Coaching Sessions: ideas & styles

BTID

One question I will put out there. Do any of you have a relative playing for your team (son, nephew, cousin) as I coach my son. He is a goalkeeper who also goes to specialist training, but feel sometimes he shows less interest than the rest of the boys, but works his arse off at goalie training. Do you have the same issue? I am fed up saying to him "for the time we are training I am not your dad, but your coach" - never works though lol

Good luck to all your teams lads. These boys are the future.

Could just be a goalie thing I would have thought

I know our goalkeeper can get pretty fed up during our outdoor sessions because we're on one of those solid, sand pitches that doesn't allow for much goalkeeping training without risking an injury. Our drills are obviously outfield based so he doesn't have much interest in them

It's only natural for your son to be more interested in drills specifically aimed at his position lke the ones at his goalie sessions than a normal session that he maybe feels isn't relevant to him

• Replies 220

Well thank you for your kind words gaffer much appreciated lol

I would imagine its quite difficult dealing with a family member, as you don't want to be seen as bias or on the opposite side too harsh. Our manager has a son in the team but I don't think it changes much. We are fortunate 3/5 coaches do not have family members in the team so we have the advantage to make decisions as a 'neutral'.

Then again could just be a keeper thing they don't like hard work just ask our gk coach ha!

Hi mate,

Can imagine it's some jump from coaching amateur to youth football, rather you than me haha !

What i'dd say on the whole goalkeeping issue is, as a ex-goalkeeper and as somebody who does the goalkeeping coaching for my club. I find as well that its hard to motivate SOME goalkeepers to get involved with outfield drills. If i'm honest i think at this age goalkeepers are the least technical skilled players and therefore don't enjoy mucking in with the rest because it shows up their weaknesses. Are you doing Goalkeeping work with him during your training sessions ? If you are then I'm not really sure why he's acting that way, kids are incredibly un-predictable ! I guess that's half the fun in coaching youth football !

When it comes to coaches with sons playing in the team, both of the coaches I work with are in that situation. Both of them do focus on their kids a lot and I do think it has a negative affect on the boys. It is a very difficult situation I think but at the end of the day I like to go by some words I've heard Brendan Rodgers use 'Every player is my son, I want the best for every single one of them'. To be honest from what I've seen, not just as a coach but as a player. When somebody is coaching their own child it has never worked out in the end. I don't know your own situation so i'm not commenting on you at all !!!!!!!

All the best !

Cheers for the advice guys - much appreciated. I put most of it down to the fact he just sees me as a dad and not a coach. Ironically enough we used to do one on one keeping coaching but he was feeling left out not training with the rest of the group, so we reverted to just having him as part of the main session, which I feel has benefited his all round game - touch, control etc and being more comfy with the ball at his feet.

The one thing I don't do is single him out. He gets treated just the same as all the other boys at training (although he will get a bollocking at home if he acts up lol). As previously said it is one of the things that are sent to try us.

Incidentally BTID can you come down and do a session on crossing with the boys ;)

Yeh 1/4 finals of the regional next week, don't think we cross paths till the final should we both get there.

We played some of the best football I've ever seen us play today, really was excellent blew a

strong Rangers team away. Got a few tough matches against queen of the south and Motherwell pro youth coming up next week so will be a good test for our players. Hoping we can show that boys clubs can play some good football and not just be 'in your face' and 'physical'. Should be a learning curve for the boys as both sides are considered the strongest PY in Scotland.

Yeh 1/4 finals of the regional next week, don't think we cross paths till the final should we both get there.

We played some of the best football I've ever seen us play today, really was excellent blew a

strong Rangers team away. Got a few tough matches against queen of the south and Motherwell pro youth coming up next week so will be a good test for our players. Hoping we can show that boys clubs can play some good football and not just be 'in your face' and 'physical'. Should be a learning curve for the boys as both sides are considered the strongest PY in Scotland.

Ye we'll play one of the st peters if we win then hopefully you or arsenal in the final. Hopefully avoid a repeat of last year!

Well done mate. we took a 7-1 humping on Saturday. Team was total chaos, two call offs last minute, gaffer chucked a team out and we were all over the shot. He doesnt seem to realise you need to show things to kids, not just tell them and expect them to know what he means... Keeps talking about pulling the plug on the team whenever we loose haha so frustrating... I know he means well but who knows !

Here's our website that I update : www.houstonunited.co.uk/team-2000.aspx

Like what you've done with the match reports, been meaning to get us a facebook page up aswell at some point !

Never good to be on the end of defeats like that - feeling I know only too well from my playing days :lol:

Websites not working for me - I'll have a look at it later

It's usually the other guy who updates the facebook - I tend to sign mine off with my name. Really enjoy doing the match reports. Take a few notes during the game with a stopwatch and it's amazing how much of it all you remember. Enjoy writing in general and as I said the kids love seeing the games being reported so it's win-win

The facebooks good for reaching everyone but in our league anyway, can be more trouble than it's worth at times :shutup

Never good to be on the end of defeats like that - feeling I know only too well from my playing days :lol:

Websites not working for me - I'll have a look at it later

It's usually the other guy who updates the facebook - I tend to sign mine off with my name. Really enjoy doing the match reports. Take a few notes during the game with a stopwatch and it's amazing how much of it all you remember. Enjoy writing in general and as I said the kids love seeing the games being reported so it's win-win

The facebooks good for reaching everyone but in our league anyway, can be more trouble than it's worth at times :shutup

Haha I'm the same, my playing careers best forgotten !

