The All New Occasionally Aussie P+B Quiz League and ☕ Occasional Cup ☕

Right. Most of the results are in, except Old Kincy ... I hope all is well in his quarter (although I won't have any qualms turning up to his funeral to serve his family his relegation papers). 

Well done to AlanG who romped it in the end. Frankie brings up the rear. Peasy is down and LeedsSaint might be following him. 

Position Team Trophy Cabinet Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Total
1 Alang1993 7x© 3x② 1xBZ 9 6 8 10 9 42
2 Frankie S 1x© 2x② 8 8 7 8 7 38
3 WhiteRoseKillie 11x© 3x② 9 8 7 7 5 36
4 pleslie99 1xBZ 8 7 7 7 7 36
5 Audaces Fortuna Juvat 2x② 9 6 7 6 7 35
6 Deej 1x© 4x② 1xBZ 7 7 5 7 8 34
7 WILLIEA 2x© 8 7 7 7 3 32
8 Cowden0 1xBZ 6 7 6 6 7 32
9 Arabdownunder 3x© 1x② 8 4 5 8 7 32
10 Eednud 4x② 2xBZ 7 6 6 6 6 31
11 Scotfree   9 5 5 7 5 31
12 Eckthearab 6x② 1xBZ 7 3 6 9 5 30
13 Tynieness 1x© 1x② 1xBZ 5 3 6 7 9 30
14 Leeds Saint 1x© 2x② 7 8 4 5 4 28
15 Peasy23   7 5 6 4 6 28
16 The_Kincardine   8 6 6     20

Now for the cup!!!!!!!

[mention=62563]eckthearab[/mention] can't receive messages. 
I'm guessing that means my 3+4 = 7 is null and void, and we have to have a requiz. 
Woo hoo!!!!!

Looks like I'll have to delete some messages hope you're taking the proverbial with giving yer actual score Cardy?

2 hours ago, Cardinal Richelieu said:

Right. Most of the results are in, except Old Kincy ... I hope all is well in his quarter (although I won't have any qualms turning up to his funeral to serve his family his relegation papers). 

Nae luck, Cardi.  My corpse isn't on a flaming longboat from the Broomielaw to Valhalla but alive and well in Bucks.  I did, though, have a couple of days in slatternly Brighton.  Sadly not a Kiss Me Quick hat nor any how's your father in sight but a series of dull meetings.  

Clearly dulled my wits too as I just took the quizzes and scored 6 for Thur and 4 for Fri.

Well done to AlanG who romped it in the end. Frankie brings up the rear. Peasy is down and LeedsSaint might be following him. 

2 Frankie S 1x© 2x② 8 8 7 8 7 38
12 Eckthearab 6x② 1xBZ 7 3 6 9 5 30
13 Tynieness 1x© 1x② 1xBZ 5 3 6 7 9 30
14 Leeds Saint 1x© 2x② 7 8 4 5 4 28
15 Peasy23   7 5 6 4 6 28
16 The_Kincardine   8 6 6     20

Now for the cup!!!!!!!

I know it's a tough league, but since when was runners up spot in the Premiership 'bringing up the rear'? 

Btw, I've 'brought up the rear' four times now, so that should be 4x2 rather than 2x2.

16 hours ago, Frankie S said:

I know it's a tough league, but since when was runners up spot in the Premiership 'bringing up the rear'? 

Btw, I've 'brought up the rear' four times now, so that should be 4x2 rather than 2x2.

Aye, not sure what I was thinking. Anyway, here is the amended league. Kincardine finds himself in the play-off due to goal difference. 

2 Frankie S 1x© 4x② 8 8 7 8 7 38
12 Tynieness 1x© 1x② 1xBZ 5 3 6 7 9 30
13 Eckthearab 6x② 1xBZ 7 3 6 9 5 30
14 The_Kincardine   8 6 6 6 4 30
15 Leeds Saint 1x© 2x② 7 8 4 5 4 28
16 Peasy23   7 5 6 4 6 28

So the play-off question is for @The_Kincardine and @dee_62 ... PM the answer to the following question. Closest person gains Premiership status next season...

How many cities are there in England?

That's the results in... I asked how many cities there are in England. Kincardine was querying what constitutes a city ... well, for it to qualify, it has to be awarded city status - having a city doesn't qualify it automatically. 

Anyway, there are 51 in England. Here's a list of them (didn't know Westminster and London qualified as separate cities). Dee_62 went for 30 and Kincardine 59. So unlucky Dee_62, and well done to Kincardine who retains his Premiership status next season. 

That's the results in... I asked how many cities there are in England. Kincardine was querying what constitutes a city ... well, for it to qualify, it has to be awarded city status - having a city doesn't qualify it automatically. 
Anyway, there are 51 in England. Here's a list of them (didn't know Westminster and London qualified as separate cities). Dee_62 went for 30 and Kincardine 59. So unlucky Dee_62, and well done to Kincardine who retains his Premiership status next season. 

Well done T_K. Disappointed with my final guess. My original thought was 60 (about 10x the size of Scotland so, about 10 x the amount Scotland has...glad to see I would have lost with that guess too).

Ya cheeky wee scamp....you know fine well I went for my age as my guess so that would be 57 rather than 59!

BTW I would have known that the City of London is't the same as the City of Westminster and I get irked when people use 'the City of London' as a phrase when they mean something different to the square mile.

18 minutes ago, dee_62 said:

Well done T_K. Disappointed with my final guess. My original thought was 60 (about 10x the size of Scotland so, about 10 x the amount Scotland has...glad to see I would have lost with that guess too).

Hard lines, bud.  You'll be fine next week.  Too good to stay down etc...

2 hours ago, eckthearab said:

Evening all. Just to say am just waiting on his eminence to pm his scores for the full set for cup games. That is unless he did actually post his sores here yesterday

Aye. I did post my "sore" ... :)

3+4. A pissing disaster!

16 hours ago, eckthearab said:

Evening all. Just to say am just waiting on his eminence to pm his scores for the full set for cup games. That is unless he did actually post his sores here yesterday

Mon then, put us out of our misery.

Edited by welshbairn

Sorry folks being working all weekend and am shattered but here is the Diddly Dee Jamjar Trophy quarter final results show.

So straight to the first match

FrankieS v The_Kincardine

What a match, seriously this was a cracker. Both sides absolutely went for it. Not a day to defend, this was all out attack. Scoring went to and fro though neither side able to gain an advantage. All square in a high scoring half 6-6. No sign of tiredness in the second half with both continuing to batter away at each other's ends. Another barrage of point but still they couldn't be split at the end. Second half 5-5, 11-11 final score so a replay on this tie.

LeedsSaint v Eednud

Another match where the teams couldn't be split. Eednud going in at the break with a single point lead, 5-4. If you haven't guessed what's coming next then you surely weren't paying attention. Leeds took the second 5-4 so 9-9 final score and another replay.

Cardinal Richelieu v WillieA

Tight scoring again in this one though WillieA took a point lead into the second, 4-3. Cardy trying to pull it back in the second and had to go for it. This allowed Willie to hit on the break an he broke Cardys heart with another single point win second half, 5-4 for a 9-7 win.

Welshbairn v Whiterosekillie

Could Welshie Spring a surprise here? Well he managed to keep it close only behind by a point at the break. WRK leads 5-4 at the half. Second half Welshie gave it everything and the tie was never over till the very end. Welshie unable to gain the extra point needed but managed a respectable second half draw, 6-6. Final score WRK wins 11-10.

Tiebreak question will be set tomorrow morning folks so tune in then once I've managed to get some much needed sleep.