SFL2 13/14 An Away Fans Guide

What about the Auld Mill for the discerning drinkers and also the wee café at The Alhambra which is handy for the bra shop up the road for the windae lickers.

Auld Mill's possibly a bit far up Halbeath Road but then again it is beside QM Station http://goo.gl/maps/Y4VsN

The Green Room is bloody extortionate but here it is anyway http://goo.gl/maps/J5KFZ

• Replies 76

Auld Mill's possibly a bit far up Halbeath Road but then again it is beside QM Station http://goo.gl/maps/Y4VsN

The Green Room is bloody extortionate but here it is anyway http://goo.gl/maps/J5KFZ

Thank f**k that Hotel Roma burned down, it's only a matter of time before he burns down the Auld Toll.

Thought this would be a good thing to have (pinned?) for the season ahead

help me fill in the blanks and anything you want me to add (pubs etc) also please :)

attachicon.gif46.png

attachicon.gifairdrie utd.png

Stadium:New Broomfield,Airdrie,Scotland (10,172)

How To Get There: http://airdriefc.com/gethere.html

Pricing: http://airdriefc.com/tickets.html

Local Press:http://www.acadvertiser.co.uk/coatbridge-airdrie-sport/lanarkshire-football/airdrie-utd-fc/

That is an out of date Airdrie badge. The current badge has Airdrie F.C. on it, no 'United'.

Although fingers crossed that might all have changed again by the start of the season with the return of the onians. :)

Bit of a leftfield one, and it's not even in Dunfermline (Limekilns - not far away, on the Forth) but still handy enough for any visitors to the Kingdom.

Not a football pub by any stretch (I think football tops etc would be frowned on) of the imagination but a pleasant wee place to warm up after a cold match or a nice place to chill outside by the river on a good day. Definitely one for the more mature/discerning guys and gals.

Good selection of beers and spirits, probably have to book a table if you wanted a meal but there are always plenty of bar snacks and home made cakes etc on the go. I managed to take a Cowden fan there without incident so it's not too high brow, just not a rowdy football bar.

http://www.perfectpint.co.uk/best-real-ale-pubs-UK/4009/Ship-Inn

2830698_20c5c4e1.jpg

Guest honestrae95

Fishing on a Monday lol :-)

I don't even need to fish and you bite, every time. Obsession leads to a breakdown, and you'll have one shortly, Celtic Rebel. ;)

If you want a laugh head along to "Jokers", promise you, full of jokey fun people. Specially recommended for Sveconians.

Dunfermline pubs. Do not go to Jokers. The beer is p**h. (I do not want to be sued) Try the Olive Tree and you may get some free grub. Ask for Ferdous by name. He's a mad Iranian. If you don't fancy walking from there to EEP then get on the Ballingry bus (19). Just remember to get off at East End otherwise you'll land up in Cowdenbeath or some other bandit country. Check Google Maps. If in town - Big John does a nice pint of Guinness at Thirsty Kirsty's in James Street. The latter is very close to the ground.

For Ibrox i would recommend The Wee Rangers Club. It is the closest place for a drink nearest to the Broomloan Road Stand. Well run club which is far bigger than it looks from the outside.

Shame the Tinto Park (benburb juniors) social club was burnt down. It was always popular with away supports.

With Rangers having 4 underground stations within easy walking distance from the ground you could drink in the city centre but be warned the Underground is usually mobbed as kick off time approaches.

I can post up the locations of some Brechin pubs later but the most obvious are Hudsons (part of the northern hotel - good grub) and 'the stables' just up the same road, towards the ground, on the LHS.

As far as good beer goes, my favourite place is the Caledonian Hotel down the hill from the ground on South Esk Street but there's sadly never anyone in it on matchdays, probably due to lack of fitba on TV. Great real ale and bottle selection.

As for food, difficult to top a sit-in Ashvale chipper next to the ground (I somehow ended up sitting next to John McGlynn and having a chat there once) but if I have some lads down from Aberdeen then we end up at Roo's Leap (Aussie themed burger / grill) in Montrose (possibly my favourite eating establishment anywhere in Scotland) where we have to catch the train anyway.

Which brings up public transport: Train to Montrose, walk up to the High Street and catch the Number 30 bus to Brechin. Usually ~30 min connection so a quick pint in the pub in Montrose is a good option. Next to the bus stop, The Picturehouse is good and cheap but the Market Bar has a better beer selection. Drinking over two towns adds novelty value imo.

That is an out of date Airdrie badge. The current badge has Airdrie F.C. on it, no 'United'.

Although fingers crossed that might all have changed again by the start of the season with the return of the onians. :)

Shamelessly blowing my own trumpet!!! 8)

It'll be nice for 2nd division fans to experience the best stadium in Scotland. Ibrox- the home of the people

You've spelt East End Park incorrectly.

It'll be nice for 2nd division fans to experience the best stadium in Scotland. Ibrox- the home of the people

Looking a bit dated, Celtic Park always had the better atmosphere imo.

Last time I was in either was yonks ago right enough.