Yeah the website only works 80 percent of the time, it's pretty barebones. want to get into adding subpages and things so we can have wee player profiles and things like that.

Will need to give the match reports a go ! it's just me and the head coach just now since the other coach left with his son so i'm usually kept quite busy. I think its important we get a web presence out there, for the boys to enjoy and for the team name so we can grow !

You done any of your coaching badges yet paul ?

I'll send you the thing we use for our website. Allows for plenty of subpages, loads of data etc.

I've done the youth level 1&2 and been thinking of getting the third one but they're always Sundays and I don't fancy missing 2 games. Tbh, I felt the ones I did were a waste of time. I literally got nothing from it and the guys rushed through them both in half the time they should have been done. Think I'll do the third just to open the door to maybe getting a paid coaching job somewhere - would love to be able to chuck my job and merge it with my coaching. Easier with uni too

I've got my Level 1 and my first-aid (zzzzzz) and I found it pretty much the same.. Any diddy can pay, go to the courses and come away saying they're a coach ! Aiming to do my level 2 and my goalkeeping badges this year and then look to move on. Had the opportunity to speak to head of youth for Glasgow City fc (the womens team) about taking their under 9's but I would have had to bend over backwards to be able to make training every week with the distance and other commitments ! Gutted because it could have been a big chance !

Been meaning to do the first aid thing actually. Would always look good on a cv bye could come in handy.

Really hoping to be driving next season which would make things a lot easier and would let me run my own team if the opportunity arose. Might try and tempt a pal into taking a team with me

Good thread guys hopefully some of the experienced coaches can guide me in the right direction with a few questions I have.

I have just started helping as coach at my lads team Bonnyrigg Rose 2005`s, kind of fell into this as the 2 guys running it (really top blokes) thought they needed a hand, they stepped into the role as the team was about to fold as previous coach quit...etc etc. These guys are not as football focused as what I would say I am but plod away and the boys enjoy themselves. I am trying to bring a we bit more direction and proper development so its not just like a creche for 1.5 hrs on a Wednesday and a run aboot on a Saturday morning. I can see where I want to go but need a bit help in getting there. I am booked in for the first coaching session run by the SFA so dont know what I will get out of that and they will hopefully answer some of my questions.

I was just wondering if anyone has had experience with kids this young. They curently play 4`s but are stepping to 7`s next year, though not in any way ready yet. We have around 20 players at training each week with massive differences in their ability so getting excercises which suit all are quite difficult to find. Then trying to round them up and make them listen is an excercise in itself lol

Questions I have:

How do you get them to listen?

How do you approach the disruptive ones?

How do you deal with the lads that have no interest in football and are probbably only there cause their parents are forcing them into a bit of activity?

How do I really push the better ones but in the same time not ignoring the guys that need more help?

This is alot harder than what I thought but I am committed to them and want to take steps in the right direction and if I dont drive this nobody will.

Appreciate any help in advance

Some fantastic posts in here guys loads to talk and debate since I last posted!

As Paul said, we are one game away from meeting in the west region final...but both teams have tough matches Arsenal always cause us problems (they are the only team to take points from us this season) and St Peters will probably win the P&D so two massive fixtures coming up.

We played against Queen of the South pro youth on Friday night down in Dumfries - it was a fantastic experience for the boys. We lost 1-3 but honestly I think we had better technical players overall just lacked a cutting edge up front as I only had 12 players. The coaches were so impressed by our style of football they've asked to visit us later this season to return the favour! Parents said it was refreshing to see a boys club get the ball down and pass it like we did so I'm really happy with the team.

Sorry to hear about such a heavy defeat GT, hope the boys aren't too disheartened and have learned from it...always next week!

Wow boomtown boy where do I start lol!

I run my own football development classes at 04/05 age group so I know exactly the kind of issues you're facing.

I've tried to answer as many of your questions as

possible going on my experience working with young teams:

1. Getting them to listen: there are millions of ways but I best ones I find is get them to follow a command. For example, say 'put 2 hands on your ears if your listening - pause - give me 2 claps if your listening etc' gradually as the group notices something is happening they always follow your lead...kinda like Simon says. I really think its about using the tone of your voice sometimes shouting over shouting makes things worse.

Also do the 'looking for a volunteer' to maybe be team captain or show a demo and usually that gets everyone's attention it has to be someone who's listening and not distracting others. See if they work.

2. Disruptive ones: sit them out for a length of time (depending on severity of the crime!) on their own and come back in say 1 minute and ask why they've been removed. If they explain and apologise then back in, if not explain why and monitor the situation thereafter.

3. Not much unfortunately. If the practices are fun then most kids will join in - never forget fun at that age they can still develop whilst enjoying themselves.

4. You need to put conditions on the better players. For example if doing a passing drill through a gate, make the gate smaller, use their weaker foot, limit the no of touches they have etc. In matches can the strong player setup player X for a goal that is their 'secret mission' or they get 2 pts for that goal.

Hope this helps in some way!

Oh and back to previous post, I've done level 1,2 and 3 for children and youth, first aid, disability award and been through fantastic intensive coaching weeks in the US. I agree with Paul the first few courses are pretty basic, did enjoy level 3 though so I'd say it's worth doing. I haven't felt the need to go any higher but now considering level 4 youth later this year.