The Falkirk FC Thread

The league last season was pish, we had Morton going 9 games without winning a league game and finishing fourth, Utd with a 5, tho 3 wins in 18 to end a season isnt particularly clever, added with an awful away record, our 4 without a win isn't as bad as I thot and Hibs also had a four without a league win.

We had queens, St mirren and Raith who had a horrendous run and a Dumbarton team who didn't have back to back league wins.

Last seasons league won't be remembered by many positively, other than we finished 2nd again.

Pretty sure we did dominate a shite QoS. Away from home the week before pumped Ayr away. We also pumped Raith away, absolutely rattled Dundee Utd at home and put in very dominant performances against Dumfermline x 2 at home. Simmer doon Deano.

Before collapsing at the penultimate hurdle. Again.

Pretty sure we did dominate a shite QoS. Away from home the week before pumped Ayr away. We also pumped Raith away, absolutely rattled Dundee Utd at home and put in very dominant performances against Dumfermline x 2 at home. Simmer doon Deano.

Aye mabey a sounded a bit over the top , .... just don't want another season of what if's

5 hours ago, Swordfishtrombone said:

One of my favourite games was in the 91/92 season when we beat Celtic 4-3 I think Liam Brady, who I'm distantly related to his brother is married to my mum's cousin or something, was their manager at the time Peter Grant snr scored an og and Simon scored with a diving header Paul Mcstay scored a belter from about 20 yards too. It was the first time I"d seen us play Celtic and the result gave me unrealistic expectations.

Was that the same season that Celtic also beat us 5-4 at Brockville when we were 4-2 up?  Liam Brady was the manager then I remember that much, and John Collins scored their winner.  There were Celtic fans sitting on benches behind the goal in the away end.  The atmosphere at that game was unbelievable.  I was absolutely gutted at the end of that one.

The league last season was pish, we had Morton going 9 games without winning a league game and finishing fourth, Utd with a 5, tho 3 wins in 18 to end a season isnt particularly clever, added with an awful away record, our 4 without a win isn't as bad as I thot and Hibs also had a four without a league win.
We had queens, St mirren and Raith who had a horrendous run and a Dumbarton team who didn't have back to back league wins.
Last seasons league won't be remembered by many positively, other than we finished 2nd again.

Think we only won 2 games out of our first twelve and still finished 5th.

Last season was dreadful.

Great memories ,I loved Brockville 

I'm the same, I absolutely adored the place. It was a shithole but it was our shithole. 

The memories I have of that place will never be replaced. I have a watercolour of Brockville which is pretty much the view from where we stood on the Hope Street terracing that I got from the West End gallery on my livingroom wall and I've got the top of the concrete stantion from where we stood out in the summer house.

When I was a kid being taken to the stand by my Dad I used to sit there and watch the choir and pray for the day to come when I could be in there.

I still find it very hard going into Morrison's [emoji22]

29 minutes ago, Harry Kinnear said:

I'm the same, I absolutely adored the place. It was a shithole but it was our shithole. 

The memories I have of that place will never be replaced. I have a watercolour of Brockville which is pretty much the view from where we stood on the Hope Street terracing that I got from the West End gallery on my livingroom wall and I've got the top of the concrete stantion from where we stood out in the summer house.

When I was a kid being taken to the stand by my Dad I used to sit there and watch the choir and pray for the day to come when I could be in there.

I still find it very hard going into Morrison's emoji22.png

Harry I'm 70 in October and miss Brockville,Dens park,even Third Lanark ,I've been in. Cathkin with over 30K.

Shawfield 20K.I could go on,,also its harder for Kids to meet their heroes.

I was at Hampden in the Early 60s with my old Dad and we met Alan Gilzean ,Hugh Robertson and Alex Hamilton at the pie stall under the stand.

my first cup final was Bairns v Killie 1957 and my old Dad took me to every one that wasn't an old firm game till I was old enough to go myself.

we must meet up and bore the shit out of the young guys ,:thumsup2my daughter lives in Callander Park so I'm through there often

i can always sign you into club 1877 on the 5th August:whistle

I still find it very hard going into Morrison's [emoji22]

