Poker

Karpaty

Anyone play? Live or online? Casino or pubs? Fave players, memorable hands?

WSOP Main Event Final Table starts tonight at midnight GMT. ESPN normally with the coverage.

Wasn't sure where to place this thread but discuss all matters poker here.

• Replies 221

If you want some great laughs, watch the Sky Poker channel:

http://www.skypoker.com/cms/poker_live_tv.shtm?dcmp=p_tv_865

Nothing funnier than watching someone (probably drunk) with only a high card raising the stakes right down to the last card & those with genuine good hands folding because they think no one could be that suicidal.

That's the annoying thing when playing free rolls and such like, folk push all in preflop with pish and you could be with a very playable hand and get unlucky. I normally wait a wee while so they all knock each other out before playing hands.

I play a fair bit. Not on a huge ammount on Sky Poker although I did final table their big Sunday tournament several years ago.

I mainly play on Pokerstars. In tournaments its Hold Em and PLO or Razz for cash (yeah pretty random game selection). Probably my best moment was playing in the Bounty Stars of Poker on Sky TV a few years ago.

I don't play many freerolls these days but i'm actually an advocate of pushing all in early on. The benefits of a playing with a bigger stack outweigh that of playing it tight. Especially as they tend to have fast blind levels and the payout is usually very top heavy. Even if you lose it doesn't matter as it was only a free roll.

I used to play a lot online and live. I paid for three of my four years at University playing poker online back in the glory days of Party Poker where it really was a site to trawl for drunk donks. It was incredibly easy for me. I multi tabled six tables at 0.25c/0.50c cash games and hoovered up the drunk Americans coin on a very early Sunday morning. I would also hit the cash games in the casinos in Aberdeen. The International Casino used to have a £1/£2 cash game which was dealers choice. Everyone chose NL Holdem apart from me, I was a dick and played Pot Limit Omaha. The donkeys that would call your all in with one diamond because it was the Ace and there was four on the board was comical.

More recently I played on Pokerstars playing that 50/50 tournaments where half went to the top five and the other half dependent on your chip stacks. I did okay at that making a small profit, but certainly not worth the hours you were putting in. Plus the majority of the players were using Heads Up Display poker trackers so you were at a big disadvantage by not using them. I won a Big $27 tournament on poker stars last year, but I haven't really played since that.

Live I have won local poker leagues about here, but haven't really entered anything large scale in years. I represented Scotland at the Dusk Till Dawn club whilst at University and was on the Poker channel. But that's about as much as I have played live.

I don't play nearly as much as I used to. Live isn't as fun as it used to be, so I only ever come out to play the bigger events. Online I tend to play the turbos because the hourly rate is better, and its easier to multi-table.

I was thinking of starting a poker thread but Young Hope's beaten me to it. I prefer to play live tables to online, as you can get a lot more information and the banter is a lot better. Although it's obviously a lot slower, so I end up volunteering to deal. Not sure whether that's a good idea or not.

Having said I prefer games, I was in a Sunday afternoon tourney last week (£10 + £10 - not big stakes). Only 15 people in it so we get down to last table quite quickly. Some guy under the gun raises, and the guy to the right of me who was dealing is taking an aeon to make his mind up. Meanwhile the guy to the left of me calls the raise out of turn so I chuck my cards away. The dealer then decides to go all in.

And then it all kicked off. The original raiser slammed his cards on the ground claiming that the dealer had gone all in solely because me and the other guy had acted out of turn. There was steam coming out his ears. The casino guy comes over and gives the dealer, me and the guy to my left a 3 hand penalty for playing slowly / acting out of turn. The guy to my left is outraged, and storms out the room talking about self-barring himself from the casino and slammed the door behind him.

Then for the next hour of them, we had two players in the biggest cream puff I've ever witnessed. The pair of them decided they were going to slow-play every hand from then on. Christ. Each hand was taking at least 5 minutes to play. Swore blind to myself that I would never go back, but I came 3rd and qualified for the end-of-month "Champions Chair" so it looks like I'll have to go back. Hopefully the petulent weans won't be there.

Pretty sure there used to be a monthly or weekly P&B game by a few on here. It'd be fun if someone set something like that up again, not for big money or anything but just a small tournament.

I'd defo be up for that. Much prefer tourneys, everyone starts on a level pegging.

Where does everyone play? I'm on Pokerstars but the competition at bookie sites like bet365 is much softer.

I haven't been on Pokerstars for ages, that's where we played the Pie and Bovril games. I think we played maybe 2 or 3 games before it got patched. We barely filled a table playing $10 sit n go's.

placidcasual345, on 14 Nov 2013 - 20:57, said:

I haven't been on Pokerstars for ages, that's where we played the Pie and Bovril games. I think we played maybe 2 or 3 games before it got patched. We barely filled a table playing $10 sit n go's.

If there was enough interest, someone could create a PM and organise it thus forcing people to be proactive. I'd run it but I have no clue with this sort of thing so can only offer support as I use Ladbrokes and pretty sure that doesn't offer a 'private' service.

It's under Home Games. If you have a look for Pie And Bovril, the club is still there. Don't think you need a password or anything to join.

I'd have a game of poker if one got organized. I'm not very good 8):angel

You're the kinda player we need. That £20 tourney I was talking about .... given the amount of "what are you calling with that shite" and "You are terrible at this game" patter, I must have been playing with 14 seasoned professionals.

Was it suited?

Edit to add: I dealt poker as a profession for a couple year, and I've met a few real players, and I've found any player "tapping the fish bowl"/ belittling others usually tend to be terrible and is also a massive tilt station. They are my favourite players to play against.