The Star Wars thread (includes spoilers for IX)

Quentin Taranbino

This maybe going against the grain but i actually like the fact that the resistence leaders, especially ackbar, died the way they did, too often you see heroes only dying for the cause, its like a good guy can never die without it having some glorious meaning, when really war is f**k all like that obviously 

The brutal and harsh way they killed ackbar and the rest is perfect to illustrate the harsh realities of war, if only leia haf died at the same time it would have been a fantastic scene imo

I loved it. There were two or three missteps but overall it was an excellent Star Wars film - certainly a second or third favourite for me. A lot to love and some bold narrative choices (which I thoroughly enjoyed).

Some questions answered, others left open, and further questions raised. 

Yoda's appearance was excellent and very well done. 

I liked how they 'ripped up' some assumptions about the Jedi and the Force. Finally some mythology movement that doesn't involve 'midichlorians'.

The Luke/Kylo dynamic was well crafted IMO.

Rey's parents being complete nobodies was good. Whingy, YouTube, fanfic morons will have been devastated but thank f**k she isn't related to any of the original characters.

No answers about who Snoke is but there's another film so I'm not overly concerned. I had a theory that he had no Force abilities but that's wrong so fingers crossed that we get some explanations in IX.

The bombing of the Dreadnought was brilliant. Proper old-school war film stuff, that.

Missteps: the Leia 'Force' scene, about 80% of the Finn/Rose plotline, BB-8 in an AT-ST.

This maybe going against the grain but i actually like the fact that the resistence leaders, especially ackbar, died the way they did, too often you see heroes only dying for the cause, its like a good guy can never die without it having some glorious meaning, when really war is f**k all like that obviously 

The brutal and harsh way they killed ackbar and the rest is perfect to illustrate the harsh realities of war, if only leia haf died at the same time it would have been a fantastic scene imo

This is the only thing that really irked me about the film. It's great that they did stuff like you have noted, but then there were one too many "All hope is lost our heroes are fucked OH WAIT SAVED AT THE LAST MOMENT" pure Hollywood type points.

All in I really enjoyed it and thought it was far more enjoyable than Rogue One which I feel is just the hipsters choice for best of the new films. It's definitely flawed but it progresses the story well and didn't just become a clone of Empire which it threatened to at points. The fucking penguin things put in just to sell toys can f**k off though.

1 hour ago, 54_and_counting said:

That fits in with the theme they were trying to get across as well. The Resistance is made up of nobodies for the most part, and that's how it will be rebuilt. Rey comes from nowhere and no-one. The wee kids on the casino planet are no one, just like Rose, but will become part of the Resistance. 

2 hours ago, 54_and_counting said:

I'd agree with this. The fact it was a random fighter and not Kylo Ren who fired the shots made it all the better. Leia doing what she did totally cheapened the whole thing for me though.

19 hours ago, highlandcowden said:

hmmm

is space not a vacuum in the SW universe?

Got no problem with her being able to do it, they made a big deal about it in ROTJ and even ESB. It just looked SHIIIIIT and was totally out of place and unnecessary.

8 hours ago, mrcat1990 said:

This is the only thing that really irked me about the film. It's great that they did stuff like you have noted, but then there were one too many "All hope is lost our heroes are fucked OH WAIT SAVED AT THE LAST MOMENT" pure Hollywood type points.

All in I really enjoyed it and thought it was far more enjoyable than Rogue One which I feel is just the hipsters choice for best of the new films. It's definitely flawed but it progresses the story well and didn't just become a clone of Empire which it threatened to at points. The fucking penguin things put in just to sell toys can f**k off though.

I agree with the saved at the last moment pish, the laura dern bit fair nuff, was almost like an inspirational idea moment, an act of desperation but the luke bit, and the ice animals showing the way out was just too convenient 

Its almost like the luke bit was the gandalf bit from the two towers, however at least gandalf told them his plan and it was something to hold out for even if they did forget about it, 

Saw it yesterday.

I thought that the plot was garbage, the characters were poor and the dialogue was clunky. I'm no fanboy but the way they discarded plot lines set up by The Force Awakens was just plain stupid. Too many characters feel like they have absolutely no purpose. I'm trying not to post spoilers, but the little puffin thinks are only in there to allow Disney to sell stuffed toys.

