The Falkirk FC Thread

The kids got ran ragged. Finlayson being the only one who looks like he has a chance.

Hopefully it will be then end of reading fans who have never looked at an under 20 game telling us all in their wisdom that we have to get the kids in the team. Anyone who watches them regularly will tell you the standard is not great

Sack the development team, all the coaches and the board, just not good enough! Quite simply any falkirk team that doesn't win 100% of their games while looking like Barcelona must go. 

1st team and Houston must go to, again even though we should make the play offs and have every chance, we're not winning every game while looking like bayern munich and shock, horror...have lost a cup game. 

Last year's play off games v killie seem to have brainwashed large portions of our support, they now seem able to ignore any premiership teams having bad results against lower league teams and seem to think the lower part of the top league is full of unbeatable super teams! 

Last season was incredible one of our best, we haven't been near that this year but the reaction here (and on the Facebook page) is over the top. I look at the check list on here, young manager, new manager if things go wrong...and wonder why st mirren aren't on a 20 game unbeaten streak to the top of the league!! If we go up through the play offs then brilliant, if not Houston will go but he deserves the chance to see the whole season through.  COYB. 

(I know i'll get the "we're rubbish etc.." type comments but the teams around us and bottom of the premiership aren't any better)

Sack the development team, all the coaches and the board, just not good enough! Quite simply any falkirk team that doesn't win 100% of their games while looking like Barcelona must go. 

1st team and Houston must go to, again even though we should make the play offs and have every chance, we're not winning every game while looking like bayern munich and shock, horror...have lost a cup game. 

Last year's play off games v killie seem to have brainwashed large portions of our support, they now seem able to ignore any premiership teams having bad results against lower league teams and seem to think the lower part of the top league is full of unbeatable super teams! 

Last season was incredible one of our best, we haven't been near that this year but the reaction here (and on the Facebook page) is over the top. I look at the check list on here, young manager, new manager if things go wrong...and wonder why st mirren aren't on a 20 game unbeaten streak to the top of the league!! If we go up through the play offs then brilliant, if not Houston will go but he deserves the chance to see the whole season through.  COYB. 

(I know i'll get the "we're rubbish etc.." type comments but the teams around us and bottom of the premiership aren't any better)

Teams around us are not any better? Heads gone comment. Motion destroyed us and are way better than us on about 3/4 the budget too

So you think Houston is doing the best he can with what's at his disposal? You think he picks players in their best positions and his tactics are spot on and the style of football is acceptable? You believe he will WALK if we make the play offs but don't go up to the SPL?
Fair play to you pal.

2 hours ago, knee jerk reaction said:

Did you go on Saturday? We've got absolute zero chance of beating Morton over two legs. 

I'll have whatever you're having...

3 hours ago, KiwiDB said:

This shit makes me laugh, we've had a number of loanees over the last few years and Falkirk fans moan like f'ck we ain't giving our own players a chance.

Sorry that's nonsense, Raith, Hibs, QOS, Dumbarton and now Dundee united have all used the loan market well and have key players for the year or 6 months of the season. We have a had a goalie and a right back who never played under Houstie

I love this give Houston to the end of the season pish.  Do we really think that players like Craigen and Kidd are suddenly going to go from being pub team players to worldies over the next few months? Our seasons fecked due to Houstons inability to bring decent players to the club even with an increased budget. It would be unfair to think he could replace Vaulks and Alston like for like but the fact he's replaced them with utter donkeys and also failed to improve other areas of the team is why we're struggling to beat the likes of Morton and QOS. Its pretty7 obvious that one signing in Aird aint going to turn our season around either but Houston seems either unwilling or unable to get his other failed signings out the door to make more funds available. 

Its okay saying give our own players a chance if their good enough but at the moment none of them are ( pumped 5-1 against sevco on Sunday says it all)mainly due to the bod's policy of selling players before they get a decent run in the first team meaning the ones coming up behind are getting younger and younger.  Our centre midfield should really be McGrandles and Blair but they were both packed off down south at the first sniff of cash.  When you hit a barren spell I don't see any issues in bringing in loan players from elsewhere. The likes of Thomas at queens and the two mentioned previously at Morton would've been good additions to our squad and at least if they turn out mince you can punt them after 6 months. 

16 minutes ago, Shadwell Dog said:

I love this give Houston to the end of the season pish.  Do we really think that players like Craigen and Kidd are suddenly going to go from being pub team players to worldies over the next few months? Our seasons fecked due to Houstons inability to bring decent players to the club even with an increased budget. It would be unfair to think he could replace Vaulks and Alston like for like but the fact he's replaced them with utter donkeys and also failed to improve other areas of the team is why we're struggling to beat the likes of Morton and QOS. Its pretty7 obvious that one signing in Aird aint going to turn our season around either but Houston seems either unwilling or unable to get his other failed signings out the door to make more funds available. 

Its okay saying give our own players a chance if their good enough but at the moment none of them are ( pumped 5-1 against sevco on Sunday says it all)mainly due to the bod's policy of selling players before they get a decent run in the first team meaning the ones coming up behind are getting younger and younger.  Our centre midfield should really be McGrandles and Blair but they were both packed off down south at the first sniff of cash.  When you hit a barren spell I don't see any issues in bringing in loan players from elsewhere. The likes of Thomas at queens and the two mentioned previously at Morton would've been good additions to our squad and at least if they turn out mince you can punt them after 6 months. 

