The Falkirk FC Thread

I wasn't sticking up for Muirhead as a right back just the fact the centre of our defence has been brutal, he did have a decent season at right back the season afore and there was no complaints like there is now. We can hope that we at least get that form back if he is selected. The fact we had 4 or 5 players vying for most supporters poty that season and last season it was one player only, tells it's own story.
Finlayson getting 45 yesterday and Muirhead playing centre half doesn't mean a lot in regard to Muirhead but it's gave Finlayson a chance to show what he can do and if he's not better than Kidd and Muirhead at 19, he is as well bracing himself for part time football in the future.

You [emoji7]Muirhead! You want to marry him. Mr Dust and Muirhead up a tree. [emoji8][emoji8]

Perhaps the ideal scenario would be sibbald moving on for cash allowing us to bring in a couple of full backs . We're well covered in centre midfield anyway but I really can't see anyone paying 200k for sibbald to be honest.

Even if we did get money in I don't think Houston sees that as a problem position at all.

In an ideal world we would have recruited in both full back areas. A left back to help Gallacher, and a right back to displace Muirhead/Kidd.

Whilst Gallacher is a fantastic talent, it may be unfair to rely on him consistently for 36 league games. We seen him have an encouraging start last year when he came in, which ended up with a poor game away at Morton in the cup. Young players generally tend to find issues with consistency in performance so having an alternative, perhaps slightly more experienced option who could be depended upon.

Despite having two first team options there, I believe right back is the weakest point in the team. Although he never started his career there, I think we've got to recognise Muirhead as a right back. It's a position he has played consistently for at least two seasons now for us. Defensively I think he is sounder than Kidd, despite what some of the stats would suggest, but ultimately his weakness is going forward with the ball. This is something you'd hope the coaching staff, in particular McDonagh and Maybury, would look to coach into him, especially since the latter played in that position. If he could improve on that side of his game, he'd be an ideal right back for this level. Kidd came in last season on the assumption he is a wing back, a more natural wide sided defender. But doesn't contribute going forward as much as you'd perhaps expect and he's not as good defensively as Muirhead. I'd have looked for a new right back and Muirhead as cover for both this position and centre half.

Muirhead Luca/Watson Grant & Gallacher isn't the worst back 4 combination we've had since being in this league, time will tell how it compares to other defences in this division.

Maybe we need to find someone willing to breed both Muirhead & Kidd and create some type of hybrid. ????

Even if we did get money in I don't think Houston sees that as a problem position at all.

Based on what? He had two players who can play in that position under contract whilst other areas of the squad are thin. Even if he did feel that way, he's hardly going to come out and publicly identify it as a weakness when he could be relying on the two players to play that position.

Based on pure wild speculation & ill informed opinions, the hallmark of this thread. I thought of all people you would recognise this.

The worst two results ever in Scottish football are the one Sevco just had and Celtics loss in Gibraltar last year to basically a pub team. In fact that is the worst for me.

Cheers for the report on the game and the players performances. Sounds like it was a great trip all round and a few shandies were consumed! The Mrs has a 40th coming up and wants a city break so sounds like Budapest could be worth a look!

Don't book the Agape Apart Hotel.

The street it was located in was eh...... interesting however. Especially after the sun went down.

Sorry to burst the crowdwanking bubble but I don't actually think we took 200 there. There was only 50 on the bus that took the majority of the supporters to the ground then about another 40/50 at best making their own way there.

I couldn't give a f**k how many St Johnstone fans went last night either. Didn't stop their superstar team being shat on by 10 diddies from Lithuania.

There was "over 500" according to the club, hard to get exact details as the club didn't deal with some of the tickets.

Unlucky indeed chump.  Loy signing with St.Mirren this week. 

Who is this Loy fella that St.Mirren are signing then? I know a guy of the same name signed for a big club this week

Chump

1 hour ago, RandomGuy. said:

There was "over 500" according to the club, hard to get exact details as the club didn't deal with some of the tickets.

He said he didn't give a f**k. 

Houston's hands are tied a bit with the right backs at the moment, Kidd was brought in to start there but has turned to be gash. Muirhead does an OK job in that position. Issue is we have two first team wages contracted there, I can't see us using a third in that position. I agree that ideally we'd have Muirhead back up RB and CB but we can only pish with the cock we've got this summer. Probably tough to get Kidd off the books for the wage we'll be paying him.

Big areas of need for me are a creative midfielder (Sibbald hopefully) and a competent left back with at least a couple of years experience (not McHattie, who is absolutely horrendous).

I'd love to see us bring in another exciting striker but I have high hopes he'll let O'Hara be the first option off the bench. Great to see him getting a goal in the first friendly. With his pace and finishing ability he is an asset for us.

Houston's hands are tied a bit with the right backs at the moment, Kidd was brought in to start there but has turned to be gash. Muirhead does an OK job in that position. Issue is we have two first team wages contracted there, I can't see us using a third in that position. I agree that ideally we'd have Muirhead back up RB and CB but we can only pish with the cock we've got this summer. Probably tough to get Kidd off the books for the wage we'll be paying him.

Big areas of need for me are a creative midfielder (Sibbald hopefully) and a competent left back with at least a couple of years experience (not McHattie, who is absolutely horrendous).

I'd love to see us bring in another exciting striker but I have high hopes he'll let O'Hara be the first option off the bench. Great to see him getting a goal in the first friendly. With his pace and finishing ability he is an asset for us.

Gallacher, if he is not punted for buttons, will be the best LB in the league. He is a class act.

I don't necessarily disagree but there's the question mark over whether he'll be sold, the need to give a kid that age some time out potentially, and cover for injury. Not saying we need a Loy type signing but another option is required.

11 hours ago, Harry Kinnear said:

As an aside, St Johnstone for me are the bench mark of where clubs like Falkirk, St Mirren and Dunfermline should be aiming to be.

They are probably the best run club in Scotland and regularly punch above their weight with the crowds they draw. This isn't a crowd w**k as Perth just isn't a fitba city and no matter what they do they won't increase their core support.

You never hear of financial issues there and to me as an outsider they seem to be very well run. I may be wrong and no doubt someone with more knowledge of their set up could advise me otherwise

I'm not arguing with the fundamentals of what you're saying - St J are miles ahead of us due to a good few years of canny planning and stability, and I'd kill to be where they are now, but...

I know a couple of people close to the setup at McDiarmid, and they're not convinced it will continue (could just be the miserable fuckers that I know).  I've rewritten this post as I didn't want to get personal re directors etc...  Time will tell I guess!

11 hours ago, Marshmallo said:

His hands are tied but it's his own hands that have tied them to some extent. The poor signing of kidd last season who really as a specialist rb should've been able to replace the make shift Muirhead for starters. He could also have let Watson go and used Muirhead as a centre half predominantly and brought in a rb with Watson's wages.