The humour was so overdone that it didn't so much feel like a Star Wars sequel as a Spaceballs one. That bit with Leia was one of the shittest things I've seen in any movie. As for what they did to Luke? Just plain wrong.

Then there's the little things. Poe introducing himself to Rey despite them having met in the previous movie.

It was as shite a movie as Valerian, and even then I can give Luc Besson a shred of credit for at least having the ambition to do something epic. Rian Johnson just fucked up.

When did poe meet rey in the force awakens, she hugged leia at the end when she came out the falcon and apart from that she was never around poe at all having been kidnapped at maz' castle and taken with ren to starkiller base 

It's in the official novelisation of the movie.

The book was an officially authorised tie in. TLJ just refuses to acknowledge it.

It's in the official novelisation of the movie.

The book was an officially authorised tie in. TLJ just refuses to acknowledge it.

Saw it yesterday.

I thought that the plot was garbage, the characters were poor and the dialogue was clunky. I'm no fanboy but the way they discarded plot lines set up by The Force Awakens was just plain stupid. Too many characters feel like they have absolutely no purpose. I'm trying not to post spoilers, but the little puffin thinks are only in there to allow Disney to sell stuffed toys.

The humour was so overdone that it didn't so much feel like a Star Wars sequel as a Spaceballs one. That bit with Leia was one of the shittest things I've seen in any movie. As for what they did to Luke? Just plain wrong.

Then there's the little things. Poe introducing himself to Rey despite them having met in the previous movie.

It was as shite a movie as Valerian, and even then I can give Luc Besson a shred of credit for at least having the ambition to do something epic. Rian Johnson just fucked up.

Sure you're not a fan boy?

Thought the film was OK (if far from a classic) apart from the Leia flying scene (although I guess it was a useful improvised plot device to sideline Carrie Fisher until they needed to trundle her out again for one last reunion with Luke, as a character was all too obviously added in out of nowhere to take what were originally going to be her lines if her acting had still been up to snuff). But apart from any nitpicking over the laws of physics, getting Mark Hamill to play a bitter old hasbeen was probably the best way to deal with his limited acting abilities as he really just needed to be himself for that and I liked how they handled Rey's parentage. Tempted to trawl through old posts to revisit that issue with the posters who thought they knew for sure she was Luke's daughter and were waiting for a plot that revolved around Mara Jade or whatever she was called. 

Edited by LongTimeLurker

Just back from seeing it, and I really enjoyed it.

The Leia scene was daft, and the casino stuff was enjoyable but pointless (other than the kids now being inspired by the rebellion). Luke was magnificent, Kylo and Rey were superb, and there were some absolutely stunning scenes like the Throne Room and the hyperspeed one.

Surprised to see a few people on here and hunners elsewhere getting upset by the dialogue, as if the original trilogy were up there with Glengarry Glen Ross. Some folk are just desperate to put the newer films down as if to somehow keep the original trilogy on some sort of pedestal. I'll be honest - I liked some of the "Disney" humour. Luke chucking away the lightsaber could be viewed as a daft joke, but it also showed how he was desperate to move away from that part of his life, and set the tone for his stance on helping the rebellion.

Already can't wait for Solo in May, and Episode 9!

19 minutes ago, Mark Connolly said:

Just back from seeing it, and I really enjoyed it.

The Leia scene was daft, and the casino stuff was enjoyable but pointless (other than the kids now being inspired by the rebellion). Luke was magnificent, Kylo and Rey were superb, and there were some absolutely stunning scenes like the Throne Room and the hyperspeed one.

Surprised to see a few people on here and hunners elsewhere getting upset by the dialogue, as if the original trilogy were up there with Glengarry Glen Ross. Some folk are just desperate to put the newer films down as if to somehow keep the original trilogy on some sort of pedestal. I'll be honest - I liked some of the "Disney" humour. Luke chucking away the lightsaber could be viewed as a daft joke, but it also showed how he was desperate to move away from that part of his life, and set the tone for his stance on helping the rebellion.

Already can't wait for Solo in May, and Episode 9!

pretty decent piece mate, the dialogue bit i totally agree, the original trilogy had some brutal lines in it, and jedi had they fucking ewoks (because they couldnt afford wookies due to their size)