Sons' sorrow

16 minutes ago, cameron2000 said:

Aitken away on Holiday for a week so probably another unproductive one coming up.

Hmm...I've no issue with Stevie going on holiday, and I'd like to think that with WiFi and mobiles he'll have no bothering sorting out some Sons stuff from the beach.

However, I'd be lying if I said I wasn't a little worried that he might be making the same mistakes as last year. We've lost 15 players already and, whilst our squad was horribly bloated, I had hoped that we might have a wee bit of business completed by this time next week. The last thing we want is to be going into the Betfred Cup with 13 senior players again. That should be the ideal time to get a new side playing together ahead of the important stuff starting.

I think we all need

Hmm...I've no issue with Stevie going on holiday, and I'd like to think that with WiFi and mobiles he'll have no bothering sorting out some Sons stuff from the beach.
However, I'd be lying if I said I wasn't a little worried that he might be making the same mistakes as last year. We've lost 15 players already and, whilst our squad was horribly bloated, I had hoped that we might have a wee bit of business completed by this time next week. The last thing we want is to be going into the Betfred Cup with 13 senior players again. That should be the ideal time to get a new side playing together ahead of the important stuff starting.
I think we all need to give the guy a break, literally and metaphorically. IIRC last year he didn't go on holiday quite as early so lets not get bent out of shape with the season only a week ended.
Many of those who have departed or are about to will do so for financial reasons and the quid pro quo of that is that we should all set our squad expectations at a pretty modest level.

27 minutes ago, ApacheSon said:

Read in the paper this morning that we’re apparently after a Peterhead striker with the initials RM, although Montrose and Clyde want him too

That'll be Russell McLean I'm assuming? 

7 minutes ago, ApacheSon said:

Aye

17 goals this season despite only starting 27 games (according to Soccerbase), a year younger than me and tall. He's ticking all my boxes.

Would be nice for him to make up for being an absolute jobber on my Football Manager save too.

17 hours ago, O'Kelly Isley III said:

I think we all need

I think we all need to give the guy a break, literally and metaphorically. IIRC last year he didn't go on holiday quite as early so lets not get bent out of shape with the season only a week ended.
Many of those who have departed or are about to will do so for financial reasons and the quid pro quo of that is that we should all set our squad expectations at a pretty modest level.

Our competitors are signing players left right and centre. Literally.

Read in the paper this morning that we’re apparently after a Peterhead striker with the initials RM, although Montrose and Clyde want him too
Rory McAlister what a signing that would be, make it happen Stevie............

Am I doing this right?

Other League 1 teams seem very concerned about our team buidling. We've had a Stranraer fan make a numpty of himself already, now we've got East Fife fans on worried about who we might be signing and we've barely even scratched the surface of the off-season.

The Sons Juggernaught has them all bricking it lads, we'll dispose of these diddies and reclaim our rightful place in Scotlands second tier. 

Other League 1 teams seem very concerned about our team buidling. We've had a Stranraer fan make a numpty of himself already, now we've got East Fife fans on worried about who we might be signing and we've barely even scratched the surface of the off-season.
The Sons Juggernaught has them all bricking it lads, we'll dispose of these diddies and reclaim our rightful place in Scotlands second tier. 
Juggernought has a horrible ring to it...