

Hiya Chris :)