I was taken to my first game in the 68/69 season and was pretty much hooked from then.
We had moved around a lot because my dad was in the army and eventually settled in Grangemouth.
My dad was a big Hibs supporter like most of my uncles and cousins ( except my granny who supported Falkirk ).
Every home game we would have pretty much the same routine.
Dad and his pals going into the railway tavern for a few before the game.... me outside with my packet of crisps and cola.
Short walk down to Brockville... lifted over turnstile.... another packet of crisps and a juice... then down right behind the goals while dad and pals would be halfway up the Hope Street end with their carry out.
Bus home.... stop off at Rennies in Grangemouth for fish and chips.
Happy days.
Eventually over the years I would make my way round to the choir.... then as years passed I would be back behind the goals halfway up the hope street end.
Have some great memories of Brockville that would take me hours to put down on here.
I can't help thinking though that a lot of kids that go to the games these days miss out on so much.
Being asked to sit in a certain seat and not being able to wander around as you like is something I as a youngster would have hated.
Brockville to me was a social event.
My last Falkirk game was a really special event.
My Dad died on March 14th this year and the next Falkirk match after his funeral was against the team he grew up supporting ( Hibs ).
My brother his 2 kids and myself made the trip through and had a few drinks in his old local Middletons on Easter Road.
I just hope that over the years the Falkirk Stadium can grow into something similar to Brockville... but I can't see it happening with so many rules and regulations these days it takes ( for me ) a bit of the fun out of going.

Harry I'm 70 in October and miss Brockville,Dens park,even Third Lanark ,I've been in. Cathkin with over 30K.
Shawfield 20K.I could go on,,also its harder for Kids to meet their heroes.
I was at Hampden in the Early 60s with my old Dad and we met Alan Gilzean ,Hugh Robertson and Alex Hamilton at the pie stall under the stand.
my first cup final was Bairns v Killie 1957 and my old Dad took me to every one that wasn't an old firm game till I was old enough to go myself.
we must meet up and bore the shit out of the young guys ,:thumsup2my daughter lives in Callander Park so I'm through there often
i can always sign you into club 1877 on the 5th August:whistle

My auld mate Willie that I used to work with was a Hi-Hi supporter and used to wear the Third Lanark retro top all the time. He used to tell me that he couldn't watch Scottish fitba as it broke his heart knowing his club wasn't involved in it anymore.

What date in October are you 70, you are through at us on the 21st.

I was taken to my first game in the 68/69 season and was pretty much hooked from then.

We had moved around a lot because my dad was in the army and eventually settled in Grangemouth.

My dad was a big Hibs supporter like most of my uncles and cousins ( except my granny who supported Falkirk ).

Every home game we would have pretty much the same routine.

Dad and his pals going into the railway tavern for a few before the game.... me outside with my packet of crisps and cola.

Short walk down to Brockville... lifted over turnstile.... another packet of crisps and a juice... then down right behind the goals while dad and pals would be halfway up the Hope Street end with their carry out.

Bus home.... stop off at Rennies in Grangemouth for fish and chips.

Happy days.

Eventually over the years I would make my way round to the choir.... then as years passed I would be back behind the goals halfway up the hope street end.

Have some great memories of Brockville that would take me hours to put down on here.

I can't help thinking though that a lot of kids that go to the games these days miss out on so much.

Being asked to sit in a certain seat and not being able to wander around as you like is something I as a youngster would have hated.

Brockville to me was a social event.

My last Falkirk game was a really special event.

My Dad died on March 14th this year and the next Falkirk match after his funeral was against the team he grew up supporting ( Hibs ).

My brother his 2 kids and myself made the trip through and had a few drinks in his old local Middletons on Easter Road.

I just hope that over the years the Falkirk Stadium can grow into something similar to Brockville... but I can't see it happening with so many rules and regulations these days it takes ( for me ) a bit of the fun out of going.

My first game was 1971.

My grandparents were Jambos and my first strip was a Hearts strip. My Grandad who lived in Grangemouth and was a docker was originally from Gorgie and for my first 4 years on gods earth I was a Hearts fan. My Grandad died and my Dad who was Falkirk daft took me to Brockville and I've never looked back.

I've got a daughter who has no interest at all in football but if I had a son he would be a Bairn. I suppose in those days though my Dad worked shifts in the ISR and was very rarely off to take me to football so my Grandad stepped in and bought me Hearts strips etc. [emoji21]

1 hour ago, Harry Kinnear said:

My auld mate Willie that I used to work with was a Hi-Hi supporter and used to wear the Third Lanark retro top all the time. He used to tell me that he couldn't watch Scottish fitba as it broke his heart knowing his club wasn't involved in it anymore.

What date in October are you 70, you are through at us on the 21st.

11th I'm going away the week before I have friend and my son in law is involved with the business club so I would imagine I'll be there