The Falkirk FC Thread

The Don is sound as, seems like he would be great to have a few #cheekydrumsticks with. It was pretty much a Q&A for the whole night, was surprised at no Powerpoint skillz (#kaizen)

So from the horses mouth, this is all in order of the question (canni be fucked grouping it together):

Asked if Loy was still part of his plans for next season, stated that he's still under contract but has been out of the picture  for a long time, so will discuss things with him over the summer.

Didn't agree that we were basing our Academy decision on the Brentford model, he thought the recruitment policy had to change and try to and think out of the box. So we have someone based in England, who is covering 40 games a month. 

Tommy Robson contract will be extended. 

He alluded to Friday being the deadline (I'm not 100% on this) for new contracts for current squad.

He agreed we need more physical presence. Loan players back to parent clubs, unlikely (or unfair as he put it) to expect them to return.

He's looking to sign 10-12 players.  In particular strengthen goalkeeper position, thinks Mutch is a great talent but is a tad young.

Players coming in need to be flexible, can play a couple of positions.

He's happy with the budget, he thinks it's comfortable for the Championship, any extra funds will go into the first team.

Signings that are coming in have been watched over the past 4 months , they've been working hard since January, Tom Dallison has been one of those on the radar.

He felt the team (Housties) needed a change/freshen up, that they probably went too far as a team. 

One or two experienced guys to come in,  he wants players that will be hard working and committed for the football club, not to just pick up a wage. Head of recruitment has basically a list for every position in the squad, it will be a new squad. Scouting has been looking down south at all levels from Premiership under 23s to lower leagues.  Looking at midfielders that can chip in with  goals. Looking at roughly 6 players from down south. He wants a tighter squad, getting numbers to down to  around 20 players.

Captaincy will be looked at when the squad gets back together. He wants to keep Sibbald at the club, we have another year on his contract, feels his best position is playing playing behind the front two.

Pretty happy with back room staff, we're joining  the reserve league so he's looking at bringing in (maybe a player/manager).

We will be the fittest team in league next year. Changed the fitness plan when he came in and saw the benefits towards the end of the season.

Will look at Alex Harris and his position at the club over the summer, he sees his quality but has not produced at all during matches.

He's found the job well tougher than he expected, he had to make changes ASAP. His worst moment(s) were the first 8 games, horrendous. Best was pumping Dundee United.

The main aim get the team promoted, whether via play offs or title. Fans should be excited next season.

Bairn for Life speech at the end was a bit cringe, but heart in the right place.

DONE.

Pretty much word for word my notes for my mates who couldn’t get a long tonight.

He came across well & looks genuinely excited (as did the fans) about what the next few weeks will bring.

Because I'm guessing that Hartley wouldn't be choosing to sign a striker with no goals in 43 appearances if he had the funds to bring in better.
What a load of utter shite. More spent on the 4th choice equates directly to less spent on 1st and 2nd. Hartleys job is to balance that out.

I have said my piece on O'Hara but if you have issue with his football ability dont spin it out as this shite.

6 minutes ago, superandy_07 said:

One or two experienced guys to come in,  he wants players that will be hard working and committed for the football club, not to just pick up a wage. Head of recruitment has basically a list for every position in the squad, it will be a new squad. Scouting has been looking down south at all levels from Premiership under 23s to lower leagues.  Looking at midfielders that can chip in with  goals. Looking at roughly 6 players from down south. He wants a tighter squad, getting numbers to down to  around 20 players.

Fair to mention the experienced guys were ages of 26 or 28 or so and not the over 30s we are used to. The Queens fans will be pleased to know he didnt want to sign the same old journeymen that go around the block

The Don is sound as, seems like he would be great to have a few #cheekydrumsticks with. It was pretty much a Q&A for the whole night, was surprised at no Powerpoint skillz (#kaizen)
So from the horses mouth, this is all in order of the question (canni be fucked grouping it together):
Asked if Loy was still part of his plans for next season, stated that he's still under contract but has been out of the picture  for a long time, so will discuss things with him over the summer.
Didn't agree that we were basing our Academy decision on the Brentford model, he thought the recruitment policy had to change and try to and think out of the box. So we have someone based in England, who is covering 40 games a month. 
Tommy Robson contract will be extended. 
He alluded to Friday being the deadline (I'm not 100% on this) for new contracts for current squad.
He agreed we need more physical presence. Loan players back to parent clubs, unlikely (or unfair as he put it) to expect them to return.
He's looking to sign 10-12 players.  In particular strengthen goalkeeper position, thinks Mutch is a great talent but is a tad young.
Players coming in need to be flexible, can play a couple of positions.
He's happy with the budget, he thinks it's comfortable for the Championship, any extra funds will go into the first team.
Signings that are coming in have been watched over the past 4 months , they've been working hard since January, Tom Dallison has been one of those on the radar.
He felt the team (Housties) needed a change/freshen up, that they probably went too far as a team. 
Captaincy will be looked at when the squad gets back together. He wants to keep Sibbald at the club, we have another year on his contract, feels his best position is playing playing behind the front two.
Pretty happy with back room staff, we're joining  the reserve league so he's looking at bringing in (maybe a player/manager).
We will be the fittest team in league next year. Changed the fitness plan when he came in and saw the benefits towards the end of the season.
Will look at Alex Harris and his position at the club over the summer, he sees his quality but has not produced at all during matches.
He's found the job well tougher than he expected, he had to make changes ASAP. His worst moment(s) were the first 8 games, horrendous. Best was pumping Dundee United.
The main aim get the team promoted, whether via play offs or title. Fans should be excited next season.
Bairn for Life speech at the end was a bit cringe, but heart in the right place.
DONE.

