The New Raith Rovers Thread

24 minutes ago, fifer67 said:

Best get along all u Lino’s it’s the closest the cup has ever been to Kirkcaldy.

:lol::lol:    Aye, you guys won it a wee while ago, right enough.

Did you get any photos that day?

Was that the year before you enlisted for the Second World War?

However, you have won the Fife Cup since then...haven't you??

:whistle

Edited by Wee Sandy

21 minutes ago, rw89 said:

I'm hardly at Project X style party here but you really do have to question your social skills when at 8pm on a Friday you're on a football forum, fishing for bites about a cup win which you weren't alive to see. 

:lol:               It's the PAIN of not beating us in 30 years that sets them off.......during which time we have beaten both Rangers and Celtic in Cup Finals.....within living memory    :whistle

31 minutes ago, Wee Sandy said:

:lol:               It's the PAIN of not beating us in 30 years that sets them off.......during which time we have beaten both Rangers and Celtic in Cup Finals.....within living memory    :whistle

But you're the one that bites every single time something like this comes up. Haven't you worked it out yet?

To be fair, it did take East Fife 24 years to reach a Scottish Cup final in 1927 since they were formed in 1903 and a full 35 years to actually win it in 1938.  Also, it took 45 years before winning their first League Cup outright (no penalty shoot outs in those days).   47 years to reach their 3rd Scottish Cup final (it was an embarrassment not to win in front of 118,000), 48 years to win their 2nd League Cup outright (still no penalty shoot outs) and 51 years to win a 3rd League Cup final (yes, no penalties again). 

Crap really, doesn't compare to the mighty Raith Rover's accomplishments.  They won the league cup on penalties, which is something the Fifers didn't achieve in any of their cup finals!  6 goes at it, but no bragging rights on winning a penalty shoot out final.  Don't forget that the Rovers failed to win on penalties however, in their only Scottish Cup final in 1913, 30yrs after their formation.

10 minutes ago, YoungersPaleAle said:

To be fair, it did take East Fife 24 years to reach a Scottish Cup final in 1927 since they were formed in 1903 and a full 35 years to actually win it in 1938.  Also, it took 45 years before winning their first League Cup outright (no penalty shoot outs in those days).   47 years to reach their 3rd Scottish Cup final (it was an embarrassment not to win in front of 118,000), 48 years to win their 2nd League Cup outright (still no penalty shoot outs) and 51 years to win a 3rd League Cup final (yes, no penalties again). 

Crap really, doesn't compare to the mighty Raith Rover's accomplishments.  They won the league cup on penalties, which is something the Fifers didn't achieve in any of their cup finals!  6 goes at it, but no bragging rights on winning a penalty shoot out final.  Don't forget that the Rovers failed to win on penalties however, in their only Scottish Cup final in 1913, 30yrs after their formation.

Are u bored or has ur universal credit money not gone thru yet?

48 minutes ago, YoungersPaleAle said:

Ha ha ha ha ha. What a diddy 

Wow all those glorious years that the East Fife fans of old witnessed before they past away, sadly they’re now turning in their graves at what the modern people of Methil have let their once great club become. An utter irrelevance who play at a glorified bus stop in front of less fans than a bus stop and can’t even beat Raith Rovers in over 29 years. Best read that glorious history book one more time before bed.

Out of interest, what’s going on here? What’s the endgame?

Christ.

23 minutes ago, 1320Lichtie said:

Christ.

Who cares what happened 30, 40, 50 or 100 years ago its history, everytime England get to a World Cup we Scots are reminded of a victory that happened 52 years ago, I don't care.  What matters is what is happening now, we are top of the league and EF are shit. 9 points so far and I'm confident that will be 12 by the end of the season. 

8 hours ago, YoungersPaleAle said:

I know an older generation of Raith and Fife fans considered this the real derby in the kingdom but that rivalry has faded into history. The only reason the club still exists is because a couple o hundred minks in methil can't afford the bus fare to ibrox and need somewhere to congregate at the weekend. That's the real tragedy here. The achievements of the past pissed all over because methil stopped giving a fcuk about their team.

East Fife are absolutely obsessed with Raith Rovers.

I'm not sure why, I'm 30 this year and the rivalry hasn't really been there in my time supporting the Rovers. I can remember us being in the same league twice, and we almost always beat them. I understand that there is some kind of historical rivalry there, but there's no way it's the real Fife Derby. We would never see a 12k crowd at that game if capacities allowed, like we had a few years back.

That said, it's quite fun. The absolute dejection from the 50 cigs a day announcer lady as she has to announce each Rovers goal (Eight this season) is always a joy to behold.  As was the Co commentator on the highlights, absolutely raging.

East Fife fans will never ever experience the success we had in the 90s (either will we again :lol:) and they absolutely hate it. 

For some one who is 30 next month, I’ve never been excited at the though of playing East Fife and the three games this season have never given me the nerves that a “big or “derby” game usually do, shame they are pish really. With a bit of luck we won’t be playing there for a long time after this season