Quick Question Thread

10 minutes ago, Miguel Sanchez said:

Why are residents of Inverness called Sneckies?

From a Music Hall act called Harry Gordon who sang "The Laird of Inversnecky" apparently.

'I'd rather sleep with her with no clothes on than you in your best suit'
I said to my dummy at the Winter Gardens, Rothesay, Isle of Bute
While the manager, praying for rain, watched the £50 grey clouds
Rolling in
Knowing if it rained we'd get the crowds

Born in Greenock, 'the Tall Drole' was known to all
Worked in the mines and the mills but ended up in music hall
Maidie played the accordion, she was 'the Small Doll'
We could bring the hoose doon, nae bother at a'!

It all seems like yesterday, though you weren't alive
The Panopticon, the Trongate, Glasgow 1935
In the name of the wee man, here comes Funny Clive
God, it made you glad to be alive

It's the Laird of Inversnecky here, aye you ken me weil
With ma cast of characters frae places that are nearly real
Cold today! Aye! That's why we're by the seaside
Everybody come
To the Aberdeen Beach Pavilion
Every single night is fun!

I began as the panto tea boy
Became the canny Scot
Like a chimney sweep on a ladder to very top
Synonymous for many with my famous character
The Reverend IM Jolly the morose minister

The character comedians you may see today
Where'd they get their talent for remarkable mimicry?
It's plain to see, it came from me
I saw them scribbling away
They all laughed like crazy
At my "hoity-toity ladies"

'The flag at the castle is half mast high
Let's all go down to Mackie's for a wee cup of tea'

It's the Laird of Inversnecky here, back to make you greet
The Portobello pierrots they cannae compete
At the Aberdeen Beach Pavilion
Sixteen bloody years we've run
And every single night of it's been fun!
Every single bloody night's been fun!

3 minutes ago, Honest_Man#1 said:

I don't have twitter unfortunately.

Yep.

Press on the safari button to open the internet. Then press the bottom right button to open a new tab in the browser. The word Private will then appear in the bottom left of the screen. Just click it. 

11 minutes ago, Shandon Par said:

Press on the safari button to open the internet. Then press the bottom right button to open a new tab in the browser. The word Private will then appear in the bottom left of the screen. Just click it. 

The point is that it is saying I am in private browsing mode, but I am not. 

42 minutes ago, welshbairn said:

From a Music Hall act called Harry Gordon who sang "The Laird of Inversnecky" apparently.

'I'd rather sleep with her with no clothes on than you in your best suit'
I said to my dummy at the Winter Gardens, Rothesay, Isle of Bute
While the manager, praying for rain, watched the £50 grey clouds
Rolling in

Born in Greenock, 'the Tall Drole' was known to all
Worked in the mines and the mills but ended up in music hall
Maidie played the accordion, she was 'the Small Doll'
We could bring the hoose doon, nae bother at a'!

This is a slightly mixed up.  Yes...Harry Gordon (according to my auld dear) sang "The Laird of Inversnecky".

BUT "The tall droll with the small doll" was Chick Murray 

3 minutes ago, Honest_Man#1 said:

Tried that but I have forgotten my password and security info so will have to move to them later. 

I could put a bet on for you if you like, and you could do the same for me another time. We'll probably both lose but if you win I could paypal the winnings.

1 minute ago, Miguel Sanchez said:

Do you play for Cowdenbeath?

Sutton United. I'm going to Amsterdam for a weekend soon and like to delay my Highland League bets to the Saturday to check for postponements. McBookies are the only firm offering the market online and are annoyingly country blocked sometimes, so a reciprocal arrangement could be handy.

4 minutes ago, Shandon Par said:

I'm quite hammered and I bought a dog. What should I call it. Missus wants to call it Weegie, for that's whence it came. I like the name but can you do better? El Bak has been ruled out by missus. 

Throbber 

6 minutes ago, Shandon Par said:

I'm quite hammered and I bought a dog. What should I call it. Missus wants to call it Weegie, for that's whence it came. I like the name but can you do better? El Bak has been ruled out by missus. 

What sort of dog is it?

16 minutes ago, Shandon Par said:

Sevco.