Pretty much sums up the evening.

17 minutes ago, Falkirk_Bairn_1983 said:

Jesus Christ there ain't half some shit gets talked on here. Having O'Hara as a 4th striker is hardly going to make or break our season. 

Didn't we have Ryan Mcstay in our squad the last time we won the league??

McStay scored the goal that won us the league

I think we all have our own very similar ideas about the style Hartley wants to play and the type of player he will fill our team with, but did anyone ask him to talk about that aspect of it?

I see him seeking a physical, athletic team. Direct in attack and pressure tactics when defending. I think everyone else sees the same but wouldnt mind the deliciously fragranced wee Don regaling us.

18 minutes ago, Falkirk_Bairn_1983 said:

Jesus Christ there ain't half some shit gets talked on here. Having O'Hara as a 4th striker is hardly going to make or break our season. 

Didn't we have Ryan Mcstay in our squad the last time we won the league??

Aye, and if I mind right he scored the goal that clinched the league title. That was the only goal he ever got for Falkirk too.

Bugger. Rugster beat me to it. :1eye

Edited by Bainsfordbairn

I think we all have our own very similar ideas about the style Hartley wants to play and the type of player he will fill our team with, but did anyone ask him to talk about that aspect of it?

I see him seeking a physical, athletic team. Direct in attack and pressure tactics when defending. I think everyone else sees the same but wouldnt mind the deliciously fragranced wee Don regaling us.

He said he’s looking for the above and is also wanting the pitch to be as slick as possible so plenty water on the pitch like when we first got the pitch.

Just now, ajwffc said:

Can anyone remember the name of the other Trinidad and Tobago player. Who came on trial at the same time as Samuel?

Devon Mitchell? Pretty sure it was him that scored a brace against the Pars in a friendly.

3 minutes ago, Shodwall cat said:

O'hara's signed. We're doomed.

frazer.jpg

yep he wont get 25 goals and we have spunked all our budget on him

1 minute ago, ajwffc said:

Can anyone remember the name of the other Trinidad and Tobago player. Who came on trial at the same time as Samuel?

Devon Mitchell

41 minutes ago, EdiBairn said:

Andy Rodgers was nowhere near good enough but at least scored 2 goals in 33 (mostly sub) appearances. O'Hara has had more appearances that that and hasn't looked like scoring a goal for 3 years.

Well that's just shite isn't it! He hit the bar against St Mirren a few weeks ago and was robbed of a goal by Baird against Sevco, he also brought out a top drawer save from their 'keeper that day.

39 minutes ago, EdiBairn said:

It's not just based on one player signing, it's about the standard of player we're going to have. If we're choosing to resign strikers who've never scored a goal in their career, that would indicate Hartley doesn't have the budget to bring in the 'better quality' he wants.

That's more or less exactly the point I made to you before. We need to sign at least 3 strikers that are currently better than O'Hara and the budget should be used to do that. We'll probably need at least 4 strikers over the course of the season though, so we need back up. One thing that does concern me a bit however is the fact that Loy is still here and that he's going to assess his position over the summer. If he stays that will leave us with a striker that we possibly won't use and would presumably mean that a big chunk of the budget would be used to pay him.

4 minutes ago, ShaggerG said:

Well that's just shite isn't it! He hit the bar against St Mirren a few weeks ago and was robbed of a goal by Baird against Sevco, he also brought out a top drawer save from their 'keeper that day.

That's more or less exactly the point I made to you before. We need to sign at least 3 strikers that are currently better than O'Hara and the budget should be used to do that. We'll probably need at least 4 strikers over the course of the season though, so we need back up. One thing that does concern me a bit however is the fact that Loy is still here and that he's going to assess his position over the summer. If he stays that will leave us with a striker that we possibly won't use and would presumably mean that a big chunk of the budget would be used to pay him.

If Loy is here next season he will be used.

He wont be here next season.

I hope Loy can be moved on but I'm not sure who would pay the wage he's on. I think Hartley saying he'll evaluate his position is a nice way of saying they're trying to get rid of him but no one wants him yet. Given the fact Hartley hasn't spoken to him for months and goes out of his way not to put him in the squad, I think his time's up here.

Devon Mitchell  (I may be talking shite here)
Devon Mitchell
Devon Mitchell? Pretty sure it was him that scored a brace against the Pars in a friendly.
Thanks that name sounds right