Rankins been a great addition too. Thanks for that :)

Based on the side Houston put out on Saturday I'd totally agree. However he had players like grant leahy etc on the bench and most of us would have put a different side out.

Grant and Leahy wouldn't have added to our grand tally or 0 goals. You can place them in and amongst the dug meat on the park but it still won't make a difference.

Don't think anyone's mentioned Aird's performance which was probably the one positive that came out of Saturday's clusterfuck.

Whilst he wasn't brilliant I thought he gave a good account of himself and it looks like there's a player in there. Don't know how long it's been since he last played but I thought he ran out of steam as the game went on so I'm sure we'll see a lot more of him as his fitness improves.

One wee criticism maybe is that he looked to cut inside all of the time and I don't remember him hitting the bye line to get a cross in at any point which is surely what we're looking for with Miller in the team?

13 minutes ago, Trump said:

Grant and Leahy wouldn't have added to our grand tally or 0 goals. You can place them in and amongst the dug meat on the park but it still won't make a difference.

Grant may just have managed to do a better job than McCracken in cutting out the cross for the 1st goal and IMO Leahy would add a bit of energy to the midfield which we certainly didn't have on Saturday. He offers a goal threat as well.

4 minutes ago, ShaggerG said:

Don't think anyone's mentioned Aird's performance which was probably the one positive that came out of Saturday's clusterfuck.

Whilst he wasn't brilliant I thought he gave a good account of himself and it looks like there's a player in there. Don't know how long it's been since he last played but I thought he ran out of steam as the game went on so I'm sure we'll see a lot more of him as his fitness improves.

One wee criticism maybe is that he looked to cut inside all of the time and I don't remember him hitting the bye line to get a cross in at any point which is surely what we're looking for with Miller in the team?

Aye and Houston changes the system to go narrow when he has bemoaned the lack of a wide right player all season

Another point on Saturday was how bad Kerr was again. Looking like he should have been the one to go rather than Rankin.

Grant may just have managed to do a better job than McCracken in cutting out the cross for the 1st goal and IMO Leahy would add a bit of energy to the midfield which we certainly didn't have on Saturday. He offers a goal threat as well.

Completely hypothetical though. Not saying I wouldn't have started those players, but with the rest of the team don't see how we could have the chance to beat Morton over two legs, as the original post claims.

24 minutes ago, ShaggerG said:

Airds debut very much like David Hagens debut many years ago, ran about a lot, keen to get on the ball and not afraid to shoot. I hope similar doesn't happen as Hagen disappeared after that debut till Totten came in.

We need to stop the fancy formation to accommodate mainly Craigen. He had a good game v part time Ayr which we won 1-0 isn't logic to try it again v high flying Morton. The mess against St mirren at home using it should've been the warning signs that it leaves players clueless with them playing headless chickens, once we reverted to the basic formation it clicked albeit helped with the sending off.

Please someone confirm that Craigen was a one year contract, like a few fans the previous Patrick praise, little Raith bits of praise, two footed and glimpses of decent play with us made me hold out a bit for him to prove himself, sorry James but your time is up after Saturday.

A bigger picture might be the fact that we had I think one player on the park on Saturday that is contracted up for next season and he is 17.

51 minutes ago, ShaggerG said:

Both goals for me lie at Gallacher, Leahy maybe would've done better at the 1st as he is decent in the air and would've booted the 2nd over the stand. Gallacher is 17 and you get these moments with players that age but hopefully it will be a good learning curve for him.

24 minutes ago, MrDust said:

Both goals for me lie at Gallacher, Leahy maybe would've done better at the 1st as he is decent in the air and would've booted the 2nd over the stand. Gallacher is 17 and you get these moments with players that age but hopefully it will be a good learning curve for him.

Aye, I don't disagree, it was Gallagher's naivety that cost us the goals however I was replying to Trump's assertion that Grant and Leahy playing wouldn't have improved us.

I think we're now in a position to get all of our best players in the team playing 3-5-2, however I'd be amazed if Houston tried it!

I'd go:

Rogers

Muirhead, Gasparotto, Grant

Aird, Taiwo, Sibbald, Leahy, Gallagher

McHugh, Hippolyte

Airds debut very much like David Hagens debut many years ago, ran about a lot, keen to get on the ball and not afraid to shoot. I hope similar doesn't happen as Hagen disappeared after that debut till Totten came in.
We need to stop the fancy formation to accommodate mainly Craigen. He had a good game v part time Ayr which we won 1-0 isn't logic to try it again v high flying Morton. The mess against St mirren at home using it should've been the warning signs that it leaves players clueless with them playing headless chickens, once we reverted to the basic formation it clicked albeit helped with the sending off.
Please someone confirm that Craigen was a one year contract, like a few fans the previous Patrick praise, little Raith bits of praise, two footed and glimpses of decent play with us made me hold out a bit for him to prove himself, sorry James but your time is up after Saturday.
A bigger picture might be the fact that we had I think one player on the park on Saturday that is contracted up for next season and he is 17.

Muirhead is contracted as is Hyppo.

Aye, I don't disagree, it was Gallagher's naivety that cost us the goals however I was replying to Trump's assertion that Grant and Leahy playing wouldn't have improved us.
I think we're now in a position to get all of our best players in the team playing 3-5-2, however I'd be amazed if Houston tried it!
I'd go:
Rogers
Muirhead, Gasparotto, Grant
Aird, Taiwo, Sibbald, Leahy, Gallagher
McHugh, Hippolyte

Taiwo is out for 4 weeks